We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the casinos”
Review of Pousada de Mong-Ha

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Macau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pousada de Mong-Ha
Ranked #21 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2013

For those planning to visit Macau and want an affordable hotel outside of the casino district, this is good choice. It is a 'teaching hotel' so you have to be prepared for that, but we found the staff good natured and helpful. This could be described as a boutique hotel and it's quite attractive, but one catch is that it is not too easy to reach, other than by taxi. We did take a public bus at one point, but taxis would be the main option for most visitors (although there is a shuttle to take you back to the pier or airport).

Be sure to climb the little hill up the street from the hotel for a good view of the city.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
There are newer reviews for Pousada de Mong-Ha
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2013

We chose this hotel after reading TripAdvisor, and my title says it all. From arrival till our departure (we had only one night in Macau, but will return for a longer stay in May), the hotel charmed us and the staff won our hearts with their friendliness and eagerness to please. We had a suite (#110), which had a sitting room with a computer and a spacious bathroom. The bed was very comfortable. Because the weather was nice, we enjoyed the the small balconies (one had two chairs). The breakfast had a variety of offerings and the waiters were helpful. We went for pleasant walks around the nearby Mong-Ha Fort area.

The hotel is only $33 by taxi from the ferry terminal and buses and taxis are plentiful.

My suggestion to the management is: don't change anything!

Room Tip: "Book early"
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank georgebraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The service is excellent. Cannot believe they are only trainees yet they excel than the real other hotel staff. Location wise it's not on the tourist belt but Macau is small and taxis are plenty. Did not manage to eat at the hotel's restaurant which I regretted.

Will I back? For sure.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank arieflaksono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Best Value hotel with heartfelt staffs, they are just students but still behave very professional, even the shuttle bus driver is very polite(not a student), he will annouce each of the stopping location in bilingual and greet us. The breakfast buffet is unbeatable, quick refills, lots of choices and moreover its provided for free if you are one of their in-house guest.

Room Tip: I prefer higher floors, seems to be brighter.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mcmagmcmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed here on Christmas Eve, so the room rate was higher than usual. We had two deluxe rooms. For the same price, we had much nicer rooms in Shanghai, Shenzhen, and Hong Kong on the same trip. The Posada is an older building, the heat did not work well, and the room was in a noisy location. So I was disappointed, because I had expected a lot based on the superlative Tripadvisor reviews. The location is not near any of the tourist sights, so you must take a taxi everywhere. So it is not very convenient, either. The complimentary breakfast is pretty good.

The best thing is the service. The students who are paid to work here are very professional. They attend four years of college in the hospitality field. The girl at the front desk worked very hard to get us a reservation for a Christmas Eve buffet at one of the big casinos on short notice. We ended up at the MGM Grand and really enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

This place is simply amazing. What a value! The service was exceptional.

Make sure to make a reservation for the school's restaurant early - my one disappointing was that we were not able to eat there. The hotel's breakfast buffet was great though, so I don't doubt that the restaurant is amazing.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohmystars28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

This place is great, especially for the price. It's not close to any casino or tourist attraction but anyway Macao is small. (you have to walk 1 block up a steep hill if you don't come by taxi). This place excels on service (tourist school trainees) and ammenities (tv, computer, luxurious towels, body-jet showers). Overall I'd give it 3.5 or 4 stars, basically a boutique hotel, all for a 1.5 star price (600 mop for 2 people).

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greg_in_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
6.5 mi away
Pousada de Coloane Beach Hotel & Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#26 of 94 in Macau
1,336 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Macau
Crowne Plaza Macau
#16 of 94 in Macau
203 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Lapa Macau
Grand Lapa Macau
#22 of 94 in Macau
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Mong-Ha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Mong-Ha

Address: Colina de Mong-Ha, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Macau
#5 Family Hotel in Macau
#5 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#13 Business Hotel in Macau
Price Range: £66 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada is uniquely designed with a blend of European and Oriental features. The lobby and corridors are terracotta-tiled and lead to guest rooms through open-air courtyards decorated with hand-painted Portuguese tiles and lovely fountains. The use of Eastern style partitions in the guest rooms, coupled with Western style furniture and fittings create an exotic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pousada De Mong-Ha Hotel Macau
Pousada De Mong Ha Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing