We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, close to Macau side action”
Review of StarWorld Macau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
StarWorld Macau
Ranked #49 of 96 Hotels in Macau
Macau, China
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good value, close to Macau side action”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

StarWorld hotel is part of the Galaxy Entertainment Group, so its sister company is the famous Galaxy Macau (the huge white castle) on the Cotai Strip, as well as the Grand Waldo, which is right next to Galaxy Macau. President, Rio and Waldo are the sister companies on the Macau side.

Please keep in mind that the country Macau has three parts: Macau peninsula attached to China at the Zhuhai border, Taipa and Coloane. Cotai Strip is the reclaimed land in between CO-loane and TAI-pa, get it?

StarWorld hotel is really good value. Its food outlets are reasonably priced. Inagiku has great Japanese lunch sets averaging MOP140. I would pass on the raw items as you can get better quality elsewhere. Laurel is quite good for dim sum, but remember to book a reservation, as it's a popular lunch place. There's also a buffet on the 16th floor, but I'd pass. If you're really into buffets, go check out the one at Grand Lisboa, which is about a 10 mins walk away.

StarWorld has the Whiskey Bar on the 16th floor. Currently it's under renovation. Hopefully when they open again, they will still have the happy hour open bar for MOP128. Great value! There's also the lobby lounge for drinks.

As for gaming, baccarat and sic bo are the games of choice here. StarWorld caters to the Chinese and you'd rarely find westerners here, unless you're on the 3rd floor at the Poker King Club room. This is one of the only poker rooms in Macau. The other two are Wynn and Venetian poker rooms. And at the time of this review, PokerStars has announced that they will open a poker room at City of Dreams by mid-April. This Poker King Club room is home to the Big Game, which is apparently the world's largest cash game, where blinds go as high as HKD50K/100K. I've personally seen Phil Ivey, Tom Dwan, Sam Trickett, Johnny Chan and Andrew Robl playing in this nosebleed game on various occasions.

It's located right next to the Wynn and L'Arc. It's directly across from the President and about a 20 mins walk to Senado Square. If you want to check out Galaxy Macau, just hop on the frequent shuttle bus.

Hope this helps. If you need any specific info, please feel free to contact me.

Room Tip: Rooms are often booked up by the VIP junkets, so try to go through travel agents, as they often have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whatsupmacau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    58
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
23
38
22
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Yokohama, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

3rd stay in this hotel, I'm not a gambler so lets talk about the hotel. rooms are clean and large for the price you pay. Location is perfect for me, lets say "it's the best" for any menu you want. Food? Attractions? Heritages? Fun? Casino?
Everything is perfect at this hotel with unbelievable prices if you book through ASIATRAVEL.com.
Hundreds of spread on breakfast, in-room dining was fantastic with lots to choose, just a walk to any location around Maccau. service is great and just try to walk for your own health!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MZTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

The magnificent lobby clouded with all the tall lady receptionists ( specially selected with height), give you a warm welcome. A small stage with light music and dancing show provides a "lively" environment let you fell easy when checking in.

The standard king bed room is well fitted and sized. I love the big-size shower bed. I shall give excellent mark for everything except the "bottles" of bath gel, shampoo, conditioner, you can hardly find the right bottle as the wording is too samll and every bottles looks virtulally the same. Either the wording be larger or the botlle caps be of different colour. They can also improve the quality of bath towel to a softer feel.

Room Tip: Higher floor room enjoy a better view of Macau
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zuric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2013

The location is great, although kind of noisy outside, the room is quite. The sea view is amazing. Lobby staff is quite nice. Also I love the performance in lobby, ladyboys are awesome! And I can find different restaurants around the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Superb hotel in an excellent location on the Macau peninsula. We had an executive room on the 30th floor with fantastic views overlooking Lisboa and the Macau tower. Although this room is slightly more expensive than standard rooms, it was worth it. The glass window between the bathroom and bedroom meant you coud lie in the bath and still enjoy the view!
Breakfast was excellent....large choice at the buffet as well as omlettes etc cooked in front of you while you wait.
The hotel offers a free bus service to its sister hotel, Galaxy on the island. Both this and the Venetian are fantastic hotels but are huge and personally we felt that they were too big and impersonal but well worth a visit.
Recommendatioon - spend the evening at the bar in Sands, just a short walk from Starworld.
Once again, a fantastic hotel in a great location - wouldnt hesitate to recommend it.

Karen

Room Tip: Go for an executive room if you can and request a high floor with a view over the Macau tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karenay a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I am a frequent guest at StarWorld and the standard of service and quality of rooms are always consistent and of an exceptional level. The rooms are spacious and allow me the flexibility to dine and work while enjoying a spectacular view of Macau. I want to add that room service is important to me as I tend to work in the evenings and will usually eat in. I love the room service menu and it is very reasonably priced. Thank you StarWorld staff for making each stay so pleasant and easy.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canadahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herentals, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We took the ferry from Hong Kong to Macau around 11 AM and arrived at the hotel around 1 PM. We were a little early to check in. Though, we did our check in but didn't receive our room yet. This would only be possible from 3 PM.The people from the front desk were extremely friendly and always spoke to us by our family name. The staff stored our luggage and we went out for eating in a local restaurant and did some sightseeing.

When we came back at the hotel, at first we were offered a room on the 18th floor but as many suggested, we asked for one on a higher floor. As we didn't mind a smoking or non-smoking room so we were offered a smoking room at the 29th floor with a stunning view (the staff told us). We were wondered about the view we would get ...

We arrived in the room and we both said 'WOW' ! The staff didn't lie about the view! About the room we can say that the bed was huge, so was the bath tub, the shower, the television, ... briefly everything was so amazing!

We stayed for one night and didn't try the breakfast but if we visit Macau again, we're surely going to stay another time in the Starworld Hotel! A top experience !

Room Tip: High floor rooms are a must !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathias B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.1 mi away
L'Arc Hotel Macau
L'Arc Hotel Macau
#61 of 96 in Macau
38 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental Macau
0.0 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#77 of 96 in Macau
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wynn Macau
Wynn Macau
#19 of 96 in Macau
595 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Emperor Hotel
Grand Emperor Hotel
#16 of 96 in Macau
460 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landmark Macau
The Landmark Macau
#31 of 96 in Macau
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to StarWorld Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about StarWorld Macau

Property: StarWorld Macau
Address: Avenida de Amizade, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Macau
#22 Casino Hotel in Macau
#38 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — StarWorld Macau 5*
Number of rooms: 505
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your StarWorld Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starworld Macau Hotel Macau
Starworld Hotel Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing