We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow Wow Wow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Emperor Hotel
Ranked #20 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wow Wow Wow”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

What a magnificant hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful nothing was to much trouble. We stayed in an excutive room and it was huge very modern and well maintained. The bed is one of the best we have ever slept in at a hotel. The bathroom was very impressive. The resturant on level 9 was very good with a wide variety of choices for all meal times.

Ensure you bypass the people offering you a lift to the hotel (taxi) take the free shuttle bus from the ferry terminal or airport as they seem to run every 5-10 minutes

Only a short walk to the portugise shopping district, which offers a very large variety of shopping. We would most defently stay her again, very impressed :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fitzy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    168
    40
    10
    8
See reviews for
103
121
41
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We have just come back from our first trip to Macau which we added onto a five night stay in Hong Kong. Our travel agent got us a pretty reasonable deal for the accommodation here as we had no prior knowledge of either Macau or its hotels. Our 2 night stay was most enjoyable. We were upgraded to the executive level and were treated with great courtesy from the time we arrived. Our room was very spacious with a large King sized bed and a very clean and spacious bathroom which included a bath. A buffet breakfast was included but I found the Western choices to be a bit limited in comparison to those I had enjoyed at the Hong Kong hotel we had stayed in. Unfortunately, we had to leave the hotel by six am in order to catch the ferry to Hong Kong and missed out on the buffet for our last morning but when we told the staff about this, they very kindly organised for a breakfast box to be sent to our room prior to our departure. Beware if, like us, you do have to take the first ferry to Hong Kong airport, that the shuttle bus does not operate at six and we therefore had to organise a taxi, which fortunately was not too difficult at that time! during our stay, we were given a voucher which gave us a coctail and cake each afternoon in the hotel lobby which, again, was a very nice gesture, especially as the cakes were of a very high quality! We found all the staff to very attentive and were quite suprised to see that the hotel was regarded as a three star one as, to us, it certainly seemed to be quite luxurious! We would be more than happy to stay at this hotel if we ever visited Macau again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen2558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here in Jan'13. We arrived on the shuttle from the Macau ferry terminal. The staff were really helpful, and keen to do what ever they could for us.

The rooms we had were clean, with good amenities.

The buffet was great for both dinner and breakfast.

Only problem we had was the wifi in the rooms was slow.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geetee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Location is great!! The room was nice; decent size but no bathtub. I don't think they changed the sheets after my first night staying there. The person who checked us in was very helpful and very instructional; however, the rest of the other staffs were the rudest ppl I ever seen in the service industry:
I was sitting in the lobby waiting for my sister, i saw the guy next to me had one of his leg rested on the arm rest of the seat. As i was thinking this is very inappropriate, i saw a manager walked toward him. I immediately thought if i was the manager, i would probably said something like this excuse me sir, can you please put your leg back down for the comfort of the surrounding hotel guests. To my surprise, the manager came and asked him with a very impolite tone "What are you doing"( this is exactly what he said in chinese). As a witness of this incident, I was speechless after I heard what the manager had said.

For some reason, I feel like every move I made in the lobby were being monitored by the managers who were just standing there.
The staffs were just generally rude
when I asked them questions; is like they don't want me to be there. They do not have any smiles at all whatsoever; hard to approach them and ask them question.

We were told by their bus driver to get off at a wrong destination after we had ask him twice if this is the right place to get off. Ended up, we had to ride another hotel bus to get to our destination. Luckily the staffs from the other hotel were nice enough to let us get on or out we would probably have to pay 160MOP to get on a taxi to get to our destination.

Overall hotel itself is good but they really need to retrain the staffs on how to talk and treat their customers.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catwoman3713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandEmperor, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Emperor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
In respond to the comment posted on December 29, 2012 regarding Grand Emperor Hotel, we have the following findings:
1. Guest believes that his bed sheets were not changed after his first night’s stay;
Action: Being a green hotel member of Macau Environmental Protection Bureau, a tentcard is placed on top of the bed for the guest to advise Housekeeping in changing the bed sheet as necessary is entirely up to the guest desire.

2. Guest stated that one of our managers stationing at the lobby was rude and talked inappropriately while trying to advise a guest to sit in a proper position;
Action: From the review of our CCTV, hotel staff was simply requesting the guest to properly sit in the public. In fact the request was directed to the complainant in the first place.

3. Our shuttle bus driver had informed guest to get off at a wrong stop after he had asked the driver twice for confirmation.
Action: a) We don’t have the information exactly what happened including the place, day & time.
b) Even though we have checked with the staff that we have no record to handle and no similar incident had occurred.

In this regard, on January 4, 2013, we have sent a private email to the guest who commented in order to obtain more details of the issue for further comprehensive investigation until now.

We remain.

Best Regards,
Vincent Yeung
Executive Assistant Manager - Guest Service Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We stayed on the 19th floor in a executive room, very nice, confortable bed, with luxury amenities, and always a nice touch of fresh fruit or freshly baked biscuits before bedtime.
Wherever we walked throughout the hotel we faced confort, cleanliness, and not at all cigarette smell.
We also enjoyed our breakfast with great choices of Western and Asian food.
Central located, close to the main attractions.
Overall we were very satisfied and pleased with our stay.
We give our thanks to the great team of employess of this hotel.
We highly recommended this hotel, and I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 19th floor excecutive room and we loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mysave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

The hotel was absolutely fabulously. First impression and lasting empression, staff very helpful. Modern decor from entrance to rooms. Spacious clean and very modern outlook. Huge breakfasts from traditional to western influences. Tariffs were value for money as well.

Room Tip: I didn't use the swimming pool or spa, so no comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaC838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

My work associate and I made a spur of the moment trip to Macau after a long and tedious work project in Hong Kong. We scanned the tripadvisor reviews and based our choice tor this hotel soley upon the tripadvisor reviews made this a good choice. It didn't hurt that the hotel is centrally located, or the fact that we were able to score a bargain rate at the last minute. We were even more enthused when we upgrade to an Executive level room at checkin, and actually stepped foot inside the room. We had only been hoping for a clean room with somewhat comfortable beds, but to our surprise it was a large room that was spotlessly clean, had a good view, and was stocked with features and amenities that bordered on luxurious, even approaching five star quality. The room was also free from the lingering stench of cigarette smoke that is commonplace in Asia's "nonsmoking" hotel accomodations. The hotel's casino is spread out on several floors, with segregated space for slots, table games and high stake, big roller lounges, although we spent most of our time at other nearby casinos that were within walking distance. Food at the onsite restaurants is good, and there are other restaurants off site that are easily within walking distance. Overall, I give this hotel high marks, and would not hesitate to recommend it to others. I hope to stay again here soon wihen I return to Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for an Executive room located on the hotel's upper floors 19th-23rd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Donbassero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#23 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sintra
Hotel Sintra
#32 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Landmark Macau
The Landmark Macau
#31 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Emperor Hotel
Emperor Hotel
#57 of 95 in Macau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#27 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Emperor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Emperor Hotel

Property: Grand Emperor Hotel
Address: No.288 Avenida Comercial De Macau, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Casino Hotel in Macau
#11 Spa Hotel in Macau
#17 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#18 Family Hotel in Macau
#19 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Emperor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Grand Emperor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Emperor Macau
Hotel Grand Emperor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing