We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't say enough good things about this hotel”
Review of Pousada de Mong-Ha

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Macau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pousada de Mong-Ha
Ranked #18 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Can't say enough good things about this hotel”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Stayed here one night during a recent trip to Hong Kong and Macau. Wish I booked more time in this hotel.

Location:
Hotel is located in the middle of Mong-Ha park near the north of Macau. You can take a public bus from the Ferry Terminal (we took bus No. 12) - Fare is $3.20 MOP. It will take a short walk up a hill. We found it easy but those with luggage may have trouble. The hotel is part of a large school that houses a hotel, restaurant, and school campus. It is away from all the major tourist attractions but Macau is very small so we found it easy to walk around the city.

Hotel:
This is a very nicely appointed hotel. It has an old world feel with modern luxuries. Upon arrival we were greeted with smiles from the staff who took the time to explain the hotel ammenities. They also gave us complimentary tickets to several local museums. We ordered the deluxe room. For an extra $100 MOP it is well worth it. The room is HUGE (20 x 10 ft) plus a large desk area and a shower room that has a massage shower unit that fits 2 people easily. Complimentary desk top computer, wifi, and mini-bar. Satin bathrobes, higher qualiy slippers, high thread count sheets, and feather pillows round out the offerings. We had the best sleep here after travelling many days in Hong Kong.

Food
We ate in the town for dinner but enjoyed the complimentary full breakfast buffet here. Staff was very attentive and the dining area was spacious and quiet - a big difference from the loud and crowded breakfast rooms we were used to in Hong Kong.

Staff
The staff here are very friendly and attentive. Many are students (likely finishing their diplomas) and are very willing to please guests. I can't say enough about them.

This hotel is among the best we have stayed in given the price. We will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bailey0313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    90
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
88
161
54
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Drammen, Norway
Level Contributor
65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We had two rooms, one standard and one deluxe, both were in excellent conditions. Nice decorated in traditional portugise style, the bathrooms are clean and the beds very comfy.
The staff are very friendly, they did the best to help us in all ways. We tried the restaurant for lunch, and both food and wine were very good.
The only thing about Macau is how hard it is to get a taxi, the taxidrivers tried to make money on us, said they take us home if we payed 300 MOP for a trip that costed 50 MOP! We took the bus instead - just have the exact amount.
Will definately stay here next time we are in Macau.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrammenDrammen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

First time to stay in this hotel because of the recommendation of a friend.
The building is very old style Portuguese style, we like it. The room and place are all clean and tidy. All staff (may be student) are all very nice and trying their best to help.

one comment is the hotel asked both of us to fill in 2 individual private information form for check-in purpose. I suggest they better change it to 1 . There is no point to fill in 2 forms for a single room.

Internet is good, wifi and PC is available. The softdrink in the ref is free of charge. no complain.
our room is deluxe room, means there is a square space after the main door. you will never use this space because only PC and refrigerator is located there. Suggest to put a sofa or TV in this space, otherwise waste of space.

The breakfast is simple and nice. The restaurant is with big space, so relax and comfort.
we also tried the educational restaurant. I will say the buffet is ok, no surprise and MOP250 is on high side price range.

The location is an issue. The taxi driver told us most of them do not like going to this place. sometime they will pretend they don't know the place. Suggest the guest to print the hotel map, so that they have no excuse to refuse.

Getting a taxi in Macau is very difficult. remember to spare some time for waiting taxi in your planning.

In conclusion, we like this hotel and will consider to come again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacky_Rieko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Spent the night of 11/21/13 at this hidden gem. Front desk staff speak excellent English and were very helpful with info on bus routes around the island. We traveled around either by bus (exact fare required) or via the free shuttle provided by the hotel casinos. The short hike up the hill from the bus stop is not difficult. Our deluxe room is nicely decorated. The multiple jet shower soothed my achy muscles after a long day of walking. Breakfast buffet is more than adequate. Sure glad that we chose this hotel instead of the humongous hotel/casino complexes.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1dragonlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tasmania
Level Contributor
132 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

29/10/13 30/10/13 Macau
Pousada de Mong-HA 800Mop = $110.00Aud Total $220.00
Just one word BRILLIANT, we are coming back. This is a training hotel run by students of the IFT there are only 20 rooms which appear to be booked out months in advance. Staff will bend over backwards to make sure your stay is a rewarding experience. Attached to the hotel, slightly up the road there is also a training Restaurant which is not to be missed. Top quality food at very good rates. We ate here twice during our stay. There is also a Macanese’s buffet on Friday nights which is usually booked out 4 to 6 weeks ahead.
Room facilities include your own computer/cable TV with a great variety of channels/aircon/great bathroom complete with massage shower/huge king size bed/small balcony off the bedroom/and the list goes on.
I can’t recommend this hotel highly enough the only downside is it’s not in the tourist area but this is no problem as the transport system in Macau is very good and most places are easy to access by . Do not miss out staying at this hotel while in Macau.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 29OAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
232 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I went back after two years to relax in Macau after business in HK. I knew to reserve early so I did so months in advance. What else can I add to my earlier review. All of my compliments still apply.
This time I was given what looked like a one bedroom mini suite. This time I enjoyed a leisurely breakfast. I noticed a much larger percentage of Asians in the breakfast crowd. Maybe this overall popularity means that taxis know this hotel better. Oh, I should add that I had great difficulty telling the taxi driver how to get here from the ferry port. It's not listed in the list of hotels they are given.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This hotel is basically staffed by students/trainees from the Institute of Tourism Studies, and I must say I have one of the best experience ever and received the most welcoming customer service. The frontdesk, and all the staff I encountered were truly professional. The hotel isn't big, but very well decorated and unique. The surrounding area is quiet and peaceful. We had a spacious room with a small lobby and the shower was awesome. There is computer in the room with free wifi, and internet was working fine with pleasant speed. Breakfast was good, but only downside is that there is ONLY ONE baby high chair in the whole restaurant. We had the Macanese and Portugese buffet dinner at their Educational Restaurant, which is a training unit for the hotel and culinary students of Institute for Tourism Studies, absolutely worth trying!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berendii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#27 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ole London Hotel
Ole London Hotel
#37 of 95 in Macau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
1.2 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
1.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Sun Sun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Mong-Ha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Mong-Ha

Property: Pousada de Mong-Ha
Address: Colina de Mong-Ha, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#5 Family Hotel in Macau
#13 Business Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada is uniquely designed with a blend of European and Oriental features. The lobby and corridors are terracotta-tiled and lead to guest rooms through open-air courtyards decorated with hand-painted Portuguese tiles and lovely fountains. The use of Eastern style partitions in the guest rooms, coupled with Western style furniture and fittings create an exotic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pousada De Mong-Ha Hotel Macau
Pousada De Mong Ha Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing