We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally overrated”
Review of Wynn Macau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wynn Macau
Ranked #19 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Totally overrated”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Another hotel-casino where the staff are as "up" themselves as the punters. This place takes itself way too seriously sadly. Yes, it's beautiful, clean, elegant, classy but at the same time it lacks the character and personality that I was hoping (like Wynn Vegas for example). The one saving grace was the casino bar and restaurant, which served pretty good Dim Sum, even if a little expensive. The location is also ideal. It's all just too serious and needs an injection of fun!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mugearsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    189
    29
    13
    11
See reviews for
90
161
77
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed here for a night for convenience sake as my flight back home is early morning the next day and I wanted to check out the wynn casino. Also, the rooms seem to be forever fully booked so i jumped at it when I saw theres room available and ive always wanted to experience staying at wynn after reading so much rave reviews on it.
The room was huge and tastefully furnished. Fantastic bathroom with separate shower and toilet, always appreciate such layouts for bathrooms. Great amenities provided in the bathroom as well which is not exactly surprising since it is wynn. on a downside, you need to pay for wifi in room which is rather ridiculous when the room cost almost 400 usd a day. Breakfast was additional cost as well which I tried. Mediocre selection which I was expecting more from wynn.

Overall, with that price per night, there are a lot more better international chained hotels in macau to choose from. Not recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globalcitizen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Macau is a "must" if you are in South east Asia, into gambling, and have a couple of days off. This exciting city has a Casino turn-over of appx. 6 times as Las Vegas at the moment. Even if you are not gambling the Wynn Hotel has plenty to offer. Inside this Casino I have got the best dim sums I have ever tasted, and I have tasted a few during my trips in Asia the last few years.

The rooms in this hotel are huge with great view, including all the facilities you need. Great service, kind staff. If you have any complaints about this hotel you should rather stay at home...;-)

Because of the gambling at night I never got the chance to try the breakfast, but since everything in this hotel is open 24/7 there is no need for special breakfast hours...

Highly recommendable!

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the light fountain / Lisboa Grand Casino. Great view at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rune H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Wynn Macau is the only proper ***** hotel in the old part of Macau. Outstanding rooms (stayed in one bedroom suite) and flawless service. The hotel cannot do anything for the arrogant Chinese clientele, but it's similar or worse anywhere in Macau.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TJH73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed in a grand deluxe room on the Encore tower side room was stunning and very comfortable. The pool was nice and relaxing but NO cocktail menu at the pool i had to teach staff how to put simple cocktail together ??? Restaurants were very good in the Wynn the Italian restaurant was booked out two nights in a row so we tried the Japanese restaurant it was very good. High end shopping was excellent in the Wynn. Casino i didn't like i found there wasn't many poker machines and NO black jack tables in the NON-Smoking sections i found gambling at the MGN next door much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wizzard27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Exceeded expectations. The room was divine, beautifully decorated and the shower absolutely huge. Stayed in a standard room and overlooked the sea. Room service good value and tasty. Non smoking room smelt of smoke and housekeeping brought up a room freshener device which was great. Bed large and so comfortable. Couldn't fault it!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Marriedtheenglish_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Spent a long weekend in Macau in April 2014 and stayed at the Wynn. I used some of my free hotel stays through hotels.com to help lower the cost, but after arriving, I wouldn't have minded paying full price. The Wynn has shuttles from the airport and the ferry making it very easy to get to the hotel. We arrived fairly early, so we checked in, but our room wasn't ready so they provided us with some free guidebooks, water, restaurant recommendations and asked us to return around 2pm. We enjoyed a delicious meal at Cafe Esplanada overlooking the pool and when we were allowed into the room, we were blown away. Super comfortable bed, spacious bathroom and they brought our suitcase up and gave us a tour of the room. We enjoyed dinner overlooking the water show (delicious) as well as at 99 Noodles. They clean the room twice a day. The casinos are spread throughout and are mostly baccaret tables so I would recommend learning how to play that before venturing the Macau. The hotel is close to MGM and Grand Lisboa for other gambling options as well as the historical sites. The pool at the hotel was amazing and no one was there! The only downside is having to pay for wireless internet which is around 160 KHD per day. I would highly recommend this hotel for a luxurious weekend in Macau

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher levels facing the water show. Non-smoking rooms are actually non-smokin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romarathon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
0.3 mi away
Mandarin Oriental Macau
3.0 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Macau, Cotai Strip
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#23 of 95 in Macau
1,130 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wynn Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wynn Macau

Property: Wynn Macau
Address: Rua Cidade de Sintra, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Casino Hotel in Macau
#11 Spa Hotel in Macau
#13 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#15 Business Hotel in Macau
#19 Luxury Hotel in Macau
#19 Family Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Wynn Macau 5*
Number of rooms: 1007
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Asia's leading Las Vegas-style luxury resort, Wynn Macau and the Encore at Wynn Macau continue to raise the bar for excellence. It holds the distinct honor of being the only Resort in the world with 8 Forbes Five-Star Awards, garnering Five-Star awards for its hotel, restaurants and spas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wynn Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wynn Macau Hotel Macau
Wynn Hotel Macau
Macau Wynn Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing