We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem!”
Review of Pousada de Mong-Ha

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Macau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pousada de Mong-Ha
Ranked #21 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Lecco, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
Reviewed 3 January 2010

We arrived in Macau to the Taipa Ferry Terminal and we took a taxi to the hotel. Make sure you have the address of the place printed out in chinese characters otherwise many taxi drivers won't know the place as it is a bit far away from all others hotel. For us was the best hotel during our stay in HK and Macau. It is on top of a hill, but you can easily walk to the center. The hotel offers a shuttle bus which runs few times a day to the Ferry Terminal.
We had booked a superior room + breakfast and we were not disappointed.
The hotel itself is run by tourism students and they pay you a lot of attentions. The room was stunning. It was actually a mini apartment. A front room with a fully working PC with free internet connection, a bathroom with SPA shower and a massive room with a tek bed board and plasma TV.
The room was cosy and warm and it had all necessary extra bits to make you feel welcome.
The following morning breakfast was excellent and abundant. Fresh fruit, freshly made omelettes, all kind of pastries, cereals... everything! The whole place was spotless clean and very unique with a strong Portuguese flavour. I would definately recommend this place if what you are after in Macau is pure bliss and sightseeing far away from the busy and noisy casinos.
Ps a taxi to the Ferry (Taipa) only costed us 50HKD

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nutella123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    91
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
89
162
54
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hougang
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2009

Go early to the restaurant and take a table at the windows beneath the arches and enjoy a nice slow breakfast. Savor the freshly brewed coffee and stare outwards into the lush greenery. Let the tranquility of the place engulf you. This is the real Macau.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lim005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2009

This really is an absolute 'find'. Attentive service from students and all staff. In fact that is the charm of this place. It is not a hotel - it is an experience, and you know that by staying, you are providing essential client interaction for the student body. Nothing was too much trouble. Rooms well set up. Location charming alongside a park and tucked away up a side street - meaning no noise. This is a place to explore the sites of Macau from. Casinos if you must visit them are easily reached. Restaurant is everything others have remarked on. Cannot fault it. Value - top. Would I go back? Yes, tomorrow.
Helena and her team on the front desk have much to be proud of.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gtasoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Helena-supervisor of the day. Her service was excellent. Room, especially service was excellent. Location scored 4/5 from my point of view because needed to walk up the hill if you would like to save on the cab fare. We experience the signal 8 typhoon during the one and only one night stay in Macau, fortunately the staffs from the hotel provided us all sorts of useful information, helped us out on checking for turbojet to go over to HK the next day, free shuttle etc. The breakfast, I would say it was a special breakfast. Nice. Not many varieties, but quality. Had a decent breakfast there. Didn't even need to open up my netbook as there was a computer with internet connectivity provided in room, how nice is that. Room is big enough too.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

No complaint whatsoever about the room.. was very surprised and happy to find out there is computer in the room, with high speed internet, also cable TV. Bathroom very spacious and nice. I would imagine this place is good for people who like it quiet and cozy. The staffs are very helpful and nice.
Although Macau is relatively small, the place is not that close with all the attractions. Good that they have free shuttle every now and then to the city.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

The Pousada de Mong-Ha reminded us of the pousadas we used to frequent 35 years ago in Macau -- quiet, friendly staff, low key. Pluses for us included really helpful staff (made us dinner reservations, called cabs, provided shuttles to downtown and the ferry, gave us free passes to museums), free wi-fi (computer provided) in the room, largish room (by Asian standards), pleasant (and included in the price of the room) breakfast buffet, and an incredible restaurant run by the Institute. The food was fantastic (braised Iberian pork cheeks with gnocchi, seared scallops on grilled blood sausage, etc., etc.) and the service was super attentive. Good wines and generous cocktails. The only downside (for us) was lack of accessibility (some stairs, no ramps, no elevator). Families might miss a swimming pool.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandHUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2009

Pros:
*Away from the casinos - good if you like peace and quiet.
*Spacious and quiet rooms.
*Buffet breakfast.
*Free internet in room
*Supermarkets and pharmacies within 5 minute walk.


Cons:
*Away from the casinos - not good if you want to visit casinos at night.
*Up on a hill / slope which is about 2 - 3 minutes walk from the base and bus stops.
*Hotel is staffed by tourism and hospitality students, so service may be a hit and miss. They do give their best effort though.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qoo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
4.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
1.2 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#30 of 95 in Macau
1,317 reviews
4.2 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Mong-Ha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Mong-Ha

Property: Pousada de Mong-Ha
Address: Colina de Mong-Ha, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#5 Family Hotel in Macau
#13 Business Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada is uniquely designed with a blend of European and Oriental features. The lobby and corridors are terracotta-tiled and lead to guest rooms through open-air courtyards decorated with hand-painted Portuguese tiles and lovely fountains. The use of Eastern style partitions in the guest rooms, coupled with Western style furniture and fittings create an exotic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pousada De Mong-Ha Hotel Macau
Pousada De Mong Ha Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing