We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with great services”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Ranked #14 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Booked this hotel after failing to book the other hotels along the main casino stretch like MGM and and Wynns.

Was surprised at the level of service rendered by the hotel staff, from Bellman to the front office officers. They were simply fantastic and very helpful. The hotel provides round service from the ferry terminal to the hotel every 15 minutes.

The rooms are decorated very artistically, with paintings scattered within the room itself. It feels really cosy inside the room and it comes with a flat screen tv within the room.

The hotel is only 15 minutes walk to the senado square, so i would say the the location is not too bad. Anyway, cabbies around the area are readily available and relatively cheap as well.

Will definitely book this place again in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanyeo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,522)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,158 - 2,164 of 3,522 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2011

Sofitel is indeed a gem in Macao. Comfortable bed, loccitane toiletries, grand lobby, nice river view and an interesting MJ gallery.

Breakfast was good but expensive if you are not a advantage plus member. It is within a 10mins walking distance to Senado Square. There is a bus stop right in front of the hotel that has very frequent buses that stop at many other attractions and other major hotels.

Casino is basic and of course incomparable to hotels like Lisboa, MGM, etc in term of the interior decor.

I love the pool but time is tight so never try. If I get a chance to visit Macao again, I will probably dedicate a day to stay in the hotel to rest and relax!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SereneSwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We have a good stay at this hotel, modern design and the room is clean and spacious. I only don't like the spell at the lobby, very strong smoking smell which may be came out from the casino.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dreamer1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Oh my, what a wonderful hotel experience this was! Upon entering the hotel lobby, the hotel "smelled" really good and inviting but not in an overpowering way. We were pleasantly greated at the check-in counter and asked if we wanted to upgraded (for a nominal charge) to a room with a better view of Macau. This upgraded room also included breakfast in the mornings and afternoon drinks and snacks which we agreed to do. Those rooms are included on floors 15 and 16.

The bedroom was very clean, spacious and luxurious and the bathroom included a walk-in shower as well as a good-sized tub with a television screen to view while you're soaking. Toiletries included Hermes brand products. The toilet was in an enclosed glass area which was nice however, it seemed too small and close. We are not terribly big or fat people so if we felt this way, we wondered if others bigger/taller than us would feel claustrophobic or even have a hard time fitting in there!

Breakfast as well as the afternoon drinks are served in a day room area on the 16th floor. Breakfast was a buffet which included meats such as bacon and/or sausage, eggs, grilled tomatoes or sauteed mushrooms, a noodle dish, various breads, pastries and spreads, various fresh fruit platters and bowls, assorted salad greens, various fruit juices, champagne as well as coffee and teas.

Afternnon drinks and snacks included several choices of wines, fruit juices, champagne, coffee/tea. At times they would make small glasses of fruit smoothies. Snacks included fresh fruit, crackers, breads and cheeses, little dishes of mixed fruit and veggies, as well as other hot or baked meat and/or cheese canapes.

Perhaps the biggest and best asset of the hotel was the sincerely friendly and hospitable staff we encountered there. They were quite helpful in answering our many questions we had about the area and if there was something they could not answer, they made every effort to research the answer and got back to us within the hour. What a pleasure it was for us to meet such an open and warm-hearted group of people that added value to our Macau experience!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KOA002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

The hotel was ideally located for walking to all the centro sights, and for catching buses to every corner of Macau, Taipa and Coloane.

At check-in, I was persuaded to upgrade to the executive floor (room 1639), including breakfast, lounge access at any time (papers etc) on level 17, afternoon tea (2.30-4.30), canapés and drinks (5-7), and late checkout of 2pm. The upgrade cost was $345 HKD or $45 USD/day for one person.

My room was a twin, with city – not the requested river – views. The room was not overly spacious, but was very comfortable: lovely bed linen and a pillow menu, a lounge chair, a desk and chair, with free wired internet access, large TV and a Bose radio. The bathroom: separate bath with TV, excellent shower cubicle with 3 nozzles, separate toilet cubicle, huge fluffy towels, and Hermes products.

I didn’t like the clear glass wall between the bedroom and bathroom, but there was a remote control to activate a shutter. The night curtains in the bedroom were operated from a bedside switch.

Lighting was excellent, with great bedside lamps and halogen lights above the beds for reading.

The air-conditioning had individual controls which operated with temperature accuracy, for a change.

I chose to take breakfast in the main room (Mistral) on Level 6 – a fantastic variety of Asian and Western offerings. And a double espresso!

Drinks in the executive lounge (Sofitel Club on Level 17) were excellent, but the choice of food was limited (for example, fried chicken legs, two dim sum varieties, vegetable samosas, rolls and cheese, fruit). Once the trays were emptied, they were not replenished. Staff in the Club were very friendly, with a special mention for excellent service from Gary.

The concierge staff were personable, and extremely helpful in providing information about sightseeing and local buses.

There were only two minor irritants: the wait for 30 minutes at the ferry terminal for the shuttle transfer to the hotel on arrival from Hong Kong, and the wait of 20 minutes in the queue to check-in, as only one staff member was available for processing, and a number of people were checking in at the same time. I just happened to be the last one in the queue!

Apart from that, highly recommended if your main reason for visiting Macau is to see the great historical sites, rather than to visit the casinos.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glynis031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

this is one of the best hotels in Macau, albeit just a bit far from the city lights at night (it is about 10 mins walk to the Senado Square), but it is on the old part of Macau that it makes the stay more charming... We did not find the transportation a problem (where some reviewers said it was) but for us, it was just timing... maybe because we were relaxing so there was really no rush.. besides, the free shuttle bus came at the waiting at the correct time it was supposed to arrive... going to Taipa was not a problem too... just take the bus going to the Ferry Terminal, then take the bus of the other hotels from the same station... breeze...

one slight problem we encountered though was not being given a "non-smoking" king room which was my reservation... the only available room when we arrived was a king bed room in the smoking section... the manager, Matias, suggested we take a look and feel the "smoking" floor if it would be comfortable for us... and since the hotel was quite new (3 years old), there was no "smoke" smell in the room... we accepted the offer and were quite satisfied.... oh, and by the way, thank you for the free chocolates... it was really delicious!

we will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lanalane924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Nanjing, China
11
Reviewed 28 September 2011

With the shuttle bus, it's every convenient for the transportation between ferry and the hotel. The restaurant on 18th floor is good. There are public bus at the street in front of the hotel. So it's also easy to go to other places in Macau, such as The Venetian, templodeama, Ruins of St. Paul , etc.,

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
4.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
3.8 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental Macau
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#22 of 94 in Macau
1,140 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#27 of 94 in Macau
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16

Address: Rua do Visconde Paco de Arcos, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Macau
#9 Family Hotel in Macau
#10 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#14 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range: £83 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 4.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on Macau's picturesque waterfront, Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 is located in the center of the city and amidst the charming historical quarter with walking distance to St. Paul's Ruins and A-Ma Temple! The complex of restaurant, bar, recreational facilities, meeting and banquet venues, in-house casino and MJ Gallery ensures that Sofitel has created an exquisite world for lovers of "art de vivre". The hotel has an easy access to the major points of entry into Macau and offers its guests complimentary transfers to the Macau ferry terminal and GongBei border gate on the Ponte 16 casino shuttle buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 Hotel Macau
Sofitel Ponte 16
Macau Peninsula Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing