We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Not Fault Anything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Ranked #14 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Could Not Fault Anything”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Spent 5 nights here in late May and have nothing but praise for the staff and facilities.We satyed in an Executive Suite with access to the Executive Club and our room had a great view out over the water. The Executive Lounge was excellent and the service from the staff - Diego, Nikkole, Mary-Jane & Leizel - was faultless. Firstly the room was large with a great bed, clean and well maintained and serviced. Housekeeping - top marks. The breakfast in the Lounge was again excellent and the cook was so attentive. Canapes and drinks in the afternoon were as good as I have had in a lounge and again the staff couldn't do enough for you. The only negative I would say are the restaurants. I would rate as just average especially the Chinese restaurant. The location is not near the big casinos which has its advantages. No massive crowds and and much quieter area. Yes it is in older part of Macau which may deter some people - I note one review referred to it as a slum area - but that is a little harsh. Nice to be in an area without the glitz of "Las Vegas". Also remember there are shuttle buses to take you everywhere so it is very easy to get around. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Splah out and book a room with access to the Executive Club - well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmes30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathlene M, Guest Experience Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear pmes30,


Thank you for choosing Sofitel Macau for your visit to the city in May and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure to read that your had enjoyed the services and facilities in the hotel during your stay. We also appreciate your kind comments on the service provided by our Club Sofitel Ambassadors especially Diego, Nikkole, Mary Jane and Liezl as well as the housekeeping team. Your feedback had been shared with them and they were delighted to receive such compliment, very eager to welcome you back to the hotel.

On another note, we are sorry to hear that you were not fully pleased with the restaurants especially with Le Chinois, something that we wish to understand better. Your feedback, both positive and constructive is greatly appreciated and of immense value to us. They enable us to continuously understand the level of our guest satisfaction as well as to constantly improve the standards at the restaurant. I would of course appreciate if you can provide us further details regarding your restaurant experience by writing to me directly at kathlene.marin@accor.com.

Thank you once again especially for your high recommendation of the hotel and we look forward to your next visit.


Yours sincerely,

Kathlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,943
    1,131
    244
    75
    53
See reviews for
797
1,422
246
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is a trip to celebrate my fiancé's birthday in Macau. We read he comment in tripadvisor and found this hotel with very high rating. Now, we can confirm this is a fact!!!
The staff there are very helpful and friendly. The supervisor, GiGi, free upgraded us to a very spacious suite with sea view in 13/F. We got a in-room Jacuzzi !!! Thanks for her arrangement. We were very happy to stay in the hotel room and had a relax time.
Ponte 16 provide Hermes bathing gel and hair care products to guests in suite room... haha... they all smell very nice.
They also sent my fiancé a birthday cake at night =)
It was a mango mousse cake, at the beginning, we didn't have any expectation on this cake... but after the first spoon... we couldn't stop
The buffet breakfast there was very nice too with a great variety of choices. I love macaroon there very much XD yummy

Room Tip: Higher floors have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathlene M, Guest Experience Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Sophia L,


Thank you for choosing Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16 for this very special occasion. We are very pleased to know that your expectations were met by our Ambassadors.

We are also glad to know that you loved the room and the luxurious Hermes amenities. And oh, the mango cake! In fact this is also one of my personal favorites from all the lovely cake our Chef makes. This and the macaroons are very indulging!

We hope that you had enough time to enjoy the other facilities in the hotel like the pool, our exclusive restaurants, and our So Spa. If you hadn’t, then there’s a good reason to come back soon!

Looking forward to your next visit.


P.S. Thank you for sharing those lovely photos.



Warm regards,

Kathlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

I was stayed at Macao sofritel of Ponte 16 Mansion Black Galaxy, it has one bedroom with big living room, 10 people dining table, in-house karaoke, Sauna and big jacuzzi, very luxury, also has private swimming pool only for mansion guests and executive lounge. It's good for party.
Costed 3,800 HKD per night in week end.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anabela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathlene M, Guest Experience Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Anabela H,


Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Sofitel Macau on your recent visit to the city and for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the mansion and appreciate your descriptive reference to the facilities inside the room.

We hope to see you again at Sofitel Macau in the near future.

Life is magnifique!


Yours sincerely,

Kathlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

No regrets for my wife and I for choosing the sea-facing unit at the 17th floor, since we could still enjoy city view when taking breakfast at the 17th floor Club Sofitel. The Breakfast and High Tea is good and Evening Cocktail has good choices.
The room / bathroom is well maintained, clean and comfortable.

The world class customer orientated service demonstrated by this hotel staff from different level still leaves me a very good impression.

We had a great time exploring Macau, thank again to Catherine, Nikkole, Mary Joy, Sandy & Bill (Bellboy) at the Club Sofitel ... I knew that these guys love their job so much that makes SOFITEL AT MACAU PONTE 16 a traveller most prefered choice in Macau.

Room Tip: If possible, suggest to choose the Seaview unit since the 17th floor Club Sofitel dining area is fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Edtan9783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathlene M, Guest Experience Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Edtan9783,


Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Sofitel Macau and for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

It is nice to note that you were extremely pleased with our facilities and the service provided to you by our Ambassadors, in particular the Club Sofitel team. Our Ambassadors take pride in creating memorable experiences for our guests therefore your kind feedback is very much appreciated and it is always encouraging for the team to receive such great feedback.

We hope to be of service to you again on your next visit to Macau.

Life is magnifique!


Warm regards,

Kathlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

On our second visit to Macau, this French influenced hotel met all our expectations. The location was unusual in that the hotel stands alone, on the other end of the central street that runs through old Macau. This is the other end away from the city casinos (Wynn, Sands, Grand Lisboa). It was a 5 minute walk to Senado Square, so well situated.
It is on the water and our 16th floor room looked across the water to China. The room decor was clean and modern and the TV above the bath was appreciated.
We particularly enjoyed the French touches including the many huge flower arrangements throughout the hotel. The breakfast was a stand out and I couldn't resist the assortment of breads and cheeses. My wife appreciated the l'occitane bathroom.
There is a smokey, very Chinese casino in the basement with an entrance from the street.

Room Tip: Go high for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colahman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathlene M, Guest Experience Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Colahman,


Thank you for choosing Sofitel Macau for your visit to the city last month and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are glad that your enjoyed your stay with us particularly the room, the view overlooking China, and the wide selection we have at Mistral buffet restaurant. We do hope that you managed to visit most of the tourist attractions within walking distance to the hotel.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Macau.

Life is magnifique!


Yours sincerely,

Kathlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

It's our first time visiting Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16. Our highlight of the trip was the Privé French Restaurant. We didn't want to go out for dinner so we booked the restaurant at 8pm. It's a Sunday and the restaurant didn't have any booking except us so we had the entire place by ourselves. The waiter who served us was called Mr. Robinson Goopio Eltagon. He was very polite and his service was outstanding. We ordered a salad, oysters and a 2 person person of beef. We got a complementary pea soup which was hot and served with a ice cold carrot mash in the middle. Then the salad was made infront of you with all the ingredients that you can see. The beef was surely the best! It was cooked around 80% and was pan-fried infront of us until medium rare. Then the side vegetables was cooked with the beef juices left. Mr. Robinson served it in such a artistic way and we were really impressed. At the end we were so full but he have us a a complementary dessert too. The whole dining experience was very friendly and professional. I would recommend this restaurant to my friends.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penguinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathlene M, Guest Experience Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Penguinl,


Thank you for choosing Sofitel Macau for your recent visit to the city and for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure reading your feedback and glad that you enjoyed your dining experience at Privé restaurant especially the service provided to you by Robinson. Your kind feedback will definitely be shared with him.

Thank you once again for your thoughtful review and comments and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Macau.

Life is magnifique!


Yours sincerely,

Kathlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We followed the reviews and upgraded to the Club level. We had a fabulous view of the city--quite wonderful at night especially. The club level gives lots of goodies, including free breakfast on the 17th floor or the main eating floor on 6. We ate on 6 and it was one of the best breakfast buffets we have had anywhere in the world. The bathroom is very upscale with glass between the bedroom with a curtain that comes down. Occitane amenities. Room very well appointed. Club level gives you afternoon snack and free drinks at cocktail time. Only stayed 2 nights and wish I could have stayed another two. Walking distance to the best sights--Sensado square and ruins of St Pauls. Also a stop point for the on/off bus that goes around town in an hour. Downside as indicated in other reviews: the shuttlebus from the ferry seems to take longer than it does for other hotels. Staff helpful. This is the best Sofitel that I have been in and I frequent them quite a bit!!

Room Tip: ask for high up city view. Pay extra for 17th floor club level
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKW52245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathlene M, Guest Experience Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear AKW52245,


Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Sofitel Macau and for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

It is nice to note that you were extremely pleased with our facilities and the helpfulness of our Sofitel Ambassadors. Your kind feedback is very much appreciated and it is always encouraging to receive such commend.

As you may have seen in the previous reviews, we would like to mention that the shuttle bus is managed by the owning company Ponte 16 and not by Sofitel Macau. Nonetheless, we apologize for the disappointing experience with the shuttle bus service. Your feedback has been shared with the owning company for review.

Thank you once again and we look forward to your next visit.

Life is magnifique!


Warm regards,

Kathlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
4.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
3.8 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Macau
Crowne Plaza Macau
#15 of 95 in Macau
187 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#23 of 95 in Macau
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16

Property: Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Address: Rua do Visconde Paco de Arcos, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Macau
#9 Family Hotel in Macau
#10 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#14 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 4.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on Macau's picturesque waterfront, Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 is located in the center of the city and amidst the charming historical quarter with walking distance to St. Paul's Ruins and A-Ma Temple! The complex of restaurant, bar, recreational facilities, meeting and banquet venues, in-house casino and MJ Gallery ensures that Sofitel has created an exquisite world for lovers of "art de vivre". The hotel has an easy access to the major points of entry into Macau and offers its guests complimentary transfers to the Macau ferry terminal and GongBei border gate on the Ponte 16 casino shuttle buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 Hotel Macau
Sofitel Ponte 16
Macau Peninsula Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing