We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Rocks Hotel Macau - Very nice…but be aware of the location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rocks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Rocks Hotel
Ranked #38 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The Rocks Hotel Macau – Very nice…but be aware of the location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

I have stayed in The Rocks Hotel Macau in March 2012. I was travelling in business and stayed for five nights.

The hotel is decorated following a Chinese interpretation of the Victorian style... Be prepared for lots of marble, artificially aged dark woods and gold painted furniture. As expected, the end result lacks authenticity and the whole hotel experience conveys a kitsch feeling - not uncommon in modern China.

The hotel rooms are however spacious and comfortable. General speaking they are also well maintained (exceptions on my room: the carpet was a little bit worn out but still acceptable, shower hose would benefit from being replaced). Bed was large and comfy.

The internet is cabled, fast and free. I had a problem on the last day of my stay when suddenly I lost the internet connection – not ever to recover it. Always annoying.

Breakfast doesn’t have extensive western selections, but you can still have a decent breakfast with yogurt, cereals, bread, toasts and fresh fruits.

Rate was competitive.

Biggest issue with this hotel is location. The hotel is located at the end of Macau Fisherman’s Wharf that never enjoyed the commercial success it was thought for. From the hotel it would take you a good half an hour to reach the center of Macau walking. On a tiny territory like Macau, that’s out of the way. I was with a car, so I could easily go around the location issue. But the majority of the people coming to Macau doesn’t have access nor rent a car…

It wasn’t the first time I stayed in the Rocks Hotel Macau. But probably this was the time I enjoyed it the most. With the so called New Macau (aargggh!) and its huge hotels catering for the busloads of tourists coming from the mainland (after the 3000 room Venetian, Macau will have soon a 4000 room Sheraton), the Rocks with 75 rooms or so felt almost as an oasis with it’s quiet unrush atmosphere.

Is the Rocks Hotel the best choice in Macau? Probably not. I would recommend the Sofitel Ponte 16 where I have stayed on other occasions. But if you have access to a car or don’t mind relying on public transports, the Rocks Hotel is more affordable and a quite good choice. I wouldn’t have a problem staying in the Rocks Hotel again.

In Macau, for good Portuguese food on grand colonial setting, I recommend “Clube Militar”. For Best in the World Dim Sum, “Portas do Sol” on the old Lisboa Hotel. And for a truly Macanese experience, “Litoral” on Inner Harbour.

Room Tip: I have stayed on room 318, a quite good room. However its door faces the door of a staff service are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LAASG_Portugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    49
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
37
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Staying at the Rocks is a bit like being in Disneyland but it is a poor attempt at Victoriana. Also it is located in Fisherman's Wharf which is rapidly turning into a ghost town in Macau. The room was ok,nothing special, and there was a smell of cigarette smoke through the whole building. I only stayed one night but I wouldn't go back again - there are plenty of other, better hotels in Macau. Oh and if it is raining and about 7.00pm, forget being able to get a taxi out there, even with the help of the hotel staff. All they can do is ring for you but they get no reply. Had to hike for about 20 minutes to get a cab.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seasider888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

I stayed at the Rocks Hotel in Macau for three nights and enjoyed my stay. The hotel is located at the end of the fisherman's wharf development in Macau, which doesn't seem to have been a great success as lots of the units are empty, and there only ever seems to be a handful of people strolling round it. However this means that the hotel and the area around it are fairly quiet which can be a blessing given that Macau can be very hectic, particularly on weekends when there are hoards of visitors from the mainland coming across to gamble. It is only a short walk to the main casinos and the more historic area around the ruins of Saint Paul's.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful, and moved my room for me after a small problem with my first one with no fuss whatsoever. The room was large, very clean with a big bathroom and complimentary wired broadband access. All the rooms have balconies either overlooking the wharf and the ferry terminal or out to Taipa. The hotel's decor is very interesting in a sort of victorian style which works pretty well.

Breakfast was ok, nothing special but passable, although communication with the egg chef was challenging as he spoke little English. The waiting staff were always quick to translate for me though so it wasn't a problem.

The only downside is that the hotel is a little on the expensive side, but it appears that most of the good ones on Macau are.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WindsorVillain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

I have just stayed for a night at the Rocks hotel and arrived already a bit late for a meeting. The staff at the hotel was extremely helpful, calling a taxi while I went upstairs to the room, connected the computer, checked the e-mail, and returned back to get the taxi. This took no more than 5 to 10 minutes. Something that I can consider as personalized treatment even if other customers were there and for what I gathered, having the same type of treatment. In a nutshell, the staff was friendly, helpful and very nice. The hotel looks really nice, designed to appear as a Governor's colonial house although with quite a of the decor in plastic (e.g., the parakeets in the cage in the first floor) which feels a bit disappointing. However, the lobby area is really pleasant and a good place to have informal meetings with your business colleagues if some of them are staying in the same hotel. The bedroom and the bathroom were both large, well decorated, and a mix of comfortable and practical. Unfortunately it was foggy outside, but I guess the view from the room's veranda must be gorgeous when the weather is nicer. The hotel is quiet at night and I had a marvelous night sleep. The breakfast is also a plus, with a mix of western and Asian cuisine, and everything fresh, presentable and pleasant. I cannot add much about the location because I could not get its grasp (kept jumping in and off of taxis without much time to do anything else). Overall though, I think this hotel is a really good choice to stay in Macau.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pumbainjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Great boutique hotel
- excellent rooms. great interiors, furniture n fittings in the room
- very helpful staff. We were trying to get tickets to the House of Dancing Water but found that it was sold out. The concierge / reception staff went out of their way to help source tickets from some travel agents who had a couple of surplus tickets. Led to brilliant evening for us. Much appreciated.
- great decor and very well maintained hotel
- good spread at breakfast

Only downside - no swimming pool
Biggest upside - No casino in-house. Keeps the hotel nice n quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner rooms - they are larger than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonjour_mon_ami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed at The Rocks when visiting relatives in Macau. The whole hotel is immaculate and they could not have been more helpful. The rooms are lovely and overlook the lagoon where the ferries come and go to Hong Kong. There are unbelievable sky lanes taking tourists from the airport, ferry port to the various islands which make up Macau. The length of the bridges linking different areas of Macau have to be seen to be believed.

Breakfast each day was presented very formally, with our own personal waitress each day, who soon found that we could take endless amounts of tea and coffee. In spite of being the only Europeans staying there we were made to feel at home and nothing was too much trouble. They even made us hot cocoa in the middle of the night on New Years Eve.

Room Tip: We loved the view of the sea and bridges, there was very little noise, but the views were great. Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teleys_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

A friend recommended The Rocks Hotel to me so decided to give it a try. I had passed by the hotel wandering in Fisherman’s Wharf in a trip to Macau a few years ago. Although the Wharf sounded like a failed white elephant investment, The Rocks Hotel looked quite charming among the tacky facilities nearby. It is Victorian replica, but with details.

We arrived on a really hot day. The ferry pier exit was cramped with hot chick ushers from the big casinos. We failed to locate the shuttle bus stop of The Rocks Hotel so ended up taking a taxi. The driver frowned on us as the hotel was quite near the pier, though one won’t venture to walk in the scorching sun. He even refused to hand over the coin changes apart from the bills, saying it’s the right amount already.

Anyway we checked in to a nice double bed room. The Rocks Hotel boasts a much more waterfront location than the more posh hotels. The balcony opened to a panoramic sea and bridge view. Since the double room is designed for couples, the bathtub in the washroom faces a glass window behind which the louver can be slid open for intimacy, or left closed for privacy. That’s real thoughtful. The décor is quite girlish actually, but it’s much more tasteful than the bigger hotels with casinos where the exotically designed windows are fake, with spot lights on but not usable. The verandahs and window frames at The Rocks exude a British ambiance. It’s even more beautiful when the lightings are on at night.

However, the bed quilt was way too thick to be used in such hot weather. I tossed around in bed all night long since it’s too hot. Tried to turn up the air-conditioning but it didn’t help much. Hope they can pay attention to that so that it’s more eco-friendly. The breakfast is no good. The croissant was cold and the omelet tasted bland. The restaurant, though, is nicely decorated with alfresco seating and a fountain facing the sea.

The staff, though with Mainland accent to cater for quite a number of Mainland guests, is friendly and helpful. They helped us to phone a remote eatery to find out which bus stop to get off, and also exchange full coins for us to take the bus.

Though we did take the shuttle to the jet foil, we only managed to find the shuttle sign at the pier as a hotel logo among a few small casinos of the same Group on a small board hidden among the big guys. Hope they can improve the signage in future. All in all, The Rocks Hotel is reasonably priced and has its own charm to stand among the competition.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluenanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
5.7 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
0.3 mi away
The Landmark Macau
The Landmark Macau
#25 of 94 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#24 of 94 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Lapa Macau
Grand Lapa Macau
#20 of 94 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Real Hotel
Casa Real Hotel
#39 of 94 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
5.2 mi away
Pousada de Coloane Beach Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rocks Hotel

Property: The Rocks Hotel
Address: Macau Fisherman's Wharf, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Rocks Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Rocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocks Hotel Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing