We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok nothing more!”
Review of Waldo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waldo Hotel
Ranked #69 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Just ok nothing more!”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

They gave us a free upgrade which was good but apart from that everything else was so so. The suite room was spacious but very dated. Breakfast was quite average. The English of the staff was very poor which is normally ok as with some hand gestures you generally get the point, but they really couldn't grasp any of it... Even when pointing to an item on the menu they couldn't understand. Would recommend elsewhere for an above average stay in Macau! Also don't get their dodgy taxi, he overcharged us by over double!

Room Tip: The photos look much better than the rooms se be wary!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgia1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    30
    16
    10
    1
See reviews for
9
12
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed on 7-Aug for 1 night. Reception on 1st floor with no signage on ground floor. Check in was fast, the room was just get ready at 17:00, luckily I did not get there early. Tidy and neat room, size of room was obviously less than 40sqm by comparing with the photo and descriptions I saw at Agoda booking page. Emergency floor plan show there are different sizes of rooms, while room 1510 is the second smallest one. Although a bit out of expectation, that will be fine for me, because I know I would not spend much time in room when choosing such kind of hotel, otherwise one should find a resort instead. Only paid LAN package was available and no wi-fi. Overall stay was fine and the money still worth.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leetybobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leipzig
Level Contributor
142 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

LIked to stay here.

Booked online at their website.

Checkin: Fast, easy, friendly
They showed me my room.

Room:
Nice room, clean, good bed, nice bath room.

Sleep:
Quiet, perfect.

Location: Close to the ferry terminal and the main strip in Macau.
--> Totally fine
Also close to saunas and spas.

Value:
Very good value. You get a good and clean hotel for less money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMG001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I stayed one nite here in a deluxe room on the 15th floor in early Aug 2013. Room was pleasant and spacious but location wise, it was far from the city area where the bustle was. It was however near to the outer ferry terminal by public bus, about 10 minutes ride. Reminder: No shuttle bus provided by Waldo hotel though. You can hitch a free ride from the opposite Sands Hotel. I was returning late at nite from Sands when I was stumped by how to cross the long road (with railing divider) opposite to Waldo, while the overhead bridge was far away (not good for seniors), when I saw someone crossing the road, then I realised that there was a small open gate in the road divider.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
138 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Have been staying at Waldo Hotel for a long time already and we have always been given a nice spacious room.Room was big,not a fancy hotel but alright if you're spending most of the day out. Shuttle buses to and from the ferry pier can be reached opposite the hotel at Sands.This hotel is fairly priced on off peak days but quite expensive on holidays and weekends.Overall it's a good place to crash especially if you're out mostly!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalie623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madurai
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

stay is part of thomus cook's hong kong surprice plan. the hotel is behind galaxy.we stayed in the room between 11 pm to 9 am only.flawless amenities and services.breakfast was extraordinary and excellent varities.this is one of the best hotels in our entire package.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank subansankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Rooms are good , Service is slow. Staff have very little knowledge of English, very difficult to converse with any one in Macao. Near to Venetian and Galaxy hotels. Little choice for Indian veggies at breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rahul71_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
2.6 mi away
Inn Hotel Macau
Inn Hotel Macau
#53 of 95 in Macau
69 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rocks Hotel
The Rocks Hotel
#36 of 95 in Macau
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Guia Hotel
Guia Hotel
#57 of 95 in Macau
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Metropark Hotel
Metropark Hotel
#48 of 95 in Macau
569 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#26 of 95 in Macau
1,307 reviews
0.8 mi away
Metropole Hotel Macau
Metropole Hotel Macau
#44 of 95 in Macau
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldo Hotel

Property: Waldo Hotel
Address: No.1071 Avenida de Amizade, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Waldo Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waldo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing