We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adult hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Dragon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden Dragon Hotel
Ranked #62 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“Adult hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

I never learn...

I am far from being a prude but lets face it this is a adult hotel with adult themes as simple as that ! it is poorly located to the centre of Macao but ideally located to the Ferry terminal, and quite frankly why would you want that ! the room was travel lodge basic and it had hands down the hardest bed that I have ever slept on and I like my beds firm !
The swimming pool is a joke as the restaurant area opens directly onto the pool area and quite frankly who wants to eat an see people swimming and vice verse. I did not try the breakfast and I was really glad to leave. I will not be stopping here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank onetrubrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    159
    130
    29
    19
See reviews for
38
41
49
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
arrrbee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

Room was clean, beds were comfortable. Location was ideally located to the ferry terminal. The dinner buffet is delicious and a good price with the hotel guest discount. Definitely check it out if you want to try some of the more exotic foods Macau has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arrrbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

I stayed in this hotel as part of a package tour. This hotel located in a good location. The room was standard but a bit old and not so clean, i could see some stains here and there.
Breakfast were good, only the breakfast room was so small that some guests had to wait other guests to finish their breakfast first before they can be seated.
I will consider to stay in this hotel again if I ever go to Macau again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoisKwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

I took a day off from Hong Kong to visit Macau. I selected this hotel because it was very close to the main Turbojet ferry terminal (though not for Cotai and other ferries). Hotel is visible from the ferry itself. There is an airconditioned elevated walkway for two thirds of the distance to the hotel - which made life easy for me since I had my suitcase. Outstanding location for this purpose.

Hotel itself was very nice. Rooms and bathrooms were of adequate size and well furnished to 4 star standards and worth what I paid for it.

A few tips for Indian travellers:

1. Many previous reviews say the bed is hard - but the hardness is similar to coirfoam and sleepwell mattresses which I use at home and I did not find it a problem. Only those used to spring mattresses will find it hard.

2. Bathroom has no hand flush or bidet system, so be prepared.

3. If you are a vegetarian, there is absolutely nothing to eat near the hotel - be prepared to travel very far to find food. Shops nearby (there are many) will sell you bread, cheese slices and butter only. Nobody speaks English and people including shopkeepers are very rude.

A few tips for family travellers:

1. This hotel has entire floors dedicated to "services" like Sauna 18 (which means "massage services" if you get my meaning). Apparently this Sauna 18 is an infamous spot for certain "services" and outsiders visit this hotel mainly for this purpose.

2. Another entire floor is devoted to table dancing (that is what it says on the lift button). The latter apparently is an adult show where a man and woman do "everything" in front of a crowded audience - touted to me as a f*** show. Outsiders come in buses to see this show - apparently it is infamous.

3. This is not a place to take children unless you want to answer some embarassing questions - and definitely not for adolescents unless you want to spend your vacation supervising them and keeping them away from certain floors - and their eyes covered in lifts (lift has some titillating pictures and as I said - some floors buttons dont have numbers - they have "table dancing", "sauna" and similar labels. You dont want your adolescent kids pressing these buttond and exploring unsuitable floors.

4. The casino has mainly black jack and if you dont speak Chinese and are not a gambler, you cant understand anything at all. Rooms are full of smoke. There is no Roulette (it is there in 3-4 nearby Giant sized casinos including Sands and Oceanus - Macau is full of casinos around every corner, full of smoke and crowd).

There are good buses nearby to go all over Macau. Great location for sightseeing. There are some nice churches and forts to see. Otherwise Macau is just casinos - all of which look the same from inside.

Room Tip: Avoid tower rooms if you have family
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Venkytalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Located centrally and very near shopping and dining places. A reasonably priced hotel but already showing it's age. The lobby and guest rooms needs renovation and updating. Overall, i'd recommend the hotel for the convenience and location.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Alvin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
111 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

This is a Nice Hotel in Macau , closeby to 'The Sands Hotel ' Old One near Marina Bay, has a Casino in the Hotel , but we did not visit as the ones in Hard Rock, Venetian , The Sands, MGM , Galaxy were Better .

Didnt get to try the Breakfast !

Mc Donalds / KFC was a walk over just 10mts at the Hotel Sands

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank osborne_pimenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in April. Lovely staff and my room had a nice view of the harbour. Good location and the restaurant served genuine chinese cusine.
The only downside was the lack of spoken english by hotel staff and the rock hard bed. This definitely needs to rectified. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leon D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Real Hotel
Casa Real Hotel
#38 of 94 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#25 of 94 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emperor Hotel
Emperor Hotel
#57 of 94 in Macau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
1.1 mi away
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
#40 of 94 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Lapa Macau
Grand Lapa Macau
#20 of 94 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Dragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Dragon Hotel

Property: Golden Dragon Hotel
Address: Rua de Malaca, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Dragon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Fastbooking, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Golden Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golden Dragon
Golden Dragon Hotel Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing