We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”
Review of Guia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Guia Hotel
Ranked #59 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Tokyo
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 8 January 2013

What you expect from a 3 star . Room was small , but comfortable . Although i went in December and the temperature dropped from about 16 to about 7 degrees , in a day and it was a nightmare trying to get any heat out of the air con system ! Pretty good location to the town centre , its on a hill , which means a bit of a climb on the way back up . But if you go out of the hotel , take a right and then a left , its easier and quicker to walk into town and come back . I didn't eat in the hotel , so can't comment on the food , but the restaurant always seemed busy with local people , so i guess it is ok . Also there is a strip joint next to the hotel , if you like that kind of thing !

Room Tip: i had room 512 , end of the corridor . Quiet and a good view of the town .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chudds32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    97
    58
    10
    5
See reviews for
21
34
26
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Love this hotel, stayed for two nights during Christmas. The hotel is on to of the hill which makes it away from the Macau's crowd. its located below Guia lighthouse one of the landmark in Macau.
The hotel's environment remind me of hotels in Europe, its small but really clean. They had good service too, they got shuttle every an hour to city and ferry terminal. Walk down a little you will find the old Portuguese town of Macau. This hotel is great as the city has offer. I recommend this hotel !

Room Tip: 509 for perfect views !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel Vince G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Very reasonable price for rooms and the rooms are very clean and very well furnished/decorated. The Guia light house is just nearby, together with the ruins of St. Paul's. Royal hotel is also located down a slope ( a stone's throw away) and it sells tickets at a discounted rate to Macau tower. Most of the attractions are pretty nearby to this hotel. The hotel's restaurant however does not really provide great service and prices can be rather steep. For a good western breakfast, there is a small cafe located close to royal hotel. Overall, my stay at Guia Hotel was satisfactory.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tvduser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012 via mobile

Reasonably priced, smallish rooms, but nice new bathrooms. Bed was firm, but I slept better than I thought. Probably good for the back.
Good position for walking to historical sites. Away from the traffic. One complimentary Juice or Tea each, at the rooftop garden.

My girlfriend enjoyed the playmate club downstairs so much, that I went to bed before her.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R_Kitson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorsogon, Sorsogon, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

There were 17 of us in a package tour...so, we found it hard to find accommodation. We found a brochure for tourists and we looked for a 3-star hotel and that was how we decided to stay at Guia Hotel. As we arrived, we were at once fascinated by the European ambiance of the hotel plus the very accommodating front desk personnel. Our room was on the 3rd floor and there was a balcony where you can have a panoramic view of Macau. Since the hotel is not in the main streets of Macau, it gives a feeling of freshness and contentment to most visitors especially after a whole day of shopping and strolling interesting places in Macau. Facilities in the hotel were complete and ultra-modern like the television, telephone, small kitchen, bathing room, etc. Even the corridors were nicely decorated with photo frames and fully carpeted. Guia Hotel is really a very comforting place to stay...I would say it is "a home away from home"!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AtiseretAlsidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this modern, clean Hotel except for the bed. It was like sleeping on a 4' by 8' sheet of plywood with a sheet over it. Man, was it hard and uncomfortable.
The desk staff have a really limited command of English. Most of the questions I had were answered by the door man who was a Filipino Nd spoke English.
The hotel is outside the main downtown area. A cab ride back will only set you back about $2.00US.
The rooms were spacious and very clean.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Didiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2012

quaint hotel, clean and comfortable, with brightly lit rooms and corridors. it's set at the base of Guia Hill which is quite a trek upwards. and since you are already at Guia Hill, you might as well see the fortress above where there is this historic chapel atop. that alone is worth the walk. there is also a museum there, an old bunker that was turned into a museum actually. the walk goes all the way to the other side of the hill through the gardens and down via the cable car. i enjoyed this trek because we landed on a different part of the city. from the bottom of the hill, you can walk to nearby temples and there is an old cemetery - quite interesting if you haven't seen one.

it took us several tries to get the bus number right. we realized that the #6 bus, or a variant of that, actually stops near the hotel - just a block away actually. if you are going to macau, dress right. get the right pair of walking/hiking shoes that are comfortable. because with a trusty map and amicable companions, macau is really a city meant for walking. it would be impossible not to see quaint shops or delectable food items along small streets.

Room Tip: the area itself is somewhat residential so no problem with street noise and stuff like that. any roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveling_hik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.8 mi away
Ole London Hotel
Ole London Hotel
#37 of 95 in Macau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
#40 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#56 of 95 in Macau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Inn Hotel Macau
Inn Hotel Macau
#53 of 95 in Macau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.6 mi away
Metropole Hotel Macau
Metropole Hotel Macau
#44 of 95 in Macau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#27 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guia Hotel

Property: Guia Hotel
Address: Estrada do Engenheiro Trigo No. 1-5, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Guia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Guia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guia Hotel Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing