We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”
Review of Rio Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rio Hotel & Casino
Ranked #31 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Reviewed 4 March 2010

I would like to echo the views of the previous reviewers. The Rio is very good. We have stayed here for 2 nights and still have another 2 to go. But so far, not a glitch. The room is big, comfortable and well maintained. Service is prompt. The staff know what they are talking about. The location is good. While it is in town, it is not that near to the major casinos, so less traffic. About 20 mins walk away to the Largo do Senado. There are several cheap and decent restaurants nearby.

There is a "sauna" in the hotel which appears to be quite popular with the male tourists but it is not the in your face kind of thing. The casino is a very small outfit, so it is better for people who are not in Macau just to gamble.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aldo_couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2010

Stayed there for about one week. A bit unconvinience with internet connection. Other things are very good.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
Thank nguyentv61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

The Hotel Room was Huge and I mean Huge. Two Beds, one queen size and one Full size. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. Huge bathroom. Large shower and great size bathtub. Really enjoyed the large room. Their bar was interesting beccause it only sold Beer, no hard liquor. Used the Rio coupon, buy one beer and get one free. Didn't use casino. Good area, HSBC bank right next to hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Art800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 11 November 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 November 2009

We stayed 2 nights here and were very pleased with the hotel. We had a huge room (supposed to be "standard") with high quality fixtures and bedding. Tea making facilities provided. There is an extensive choice at buffet breakfast. There is a good sized pool (open sides but covered roof) at the top of the hotel and a small gym.

It's near the ferry terminal and close enough to walk to Fishermen's Wharf which is a sort of theme park with European style buildings and restaurants and shops. There are also plenty of cheaper Macao/Portuguese restaurants nearby if you think the hotel is a bit expensive. We did not use the Casino but it's not intrusive unlike some of the ones in Las Vegas.

Internet was very expensive (so often is in hotels - why?) and we used an internet cafe in the town instead. The main drawback is that it's quite a long walk from here to the historic centre of Macau but taxis and buses are cheap.

We really enjoyed Macao and loved its European/Chinese fusion both culturally and culinary. We also found it very cheap for local shopping when compared with mainland China and in particular Hong Kong. It seemed very safe and easy to get around in

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenakitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

We were there for one night. The room we were staying in was huge and soo comfortable. We were greeted by friendly staff. They were helpful and helpful. A highly recommended hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summerinsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 10 September 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#26 of 94 in Macau
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#22 of 94 in Macau
1,165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Emperor Hotel
Emperor Hotel
#61 of 94 in Macau
1,335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Hotel & Casino

Address: No.33 Rua Luis Gonzaga Gomes, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Casino Hotel in Macau
#19 Spa Hotel in Macau
#29 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range: £72 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Rio Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Hotel And Casino
Rio Hotel Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing