We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and ambiance!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Peon

Casa Peon
Ranked #12 of 13 Restaurants in Celestun
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
206 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great food and ambiance!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

Just returned from a visit to Celestun for the first time. As it is not quite summer, there are not many tourists, so now is the time to go. Casa Peon is located at the end of the main street, but worth the visit! The interior is decorated with interesting murals of the five continents and objets d'art. Quaint but clan and bright. We were greeted by one of the owners, Jorn, who showed us around the premises. For the time being there are only two guest rooms, modestly priced and nicely furnished. AC is available for those hot summer days.

We had planned a lunch on the beach but opted instead for a couple of very cold beers, an order of shrimp ceviche and an order of nachos with cheese and arrachera. Both dishes were nicely presented and sufficient in size. The arrachera on the nachos was in tiny chunks and very tender. The bill was just over 200 pesos...a real bargain.

Hopefully readers will take the time to visit Celestun before the crowds convene in July and August. One note....the launches are running, but there are not too many flamingos (most are in Progreso or further east right now). Drop by and see Jorn and the staff...you will be glad you did and so will they!

FYI...if you are in Merida, do NOT take the road that leads to Celestun by the new Walmart. Go further south to the new highway and you will avoid several of the small towns and many topes...LOL

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RegD1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    7
    7
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
310 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A nice experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

The last time we visited Casa Peon, they had a more upscale menu - this time, it was more casual but still very good. We stopped by for lunch and because they were closed, they asked us to come back at 730pm for dinner. We did just that and they were waiting for us -- we were shown to a table in the patio area where they showed American rock videos in our honor. The owner and employees are charming and very anxious to please. We will always dine here when in Celestun.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cottonhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Peaks, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We frequently eat here when in Celestun and have always had great food and service. Highly recommend it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank rogerandchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Ga
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Celestun is a sleepy town on the west coast of the Yucatan Penninsula. It is getting a lot of attention because of the opportunity to see Flamingos in droves during their winter mating season. Meridanos went to this area for the beautiful beachs and great seafood restaurants on the beach. On our most recent visit we checked into the hotel Mangalar ( a relatively new hotel) and decided to go into town and see what was going on. In previous visits at the Eco Paraiso this town closed up at dark and there was little to do.
We saw a warm light from a building and decided to investigate. This was the Casa Peon that had the restaurant restored . We met Horst ,the owner, and after a few glasses of wine, ate a delicious dinner and had a terrific conversation with Horst. Horst owns the hotel Toucan in the Riviera Maya. The building was being restored but there was evidence of the beautiful pasta tile floors and high beamed ceilings. We were there off season so we were the only people there and had plenty of time to explore. Horsts goal is to build casitas for sale in the rear of the building and has two rooms that were lovely for those that want to spend the night. As word of Celustun spreads and more people go there, this will be a wonderful place to have a meal, stay and have interesting conversations with like minded travelers. This area has beautiful beaches, 3 lighthouses and spectacular wildlife and birds. A little something for everyone. A bad road with beautiful scenery will let you take a short cut to Uxmal through some very interesting Maya towns along the way. Other than Eco Paraiso this is not for the luxury crowd but will make for a wonderful experience if you go.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank devineM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant, Lounge and Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Celestun with its long white empty beaches is the best place to relax, and Casa Peon is the best place in Celestun to sleep, eat and make new friends! Very inspiring surrounding, created by an artist. Good food at fair prices. The hosts are very helpful and assist you in just about everything you need as a traveller.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Peon also viewed

 
Celestun, Yucatan
Celestun, Yucatan
 

Been to Casa Peon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing