We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem.”
Review of Pousada de Mong-Ha

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Macau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pousada de Mong-Ha
Ranked #19 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little gem.”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Only 20 rooms so get in early to book this little gem.
Rooms are spacious, fitted with all the amenities you'd expect. Shower was fantastic.
A little out of the way, but that is also it's charm.
Definitely book into the Educational Restaurant a little further up the road, we had a delicious lunch there.
Can't wait to re-visit both places again. So easy to see why it's rated Number 1 on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    91
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
89
162
54
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Good environment, good service, good facility, good breakfast, every thing is nice to keep away from the crowded casino to take a rest and enjoy the holiday at Macau. However, only 20 rooms for the hotel, you need to book very early .

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Thanks to the excellent reviews from Tripadvisor for us to give this hidden gem a try! It really lives up to its name as a great value hotel with a distinct difference, run by the Institute for Tourism Studies with a guaranteed peaceful environment away from the casinos.

The hotel was surrounded by a lovely and humble garden. The room was quiet and huge, featured with Asian touches. The clean and hassle free room with more than comfortable beds helped us to have a good night sleep after a long 2-hour wait at the Macau customs in the afternoon. We stayed here for 2 nights and will definitely stay here again.

Breakfast was decent with varied noodles daily. We loved the ambience of the cafe... a good spot for a lazy morning to have a good breakfast. Recommend to try the well-reviewed Macanese cuisine at IFT Educational Restaurant which was a short walk up the slope of the hotel. It was preferred to make a table reservation at the hotel reception especially for dinners and meals during the weekends.

There was a shuttle bus service every morning and evening that will leave from the hotel to ferry terminal and town area. Taxis were quite easily accessible on the main roads, so we took taxi back to the hotel every night which we do not experience any inconvenience.

Room Tip: Book early to avoid any disappointment as the hotel has only 20 guest rooms (including 4 suites). Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingaporeTravellerCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen, Shekou
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Like all of the past reviews, the accommodations are comfortable and the place is quiet, away from the busy gambling areas of Macau.

The rooms are large including the bathroom. The staff are friendly and accommodating. Breakfast is a bit small in variety but very fulfilling. I like the pastries very much.

Drawbacks are the hotel location and the lack of elevator, the hotel is quite far and no other place to go for late snacks or drinks. Also, if you bring lots of luggages and end up on the top floor rooms, it is inconvenient to bring them all the way up to your rooms.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk to give you the lower rooms, if you bring bulky luggages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LilaNfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

The hotel was a real nice little gem. It provides the comfort from getting away from the hustle & bustle of the city. It is located up the hill and is easy to walk up. It just takes (at most) 10mins to walk up the hill. Rooms are great and it comes with a little balcony. Nice big excellent bathroom and computer facilities. Bed is soft and good. Services were excellent and attentive. Breakfast was good too.

If you are staying in pousada de mong ha, do remember to visit canidrome (dog race course), it is approximately 15-20 mins walk away from the hotel. It is a nice little place with no crowd.

The only thing about the hotel is it is abit far from shops ( eateries, convenience stores etc..). Most of the shops located at the foot of the hill are closed. It takes about 10 mins walk from the foot of the hill ( about 3 streets away) to get to the nearest row of shops that has eateries, supermarket, electronics store, clothes & cosmestics store).

Do explore the Mong ha fort in the morning as you see the locals in action ( morning excercise/activies).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shanling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

stayed one night and 2 days last Dec 2011 in pousada de mongha, superb room and place is near the city center attraction. also has free coaster to take you to the landmarks. Highly recommended for family and couples.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inanrehhernani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

They deserved all the praises rewarded by other reviewers. there are separated rooms for sleeping, reading and bathing. all are clean and well-maintained. There are free wi-fi in the room and they even provide computer for free.

You must try their breakfast which is simple, but delicious.The toast bread is so fresh and taste so good that I missed it so much when I have breakfast in other hotel later. As for the 3-flavoured home-made jam, it is another unforgettable food which should not be missed. It's said that their restaurant is also very famous. We planned to have a lunch there, but unforunatly, there was some functions on that day. We will definately try it next time when we go to Macau.

They provide 1-way free shuttle bus to city centre twice a day, You can take a taxi back, or walk back if you don't mind. Anyway, it is only 2-4 KM at most.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naihe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
4.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#26 of 95 in Macau
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ole London Hotel
Ole London Hotel
#38 of 95 in Macau
651 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
1.2 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Mong-Ha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Mong-Ha

Property: Pousada de Mong-Ha
Address: Colina de Mong-Ha, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Macau
#5 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#13 Business Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada is uniquely designed with a blend of European and Oriental features. The lobby and corridors are terracotta-tiled and lead to guest rooms through open-air courtyards decorated with hand-painted Portuguese tiles and lovely fountains. The use of Eastern style partitions in the guest rooms, coupled with Western style furniture and fittings create an exotic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pousada De Mong-Ha Hotel Macau
Pousada De Mong Ha Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing