We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine, but not for me!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Camping Les Champs Blancs
Ranked #1 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Agde
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fine, but not for me!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This was my first experience of staying on a campsite and while it's what many want on their holiday, it's not for me. I was open- minded but the main thing that put me off was midges/ biting insects..... I had brought repellant sand creams but they were no match, so much so that 4 days from the end of our 9 day stay we contemplated leaving early but as it coincided with Bastille day, it didn't work out.
We stayed in a 5 berth cabin. On arrival we didn't think it was overly clean, the floors were particularly dirty and we weren't content until we went shopping for cleaning fluids and utensils. I didn't envisage spending the first day on site washing and cleaning !
We loved the freedom of making our own food and going to the very good pools but I'm afraid that's where my love-in with campsites ends!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MajRoadTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    196
    76
    18
    6
See reviews for
310
90
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This campsite could be so much nicer than it is, the pool area is good, shop is very very basic, drinks, bread and a few tins etc, but not much else.

The pitches are small and very very stoney, if your coming in a tent you will need several layers to place under your tent,rock pegs and a very big hammer are essential. You will also need a big brush to sweep the stones off the pitch or risk damage to your feet. No care or maintenance of the pitches have taken place whilst we have been on site.

The private sanitary units have been very useful, to not have to queue up in the overcrowded toilet blocks has been a godsend.

If your looking for total immersion into french camping then this is perfect, but if you want to join in with the evening entertainment, pool side activities, or anything which involves any english language, then this campsite is not for you. Teenagers are not very well catered for. Football courts, table tennis and the one basic tennis court are the sole areas suitable for them.

The biggest problem in this campsite, is the noise, we are still on site and positioned within clear earshot of the main road which is continual traffic 24hrs a day, this is something you blank out, but the boy racers/joyriders who frequent the supermarket which is very close every single night/early morning, dough-nutting, beeping horns in tune and generally being a pain in the bum. Maybe a phone call to the police by security or reception, might help enhance the campsites business. Noisy neighbours are ignored by security and after several complaints not much has changed

This campsite has potential, so much of it, but it seems to want to just plod along..

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Symon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We are still here. A total stay of almost 3 weeks. We have travelled to campsites over France and Italy. This is not 4 star. Needs repair work: tennis court, multi purpose pitch full of sand ( so many bloody knees), paving around the reception and toilet block area, pitches not maintained lots of big stones and leaves not cleaned up ( kept blowing into awning). Spent an hour sweeping up stone b4 we could set up camp. Entertainment may have been good, but all in French and far to loud so with limited French we gave up. So if you like to enjoy entertainment, I wouldn't bother with this site. Pitches are different sizes( although same charge) campsite noise stops at midnite. But that doesn't stop guests talking loudly at 3 in the morning. Always seems to be noise just outside the gates. It could be 4 star, but it's not. It could be great, but over priced. Great location if you have a bike or car. We had a bash at all the cycle routes. Some lovely beaches near by and the peaceful canal de midi. Also beautiful historic town of Agde.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Nealoliver01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Just coming to the end of our four week stay at Les Champ Blancs in our motorhome. This is the third year we have been here and most of the people here seem to be returning after previous visits. Hardly a surprise with the private sanitaires, fabulous pool area and mega-helpful staff. The restaurant opened earlier this year and we enjoyed two meals there.
Interesting area and plenty of places to visit. Very handily placed a ten minute walk away from a very large (Hyper) supermarket, and beaches and Agde town not far away.

Room Tip: Come in April, May, June or September to avoid the crowds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CoventrykidMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnforth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We have just returned from a 3 week stay in our motorhome at Les Champs Blancs in Agde. We had originally intended staying 1 week but we found the facilities so good that we just had to stay for our complete holiday. The site is ideally placed for beach and town particularly for those of us with motorhomes, as they are within 2 km walking or cycling. The beaches are superb, the small quaint town of Agde has great character and the Hypermarket is easily accessible on foot.
The site itself has private shower rooms on some pitches at no extra cost with Caravan club camping cheques, which of course spoiled us for any other campsite as it is so easy and comfortable to have your own toilet and shower.The staff at reception were very pleasant and helpful and spoke good English.The swimming pool, or rather pools as there were several, were fabulous, warm, clean and plenty of space to swim with other areas for the children.
We were very happy to find the area retains its French identity whilst comfortably accepting foreign tourists and we enjoyed the historic celebrations in the town over two weekends. There was so much to do we had to postpone our boat trip on the Canal du Midi until the next time.
A bientot et merci beaucoup.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, UK
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We stayed here in a mobile home 'luxe' for 2 weeks at the beginning of September 2011. The accomodation was spotless when we arrived and very comfortable with plenty of room inside and out. The only thing that was lacking was an oven but barbeques are allowed. The covered area outside gave some welcome shade from the midday sun. The site itself was well maintained. I would suggest that it would be very difficult to keep grassy pitches up to standard (as was commented on in a previous review) due to the hot, dry conditions. The pool area was excellent and we spent many hours here. We tried pizza from the snack bar (the champs blancs 'special') which was very tasty and reasonably priced. The restaurant looked very good and the prices seemed reasonable, although we didn't eat there. The reception staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful and speak very good English. The site is very conveniently located near to supermarkets (we preferred the nearby intermarche to the super u, which was rather expensive), Agde, Cap d'Adge and the Etang du Thau. A very pleasant and relaxing holiday, would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: I would recommend a mobile home with air conditioning in the height of summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveFrance08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

Visited Les Champs Blancs August 2009 after seeing brochure and pool complex. Plenty of shade and pretty planting but , , , ALL the pitches are covered in hardcore/stones - disasterous for large tent with sewn in ground sheet - had to buy floor mats te be able to walk round tent bare foot and rock pegs to anchor the tent. Insufficient communal toilets and showers/washing areas mean queues morning and evening. Busy road is noisy at night . Pool complex was good and local area is well worth visiting - so we made the best of the situation. Worst 4 star campsite we've been on in ten years - be warned - Much better sites for the same price in nearby resorts.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank guyuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agde
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cap Pirate
Hotel Cap Pirate
#1 of 28 in Cap-d'Agde
251 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gil de France
Gil de France
#4 of 28 in Cap-d'Agde
202 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Golf Cap D'Agde
Mercure Golf Cap D'Agde
#3 of 28 in Cap-d'Agde
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Les Grenadines
Hotel Les Grenadines
#2 of 28 in Cap-d'Agde
401 reviews
5.9 mi away
Camping Domaine de la Dragonniere
2.7 mi away
Siblu Villages - La Carabasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Les Champs Blancs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Les Champs Blancs

Property: Camping Les Champs Blancs
Address: 76 route de Rochelongue, 34300, Agde, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Agde
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Agde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Camping Les Champs Blancs 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Camping Les Champs Blancs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping Les Champs Blancs Hotel Cap-d`Agde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing