We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal but basic”
Review of Sol y Mar

Sol y Mar
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Celestun
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sol y Mar
Ranked #5 of 9 Celestun B&B and Inns
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great deal but basic”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I stayed there about 10 years ago when the price was $16 a night. No hot water but the place was clean. While walking around town one night the town lost all its electricity for about 2 hrs. Everyone came out on the streets and walked around to moon light.
I went to a local restaurant to eat and tried to cash a travelers check but he couldn't so he walked me to the fish monger up the beach who cashed it for me. At that time there was only a couple nice (over $50/night) hotels and NO bank in the town. It was cool to watch the fishermen net fish on the beach every morning. I wish I could have stayed there forever.

Room Tip: If you want more than basic find a different place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Foders suggests this as a budget hotel, which it is. It is barely a Hostel. Beds are hard. No hot water. Owner was very friendly but Drinking a bit. The place is for sale.... $100000..
Best it be torn down

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank moven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Celestun hotels

Cancun
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Spend one night at this hotel. The hotel housed many families that seemed to be living here rather permanent. They eat their meals in the hallways. No hot water, infested with ants, dogs barking in the hallway during the night. The electricity was off from 8pm until we left at noon the next day. The toilet leaked water onto the bathroom floor whenever it was flushed. It seemed more like a cheap apartment building than a hotel. Would not recommend it. There are much better hotels in town for less money,

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Find_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havelock, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

With not too many hotel options and most charging 900++ Pesos per night, (which we thought was unrealistic for Celestun) we found Sol y Mar, and we are glad we did.

The rooms were a bit small, and the rest of the facilities may have looked very basic, but we enjoyed our single night stay.

The hotel is located at a few steps from the main beach restaurants and same distance to Celestun’s main square.

Next morning we drove to the bridge where the boats are based to see the flamingos, a highly recommended experience.

Overall we had a great time in Celestun and a good stay at Sol y Mar.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tinnwalkker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Celestun hotels
6.1 mi away
Hotel Xixim
Hotel Xixim
#1 of 2 in Celestun
340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Lilia Celestun
Posada Lilia Celestun
#3 of 3 in Celestun
21 reviews
4.7 mi away
Playa Maya Resorts
Playa Maya Resorts
#2 of 3 in Celestun
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cabanas Camping Ria Celestun
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Julio
Hotel San Julio
#3 of 9 in Celestun
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol y Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol y Mar

Property: Sol y Mar
Address: Calle 12 No. 104 entre 11 y 13, Celestun, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Celestun
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Celestun
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing