We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish there was a hotel like this in every city!”
Review of Pousada de Mong-Ha

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Macau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pousada de Mong-Ha
Ranked #25 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We (married couple, 50+yrs) stayed here as part of a 2d/1n tour of Macau we planned for ourselves, and were totally blown away. A quick trip by cab from the Ferry Terminal and we were welcomed in by the reception staff, who offered us cold juice and water to quench our thirst on the warm day as we checked in. The receptionist insisted on carrying our luggage to the room, which was more a suite with an entry foyer with a desk and computer, a huge bedroom overlooking the front garden and a large bathroom with one of the fanciest showers we have encountered! All this and buffet breakfast for the amazingly low price of AUD85.

Being out of the casino strip was a plus for us, as we had no interest in the casinos and night clubs, and enjoyed the peace and quiet offered by the Pousada de Mong-Ha upon its hill overlooking the town. Tiny courtyards within the building with tinkling fountains, and manicured gardens all around completed the peacefulness of this hotel.

Breakfast in the morning was a wide-ranging buffet with a selection of cereals, fruits, breads and pastries, home made jams, bacon (GREAT bacon, only wish we could have brought some home :-) ), sausages, eggs to order, French toast, coffee, tea and other goodies. They also serve morning and afternoon tea and light lunches but we weren't in for these.

Dinner was a five-minute walk up the hill to their attached restaurant. Great food at reasonable prices- high for Macau no doubt but we had three courses and drinks for AUD88.

Access to and from town was relatively easy as a bus stop was a five-minute walk down the hill in one direction, or a different bus route a little further in another direction. Only one hiccup; when we wanted to leave to go to the Ferry Terminal at the end of our stay (the staff kindly stored our luggage for us while we went sightseeing for the day) the staff tried several times to call a taxi for us but none would respond as apparently the drivers don't like to go up the hill at evening peak hour. Our first taxi driver on the morning before was fine with the fare but later that day at peak hour when we caught another taxi from the main part of town the driver was somewhat cranky- we put it down to being stuck in peak hour traffic- and his mood didn't improve despite the fare ending up half again our first fare due to all the delay. We felt so sorry for the staff as they were beside themselves with embarrassment but it was not their fault and they had tried everything except physically kidnapping a taxi :-) At the bottom of the hill we found a passing taxi fairly quickly and all was well.
Would we stay here again? In a heartbeat! If they had similar hotels in other cities we would definitely look at staying there as it was so luxe and so affordable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank YorkFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2012

A reasonably priced lovely confortable hotel away from the hustle and bustle of the main town area. A beautiful park at the doorstetp, breakfast was included and was always a delight with very wide range of choices and wonderful attentive staff, who mostly happen to be students as its an educational institution.
Very good value

Room Tip: think all rooms would have the same lovely atmosphere and position
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

After browsing some reviews on this very website, we went for the Pousada de Mong-Ha (Mong-Ha Hotel). It seemed to offer a very good price for excellent service. And we were not disappointed!

As Macau is not too big, going to the hotel from the ferry terminal (arriving from HK) was simple. We took a cab, costing us less than 30 HKD one way. The hotel is a bit up a the Mong-Ha hill (where there also seems to be a fortress, which we did not visit however). While this locates it outside the city centre (where most of the sights are), getting to the centre is easy: simply take Bus 5, at a cost of MOP 3.10 (have exact change, which the front desk can provide). The newer casinos are on the southern island, and will likely involve changing bus along the way - or taking a cab, of course. Cabs are not expensive to take, since the Macau not too big anyway. The hotel provides a bus to the city centre, but it only goes around 3x per day - 10am, 11:30am and 6pm, which was not convenient for us.

The front desk staff were very friendly and extremely helpful, despite some minor challenges with communication (they were not speaking perfect English, but trying quite hard).

The room was excellent, clean and tastefully decorated in blue-and-white ceramic tile style. The pillows were extremely soft, and one medium-soft one was also provided in the room. If you like firm pillows, you may have to order one extra if needed. The bathroom was good, and came with a shower that had "massage jets" (too low for me [I'm about 6ft/1.8m], but probably good for people of lower height). We also availed of room service to order whisky - I ordered a double, and got served something that looked like a 1 1/2 - I got charged for a single (at 50 MOP), so that was ok.

The hotel is laid out very nicely, and features some roof top gardens, if you are into that kind of thing.

There's Wi-Fi in the room, along with a PC (running XP) - each room has their own Wi-Fi, in fact. TV is present, and had some English channels.

Breakfast was included, and was quite good - apart from the buffet, coffee was offered by the waiters, as were the eggs, done to your preference (mine being soft-boiled, which was executed perfectly). The only thing missing may have been cheese, but the selection was good enough to make up for that.

When we left, the hotel called us a taxi to go to the airport (which is on the southern island). We left our luggage there and explored the casinos for a couple of hours, which provide free shuttles from and to the airport and ferry terminals.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank xristoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

After all the good reviews on tripadvisor, I was keen to try out this boutique hotel, and given ridiculous prices of hotels in Macau, all amongst the tacky and excessive casino/tourist attractions, it was nice to find a reasonably priced institution in a quiet/peaceful location.

As soon as you step out of the taxi, you enter a beautifully laid out hotel, with all the nice touches of Portugese decor, and as most of the staff are in training, they are all very keen to please...offering a wonderful welcome and introduction to the hotel.

The room was a very good size, with a separate study area which splits out the bathroom and the bedroom. There is also a small balcony overlooking the rooftop garden which was very beautiful and extremely peaceful to just sit and chill in the early mornings or to put your feet up after a long day out.

The room and bathrom were all very clean, with all amenities provided for.

I had only one complaint to make about my stay, and it's the room unfortunately has a musty odour, which I'm not sure is due to the building, or the general humidity of the city. Particularly when the rooms has been enclosed for the whole day while we were out, when we returned, the smell was quite unbearable.

Secondly, there was some room for improvement with the breakfast, although quality of the food was pretty good, there was a lack of selection and supply. The morning staff also was a bit inconsistent, with not all guests being offered tea or eggs (which were not supplied at the buffet).

Anyhow, overall a very pleasant stay, and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Peridot28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

This a long overdue review.....stayed there last year with my sister. The room is absolute perfect! big comfortable beds, your own computer with internet access (i just adore the study table where the computer is perched, wish i could have something similar), lovely bathroom complete with toiletries...and their breakfast is so worth it.

The student staff are very accomodating and helpful (they also speak fluent english so communication was never a problem).

It is just unfortunate that you literally have to trek uphill to get to their place. My sister and I made the mistake of getting there through bus from the ferry terminal (we figure we could navigate our way like what we did in HK) . We are used to walking but the trek seriously tried our leg muscles. We used the taxi our way back to the airport. It should be noted, however, that they have a free shuttle service to different parts in Macau (just be aware of the different time of departure) which certainly makes up for their. I suggest that in after your wanderings in Macau just take a taxi back to the hotel. But if you want to take the bus, just be prepared to have some coins with you (and, of course, the trekking)

Despite the trekking I would definitely recommend this place and would definitely stay here again if I go back in Macau

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank June P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The hotel is more like an institution for students taking hotel and restaurant courses to have their practicum and actual experience in dealing with actual hotel guests. The rooms are big and kept very clean with comfortable bed and pillow, lcd tv, ref, own computer, free wifi, nice clean bathroom and comes with complimentary buffet breakfast. They also offer welcome drink, free photo and provide free transfer to the macau ferry terminal, center of macau and a ma temple. All the student staffs are courteous, friendly and willing to help. The location of the hotel is the remote area of the city but there are some shops and eating places about 3 blocks from the hotel. You need to walk up hill for about 5 minutes to reach the hotel from the main street if you are taking a bus. With the rate only 1/3 of a casino hotel and the experience of your personal contribution to their curriculum, its really worth to try it yourself.

Room Tip: Deluxe room are really big with a separate area for computer and nice big bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dom094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

As many would have read here, this hotel is affiliated with a hospitality school, so the staff are all students. Service was unbelievable, they were attentive to the final detail. Rooms are very big and comfortable, and for around half to 1/3 of the price of the casino hotels, you won't find better value in Macau.

The only thing is it is a little out of the way, not near any of the main casinos or sights, but not dar, Macau is so small you can get most places in a 10-20 taxi ride. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aussieinhangzhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
6.5 mi away
Pousada de Coloane Beach Hotel & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#26 of 94 in Macau
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Grand Lapa Macau
Grand Lapa Macau
#21 of 94 in Macau
737 reviews
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
3.5 mi away
The Macau Roosevelt
The Macau Roosevelt
#53 of 94 in Macau
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Mong-Ha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Mong-Ha

Address: Colina de Mong-Ha, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Macau
#5 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#13 Business Hotel in Macau
Price Range: £67 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada is uniquely designed with a blend of European and Oriental features. The lobby and corridors are terracotta-tiled and lead to guest rooms through open-air courtyards decorated with hand-painted Portuguese tiles and lovely fountains. The use of Eastern style partitions in the guest rooms, coupled with Western style furniture and fittings create an exotic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pousada De Mong-Ha Hotel Macau
Pousada De Mong Ha Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing