We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exquisite Haven”
Review of Guia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Guia Hotel
Ranked #59 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Sorsogon, Sorsogon, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exquisite Haven”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

There were 17 of us in a package tour...so, we found it hard to find accommodation. We found a brochure for tourists and we looked for a 3-star hotel and that was how we decided to stay at Guia Hotel. As we arrived, we were at once fascinated by the European ambiance of the hotel plus the very accommodating front desk personnel. Our room was on the 3rd floor and there was a balcony where you can have a panoramic view of Macau. Since the hotel is not in the main streets of Macau, it gives a feeling of freshness and contentment to most visitors especially after a whole day of shopping and strolling interesting places in Macau. Facilities in the hotel were complete and ultra-modern like the television, telephone, small kitchen, bathing room, etc. Even the corridors were nicely decorated with photo frames and fully carpeted. Guia Hotel is really a very comforting place to stay...I would say it is "a home away from home"!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AtiseretAlsidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    97
    58
    10
    5
See reviews for
21
34
26
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this modern, clean Hotel except for the bed. It was like sleeping on a 4' by 8' sheet of plywood with a sheet over it. Man, was it hard and uncomfortable.
The desk staff have a really limited command of English. Most of the questions I had were answered by the door man who was a Filipino Nd spoke English.
The hotel is outside the main downtown area. A cab ride back will only set you back about $2.00US.
The rooms were spacious and very clean.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Didiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2012

quaint hotel, clean and comfortable, with brightly lit rooms and corridors. it's set at the base of Guia Hill which is quite a trek upwards. and since you are already at Guia Hill, you might as well see the fortress above where there is this historic chapel atop. that alone is worth the walk. there is also a museum there, an old bunker that was turned into a museum actually. the walk goes all the way to the other side of the hill through the gardens and down via the cable car. i enjoyed this trek because we landed on a different part of the city. from the bottom of the hill, you can walk to nearby temples and there is an old cemetery - quite interesting if you haven't seen one.

it took us several tries to get the bus number right. we realized that the #6 bus, or a variant of that, actually stops near the hotel - just a block away actually. if you are going to macau, dress right. get the right pair of walking/hiking shoes that are comfortable. because with a trusty map and amicable companions, macau is really a city meant for walking. it would be impossible not to see quaint shops or delectable food items along small streets.

Room Tip: the area itself is somewhat residential so no problem with street noise and stuff like that. any roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveling_hik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippines
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Stayed for 1 night in a lovely room at the 5th floor with lovely view of Macau from our window. The room is clean with comfortable beds. It's a 5-story building, which is perfect for those who have phobia staying in high-rise buildings. There is no free breakfast but their guests get a discount when eating at their restaurant, just show them your room key. They have free shuttle bus service but it does not leave frequently. We checked out from the hotel around 10 in the morning and the receptionist said that the free shuttle bus to the ferry terminal is scheduled at 1:30 in the afternoon. So we just took a taxi. The receptionist helped us to get one. The taxi ride from the hotel to the ferry terminal costs around 20 Patacas.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCLao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Stayed at Guia for one night only. Booked via expedia.com for approx $100 USD including tax. The place had its charm perhaps 20 years ago. But for the price there were no complaints.

Stayed on the 5th floor and the toilet leaked (outside the tank). At night the entire hotel (hallway, rooms, elevator) smells like smoke. No way around it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank half-life2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru
Level Contributor
115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

stayed here for one night. would advise to take a cab (around MOP15 depend on where you call the taxi) from city to the hotel if you are carrying lots of luggages or bags as you will definitely have to climb up a hill which my friend was having trouble with that. apart from that, everything was fine.

enjoy having drinks on the roof top garden. wind was chilling but was comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kookaaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Guia Hotel is about 10 minutes away for the centre. It cost only MOP13 by taxi if you don't want to walk up the hill. They have a hourly shuttle bus to the ferry port but you need to let them know in advance.

The Brillant Lake Chinese Restaurant provides great dim sum and Chinese food. We ate there 3 times and were all good. Price is very reasonable too.

The room is of good size and very clean.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinny7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.8 mi away
Ole London Hotel
Ole London Hotel
#37 of 95 in Macau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
#40 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#56 of 95 in Macau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Inn Hotel Macau
Inn Hotel Macau
#53 of 95 in Macau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.6 mi away
Metropole Hotel Macau
Metropole Hotel Macau
#44 of 95 in Macau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#27 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guia Hotel

Property: Guia Hotel
Address: Estrada do Engenheiro Trigo No. 1-5, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Guia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Guia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guia Hotel Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing