We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant - excellent value for money, friendly service, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pousada de Mong-Ha

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Macau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pousada de Mong-Ha
Ranked #16 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Brilliant - excellent value for money, friendly service, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

I booked the Pousada de Mong-Ha based on the past trip advisor reviews - and I must say that it was every bit as brilliant as the reviews indicated. The location itself is very nice, quiet and I did not have a problem getting a taxi back to the Pousada even late at night from completely the other part of town.

I stayed at the Pousada suite for one night-two days in the first week (4-5) of July 2011. The suite was very very spacious, nicely done and had free wifi and small balconies in rooms. The bathroom was very spacious and very nicely done.

Most of the staff at the Pousada are very good. Keeping in mind that these are students at the institute next door, it is heartening to see them so keenly going about the duties and I was impressed by the frendliness. They are keen to help the customer which is such a refreshing change. Kudos to the trainers at the Institute.

One point I would like to point out for elderly travellers is that there is no lift in the place and one has to take the luggage up and down the stairs. The Pousada building has cute little alcoves and corners with fountains etc.

The breakfast (included in the room rent) was adequate and I loved the breakfast room with the quaint tiles etc. In the restaurant on the premises, there is a good selection of wines and cocktails. Food is good although I think that the quality can be improved. Cute hi-tea option with small tid bits of various snacks.

All in all, I will definitely stay at the Pousada if I happen to visit Macau again. I have been very impressed by this place and I hope that as the word spreads, they are able to maintain the high standard and the very friendly service of the staff. I found the place so relaxing that I wanted to extend the stay by 1-2 nights more, but the place was fully booked - so, book well in advance. I stayed in the suite on the top floor and had a look at the rooms on the other floors too. All rooms were cute but the single ones were rather small especially the bathrooms being just cubicles. Hence my recommendation would be to go for the higher category rooms.

And don't forget to encourage the students who work there and offer words of encouragement!

Room Tip: Go for the rooms above the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnaruka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    89
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
88
161
53
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

We went to watch the Water Dance show in April and was looking for a nice hotel out of the crowded/congested area. That was the first time to learn about Tripadvisor's reviews. This is the No. 1 hotel with good rate, why not try! Good choice and glad that we read tripadvisor. This is what we are looking for, quiet and away from the groups. We booked the deluxe room with extra bed for my son, a spacious room and big washroom, also a spacious separate area with free computer working desk. Personal opionion is, placing an extra chair in the separate area would be nice. All room included breakfast, and it is okay and fair enough, please don't compare with those big hotels. For the restaurants, we did not have a chance to try, but free welcome drinks upon arrival, can' t comments. And their response to emails is quick! Will definitely return! This is a quiet hotel out of the tourist area but Macau is small and bus is convenience and taxi is cheap. A good choice.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyKwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

excellent servive, small and very nice hotel with lovely garden.
Impossible to hesitate !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mich_arm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

We stayed here for one night in June. The service was great and the room very well equipped and clean. Great value. The restaurant and bar were also really good and worth a visit.

The hotel itself is a little outside the main bit of town; a bit too far to walk right to the centre but a cheap and easy taxi or bus ride. It's on its own compound so a bit quieter than the centre which is really nice as Macau's tourist and casino districts can feel a bit overwhelming.

Definitely would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

Locating on a small hill in old town, Pousada de Mong-Ha is a bit far from the hot spots in Macau. By the way, serenity, Portuguese Classic Decoration, tidiness and nice services encouraging me to stay here if I will have a trip to Macau in future.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ecnethk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

I have been a member of Trip Advisor for a long time and apart from one post have not been motivated to post again. Our stay at the Pousada was very enjoyable and I feel obliged to add to the already many complimentary posts. I confirmed for myself the excellent value and the good service offered, in particular by the supervisory staff. I asked for a room on a higher floor because the ground level room was damp and had a musty odour. Contrary to other posts I did not find the Pousada to be out of the way, we took the shuttle bus and returned by taxi. Sometimes we would take the shuttle from the various casinos to the ferry and take the taxi from there. The hotel restaurant represents excellent value in a very modern setting. While we had one or two meals in the neighbourhood we found dining at the casinos to be superior and also representing better value. To our surprise we found the best restaurants to be at the old and the new Lisboa. The French restaurant there was okay but the Chinese Restaurant Eight and the Noodle Restaurant at the Grand Lisboa was sensational. I did go up the hill to try to do some tai-chi; unfortunately almost all the good spaces were spoken for. That's when I realised the hotel has it's own private herbal garden and a location there to do tai-chi without disturbing anyone. Breakfast at the Pousada was wonderful as well. Not much else to add except to book in advance to ensure you have a room.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the lowest level
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Etienne8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

Huge rooms, nice view, great service with a smile and a lot of care. You even have a pc and a free wifi in the room.
Breakfast included with nice variety and mada to order eggs.
Well worth staying eventhough out of the turistic zones ( it's an advantage in Macau )
Let go the amazing restaurant they have, and the 10% off you get there as the hotel guests.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Molcodr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#24 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ole London Hotel
Ole London Hotel
#37 of 95 in Macau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
1.2 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Sun Sun Macau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Mong-Ha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Mong-Ha

Property: Pousada de Mong-Ha
Address: Colina de Mong-Ha, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#5 Family Hotel in Macau
#9 Best Value Hotel in Macau
#13 Business Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada is uniquely designed with a blend of European and Oriental features. The lobby and corridors are terracotta-tiled and lead to guest rooms through open-air courtyards decorated with hand-painted Portuguese tiles and lovely fountains. The use of Eastern style partitions in the guest rooms, coupled with Western style furniture and fittings create an exotic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pousada De Mong-Ha Hotel Macau
Pousada De Mong Ha Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing