We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do it!”
Review of Hotel La Galiote

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Galiote
Ranked #35 of 35 Hotels in Agde
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Such a shame! Such a beautiful ancient building and very sweet staff but worst hotel I've ever stayed in. Dirty, burn holes on sheets; electricity didn't work safely; shower flooded; sink broken; toilet didn't lock - we made a list that took up a page! Never again!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Poody2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

This hotel-restaurant is situated in a classified building which was the palace of Bishop of Agde in the 17th century. The new owners are from Paris and fell in love with the area on multiple vacations, before deciding to invest in this venture. They are currently having difficulty convincing the local authorities to allow them to redecorate the premises (they are not even allowed to clean the stonework!!!). If anyone knows some influential people in the town, you might want to put in a good word for these professionals, who just wish to restore the property to its former glory. The food was reasonably priced and tasty. Most of all the service was friendly and personalised.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Eli D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

It is kind of an odd hotel. Granted that. We stayed in room #27 for 59 euro and got a huge, intensely clean room, with a massive terrace with a lovely view. Also a shower area and toilet at opposite parts of the room that were simply so small that all you could do was laugh. But it's an interesting building. The terrace was more or less where we spent time although it would have been more pleasant with the cigarette butts cleaned out of the planters! Agde is where you stay (if you must) before going on to the Cap d'Agde or if, as in our case, you're on a train and trying to get to the Musee de l'Ephebe.

I wouldn't necessarily stay again, but I wouldn't avoid it either. It was kind of like student accomodations in a hostel, but still ... spacious and clean. Desk guy was friendly. Building was a maze of staircases, but we figured it out!

Room Tip: Room 27 with the terrace is best. So to speak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alecto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Absolutely fantastic building, wonderful location overlooking the river, fabulous view.
We had the misfortune to eat here.
Do not EVER eat here.
I should of known better. When wqlking through to the restaurant at 7.30pm to see the next days cocoa pops already out, mind you after eating here I reckon it was that morning breakfasts leftovers.
We ordered house rose; it was warm, asked for ice which arrived five minutes later.
We ordered from the 16 euro set menu, which on paper looked good. Boy were we mistake.
My starter was salade de campaigne, which was mainly shredded iceberg lettuce and sweetcorn, you allways know you're introuble when there is sweetcorn, and a bare square inch of extremely nice pate. My husband had traditional soup de poisson, out of a bottle.
Our waitress kept asking us to order puddings, to give the chef time to make them from scratch.
So we did, thinking it a bit odd as we were the only people in the restaurant, but we did.
My main course was steak, which was delicous,however the 'seasonal vegetables,' a very overcooked soggy cauliflower rissole completely over flavoured with nutmeg was disgusting as was the half grilled tomato with cheese.
My husbands fish was fine, the 'seasonal vegetables', disgusting.
To be fair we were asked after each course how we found the food and being English we said it was 'ok' but just ok.
Then the puddings arrived, which we had been told that the chef made freshly to order.
The chocolate fondant that my husband ordered wasn't available and my creme brulee that was apparently the house speciality and absolutely fantastic was out of a packet.
We gave up and asked for the bill.When asked if anything was wrong, we told her, to be told that we were the only people who had complained about the food, the night before the restaurant had been completely full, this might of had something to do with there being a concert on the river and the restaurant had the best seats. She kept coming back to tell us we were wrong.
A very unpleasant experience.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarah1066_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

A completely disgusting place! First we had to pay in advance. Now we know why. At first we thought the roomwas ok and it looked clean. Simple but ok. We had dinner in one of the nice restaurants at the harbor. However then came the worst nnight of our lives. Our neighbours were partying the whole night. And when we got some sleep we were woken up by a strange itching. When we turned on the light the bed was full of bed bugs and probably fleas. We left the place at 5 in the morning and the owner even did not give us any refund! Do NEVER visit this place!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Meister81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lagaliote, Propriétaire at Hotel La Galiote, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2011

hello,
We have buy the hotel and the restaurant 2 month ago, and we have resolved the problem in the room, and we proposed you to give a look, we offer you a week-end for you and your wife when you want, so you can see the difference,
call us for more informations 04 67 94 45 58
thanks ....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

this place may well have changed completely since we visited, but it seemed to have two functions. the first was to host an S&M gathering in the cellar. the second was to accomodate swingers. family hotel?

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wanderersw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Martial S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agde hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Patriarche
Hotel du Patriarche
#19 of 35 in Agde
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Araur
Hotel Araur
#11 of 35 in Agde
58 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Chaumiere
La Chaumiere
#23 of 35 in Agde
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Grand Cap
Hotel Grand Cap
#14 of 35 in Agde
93 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Helios
Hotel Helios
#16 of 28 in Cap-d'Agde
99 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Opal
Hotel Opal
#11 of 28 in Cap-d'Agde
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Galiote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Galiote

Address: 5 Place Jean Jaures, 34300, Agde, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Agde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 35 Hotels in Agde
Price Range: £40 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Galiote 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel La Galiote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing