We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Ranked #13 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

I love staying at hotels and rating them one by one if i have time. I have always loved living in hotels since i was a kid. Basic and normal rating criteria includes the following:

Service, food, rooms, neatness, staff courtesy. Those are the basics unless some other stuff really piss you off.

For this hotel... its actually very simple and almost perfect. Here is why:

The staff and people in the hotel are super nice, friendly, courteous, and very accommodating.

The food... i cant rate.

The service is ok

Rooms are big enough and very neat... so thats a good thing.

The only thing that made it lose points is because they messed up my room arrangements. From a prebooked smoking room to a non smoking room. I guess attention to detail is really important in this industry. But the staff gave me an upgrade... so thats also good. But... that will never be yhe same as just doing it right.hehehe overall... its a 90 to 95%.hehehe

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hanson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Pablo R, Guest Experience Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member (aka Hanson C)

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16. We are happy to learn that you had a wonderful time with us.

We do suggest booking a table in our French boutique restaurant ‘Prive’. You will be amazed! In fact, from the 19th to 22nd of June we will be honored to welcome Michelin Star Chef Nicolas Isnard joining forces with our team to prepare memorable dining experiences for our guests.

We look forward to having you back soon!


Life is magnifique!

Yours sincerely,

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,854
    1,097
    233
    70
    49
See reviews for
758
1,366
232
198
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We only had 1 night in Macau but the Sofitel proved to make it memorable. We were able to upgrade to a suite which blew us away! We had a jacuzzi, two bathrooms, and spectacular views of both the ocean as well as the strip leading up to Lisboa Casino. When we travel and have limited time we generally don't choose to splurge on a hotel room but we didn't know if we'd ever be back so we went for it. So glad we did as we took in the casino in the hotel, the.bar, and the Michael Jackson exhibit (glove and all)!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank UPSnoFn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Pablo R, Guest Experience Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member (aka UPSnoFn)

We all need to pamper ourselves once in a while! We are happy that you decided to do so with us at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16. Thank you for taking the time to share you recent visit and your wonderful experience in town.

Was there enough time to enjoy our facilities? Did you enjoy a sunny afternoon by the pool or a signature treatment in our So Spa with L’occitane? If not, you definitely have to come back soon.

We are looking forward to having you back again.


Life is magnifique!

Yours sincerely,

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff was great from check in to helping us with whatever we needed to holding our bags while we adventured throughout the historical section of Macau. This hotel is perfectly located near all the historical attractions. And it's a quick cab ride from the ultra large casinos on the other island.

The spa here is amazing. Just an all around great place to relax. We didn't go to any of the restaurants but we did take advantage of the 24 hr full menu room service. The Michael Jackson museum that is in the same building is a little strange but interesting to walk through.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member (aka Andrew B)

We are very happy to learn that you and your wife had a wonderful couple retreat with us. Thank you for sharing your recent stay at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.

Which treatment did you enjoy in our So Spa? Did you try the Couples Massage with Jacuzzi? It is a delight

Any plans to visit us again? Singapore is very close to Macau! During this weather enjoying a nice cocktail near the pool would be simply perfect.

We are looking forward to having you back soon.

Life is magnifique!

Yours sincerely,

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Myself and my friends were very impressed with the Sofitel. The service and attention to detail was outstanding. It felt as if the staff (particularly Princess and Gerie) couldn't do enough to make our stay memorable. The rooms were beautifully decorated and clean. The bed was exceedingly comfortable; it was lucky that breakfast was served until 11!! I would most definitely book again. Thank you to all at the Sofitel for making our trip away, without children, luxurious and relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Punter74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member (aka Punter74)

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent stay at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16. We are very happy to learn that you had a quiet and peaceful retreat during your visit in our property.

We have to agree that our Club Sofitel is our little piece of heaven. Our Ambassadors in the 17th floor are committed to ensure magnifique stays to all our guests. Your comments were shared with all of them especially Princess and Nikkole who made your stay a memorable one.

Any plans to visit us soon? It is summer! Next time bring your entire family to enjoy a sunny weather in our beautiful pool.

Life is magnifique!

Yours sincerely,

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights to watch a boxing fight. The rooms are large, clean and is well equipped.

The hotel has a pool, spa, sauna, beauty centre and everything you'd expect from a 5 star hotel.

The staff were really helpful and assisted my friends and I with all the information we needed to get around the area.

Eating at the buffet is a MUST if you are staying here.

If you do like to gamble, there is a small casino downstairs to start the night before going to the other big named casinos.

The location is a long walking distance from the central part of macau but it was great to see the sights on the way from the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member (aka Ty C)

Thank you for sharing with us your recent stay at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16. We are happy to learn that you had a wonderful time with us during your visit in town.

Did you have time to explore the old town including St Paul Ruins, The fortress and the beautiful Senado square? There is nothing better than walking around while eating delicious egg tarts from the nearby shops.

We hope to host you during your next holidays in Macau! More boxing fights will be happening throughout the year.

Life is magnifique!

Yours sincerely,

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights last April 2014 as I'm an accor member. The shuttle servicing the ferry terminal is small unlike that of other 5-star hotels. the room is lovely and well-appointed with a nice view of the river. the linens are so comfy and soft and smell really fresh. the rest room is spacious too. The shower is separate from the toilet and there's a tub. I enjoyed the breakfast and dinner buffet. all in all, it's as luxurious as other 5-star hotels and I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KB C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member (aka KB C)

Thank you for sharing with us and fellow travelers your recent stay at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16. We are excited to learn that you had a wonderful time with us.

Do not forget next time to visit our So Spa in our 6th floor. Our international team of Ambassadors offers the best signature treatments. You can book directly in our SPA or from our Concierge desk in the lobby area.

We are looking forward to having you back soon.

We wish you a safe trip back home.

Life is magnifique!

Yours sincerely,

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
283 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I am happy to say there are many improvements in Sofitel since i visited it couple of years ago. Especially, the staff became more advanced in portuguese and english.
Keep in mind that you will be asked not only for payment, but also for quite big pledge in advance. You have to understand them; many tourist have no money at check-out as they spent all in casino until last cent. From us (family with two teenagers) they required 500 USD, what may left us with no cash, because Macau was last point in our long cruise. However they accept 300 against locking minibar and payable TV channels, so we were happy at the end as we did not feel us out-of-pocket

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Borys B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member (aka Borys B)

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent stay at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16. We are very happy to learn that you and your family had a wonderful time with us.

We appreciate your understanding as in fact as normal practice in the region and hospitality itself it is required from every guest a deposit/guarantee upon arrival that can be accepted in cash or credit card and that will be cancelled upon your departure. If the room was already paid, the hotel will still collect an extra deposit just for guarantee.

Thank you for bringing this up. We hope it will be useful for all our future guests.

We wish you a safe trip back home.

Life is magnifique!

Yours sincerely,

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
4.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
1.3 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#24 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Macau
Crowne Plaza Macau
#15 of 95 in Macau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16

Property: Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Address: Rua do Visconde Paco de Arcos, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Macau
#9 Family Hotel in Macau
#10 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#13 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 4.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on Macau's picturesque waterfront, Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 is located in the center of the city and amidst the charming historical quarter with walking distance to St. Paul's Ruins and A-Ma Temple! The complex of restaurant, bar, recreational facilities, meeting and banquet venues, in-house casino and MJ Gallery ensures that Sofitel has created an exquisite world for lovers of "art de vivre". The hotel has an easy access to the major points of entry into Macau and offers its guests complimentary transfers to the Macau ferry terminal and GongBei border gate on the Ponte 16 casino shuttle buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, ACCOR, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 Hotel Macau
Sofitel Ponte 16
Macau Peninsula Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing