We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Ranked #13 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
131 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

Was really impressed with this Sofitel property. Being A-Club Platinum managed to get a room upgrade, which is always appreciated. The room itself was amazing, great views of Macau’s skyline, awesome decoration and extremely confortable bed. Also, the bathroom amenities were excellent. The only problem I found was the lack of information by some staff about late check-out privileges.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 351pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,821
    1,080
    230
    67
    48
See reviews for
741
1,344
224
197
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Macau
Level Contributor
108 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

The Inner Harbour, where the hotel is located, is in the old and somewhat dilapidated part of Macau. Until de mid-20th century the ferries from HK would arrive here, at Ponte 16 (i.e. Pier 16), the exact spot where the hotel is, and travellers would head to the centre through Almeida Ribeiro avenue (or San Ma Lo), where two of the best hotels, now closed, could be found: the Central and the Grand Hotel. You may have seen it in Joseph von Sternberg's movie "Macao", with Robert Mitchum. This is history however as the centre of the town has shifted out of the Inner Harbour, a process that started in the 60's when Stanley Ho earned the gaming monopoly. The Sofitel is a bit kitsch but it is also confortable, with good and modern rooms. The food is very good, the service is courteous and the wi-fi is free and fast. Looking from the balcony to the fishing ships moored in the harbour and to mainland China on the other side of the canal you may think you are in a city different from the Macau most visitors know. I can say it is a kind of hidden gem and from here to the historical centre it is just a 10 minutes walk.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goncalo2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

During our stay, my wife accidentally broke one of the cup in our room before checking out.
When we arrived HKG, I received a call from the receptionist inquiring if everything is fine with us due to the broken glass.
This is what we call "excellent service".

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

We booked this hotel over the internet and really did not know much about Macau. We were pleasantly surprised. The hotel appears to be away from all of the activity but in fact it is only a 10-15 minute walk. There is a Circle K store right next door for snacks and goodies. The room was amazing as was the hotel. We faced the water and had a lovely view. The pool and area was wonderful. The food was okay. The breakfast buffet did not cater too much to Western type breakfasts but we made do. Staff at checkin very helpful as was the Concierge. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank London1545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
141 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

The hotel is everything you can expect from a Sofitel. Plus it is located close to the real Macau (away from the big casinos).
The ruins of saint paul are walking distance from the hotel and the taxi to Galaxy or City of dreams is only around 60-70MOP. Or you can get the free shuttle to the Ferry station and jump into another shuttle.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thebeachwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

1) Suppose A club member will enjoy 50% off in Hotel's dining restaurant , but for Mistral, but we just found out no discount on lunch buffet.
2) Beverage option is limited.
3) My sister got a big surprise from hotel as the hotel sent her a birthday cake for celebrate her birthday because the date she check in hotel was her birthday.
4) But for me, I receive nothing from the hotel, as it was also my birthday on date of my stay in hotel. I feel unhappy as I got difference treating from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDIRKS, Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
Dear Accorhotels.com traveler,

Thank you very much for sharing your valuable comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.

In light of your comments regarding the loyalty program with Accor and Sofitel, we would like to highlight that the "Advantage Plus" membership does indeed entitle the card-holder to up to 50% discount in selected food and beverage outlets, however the A-Club membership only boasts certain privileges at Gold or Platinum level.

I sincerely apologize for the oversight with respect to your birthday and would welcome you to contact the hotel directly prior to your next visit so that we may have the opportunity to surprise you with a luxury amenity.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts.

Yours sincerely,

M.DIRKS
Sofitel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
4.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
3.8 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
6.3 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#25 of 94 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental Macau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16

Property: Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Address: Rua do Visconde Paco de Arcos, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Macau
#9 Family Hotel in Macau
#10 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#13 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 4.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on Macau's picturesque waterfront, Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 is located in the center of the city and amidst the charming historical quarter with walking distance to St. Paul's Ruins and A-Ma Temple! The complex of restaurant, bar, recreational facilities, meeting and banquet venues, in-house casino and MJ Gallery ensures that Sofitel has created an exquisite world for lovers of "art de vivre". The hotel has an easy access to the major points of entry into Macau and offers its guests complimentary transfers to the Macau ferry terminal and GongBei border gate on the Ponte 16 casino shuttle buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 Hotel Macau
Sofitel Ponte 16
Macau Peninsula Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing