We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birding paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Celestun
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa de Celeste Vida
Ranked #1 of 10 Celestun B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This three-unit casa has just the right balance for people with a sense of adventure who also like their comforts. Accommodating Canadian hosts work hard to make you feel at home at their calm, secluded beach, with two sit-on-top kayaks to explore the coastline when it's not too windy.
The town of Celestun is a 15-minute walk away over a potholed dirt road or via the beach. There you will find great seafood and street stalls for fruit and vegetables but limited restaurants open on week nights. The locals are friendly, the village feels safe and most visitors are Mexicans from the nearby city of Merida. ATM machines work only sometimes, so bring lots of cash.
The casa hosts can line up nature and archaeological tours with local guides who have an impressive knowledge of birds.
The casa's security system is a handful of adorable dogs, but if you dislike dogs, they might annoy you. One suggestion for improvement: bicycle repairs would make the trip to town easier.
This must be the best place to stay in Celestun -- and it's gay friendly.

Room Tip: Casita Flora is a bit more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesbianCouple2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed in Casa de Celeste Vida in February 2014. The directions on the website were perfect. As soon as you step off the bus, your experience begins. We got into a taxi, which wasn't a regular taxi. This was call a moto-taxi. A motorcycle where rear wheel was removed, and it its place was a home made metal frame with two wheels which was welded to the rear of the motorcycle. This effectively became a tricycle, where there were benches to sit on. It was hilarious and maximum speed was about 10 kms/hr. You had to hang on for dear life. Even though there are no house numbers, we got to our destination without any problems. The property is beautifully kept, the location on the beach is to die for. If you love to wonder the beach and beachcomb, you can't miss coming here. My biggest dilemma was which shells to leave behind. There are no waves, so you can swim with no worries and the ocean is so refreshing. The sunsets and sunrises are gorgeous. Karen and Wanda were the perfect hosts. The accommodation was beautiful, cooking in the kitchen was a dream. The ladies would put up hammocks under the palapa on the beach daily, so you could just hand out there all day. They helped to arrange our eco tour to view the flamingos, which you cannot miss if you come here. That was an unforgettable experience. If you are looking for a true Mexican feel, the village of Celestun is it. You have to experience it. We will be returning next year, we had the best time. Thank you ladies for a life long memory........

Room Tip: If you want your own kitchen, you need to rent the casita, otherwise you have to share a kitchen whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mila66491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed in Casita Flora, which was very comfortable with a kitchenette and only steps from the beach. Karen and Wanda were very helpful, providing excellent visitor information and organising us a great tour of the Biosphere, and generally making us feel very at home. Definitely a great spot to get away from it all!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank elainejh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Casa de Celeste Vida in Celestun and really enjoyed it.
Let's start with Karen, a great host, very friendly, helpful (provide excellent tips and recommendations).
The lodging is good: not big, but convenient and very clean with all you need of comfort. The website is very accurate.
The "garden" is spacious, and then you have the beach and the sea just for you! And you can borrow kayaks (great in the morning when there are no waves).
Overall great, relaxing, serene atmosphere. I absolutely recommend.

Regarding Celestun, it's a laid back, quiet little village, a completely different experience than most of what you would experience in Yucatan. We enjoyed it, but we like genuine / typical places. Regarding the biosphere, it is definitely interesting, but if you are after flamingos, check before: our guidebook (the LP) was completely wrong about the best months to observe flamingos - saying that May was a good month, except that in May, there aren't any left!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LondonVibrations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We spent our second consecutive year at Celeste Vida and it is a fabulous, quiet, relaxing, well maintained property with great proprietors - Kenn, Karen and Wanda - along with their welcome committee of cute dogs - Dora, Scooter, Short Stack and company.

If you are looking for a beautiful quiet location with the beach at your doorstep - then this is the place for you! It's off the beaten path and a really nice change from the hustle and bustle of big city and resorts. A must see tour is the majestic flamingoes tour- walking through the mangroves and seeing the salt flats are an added benefit :-) The wifi signal is weak in the Maravilla Apartment - but if you are taking this type of trip you probably do not want to be connected to the world wide web! LOL!!

Fresh fish and seafood allow you to eat like kings and queens - and take their advice and soak everything in their recommended solution before cutting and eating. You can find nice baking and crispy tortilla chips (which go so well with guacamole or pico de gallo) in town.

Bring along bug spray (we used Watkins bug lotion as it works so well) as the chiquistas (no see 'ems) can leave you with some itchy welts - but they are only a problem at dusk or if there isnt a wind.

Always felt safe and comfortable in the little fishing town of Celestun. Thanks to the terrific trio for their warm hospitality and excellent accomodations - their property is indeed a little piece of Heaven!

Room Tip: The Apartment Maravilla is well worth the price - a little more expensive than the casitas - but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pamela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Kenn and Karen were wonderful hosts. We stayed for 3 nights in the apartment. Very clean and well equipped. They were very helpful with restaurant recommendations and other interests in the area. We also enjoyed interacting with their doggies. The beach here is magnificant - totally deserted and clean, with clear water. We thoroughly enjoyed the flamingo tour - we took a boat from the beach side. We very much enjoyed our visit to Celestun, and would highly recommend staying at Casa de Celeste Vida.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Fuimos toda la familia, 2 adolescentes, mi esposo y yo, a los hijos les encanto el lugar. Las playas deliciosas, mil conchitas para recolectar, el agua del mar deliciosa, El hotel a unos cuantos pasos del mar. El puebo amigable. Comida rica. Los dueños, una pareja canadiense muy amables. Muy recomendable para familias o parejas. We went with 2 teens, my husband and I. The kids loved the place, The beaches were really nice, a lot of shells to collect, the sea was phenomenal. The hotel was just steps away from the sea, the town very friendly, delicious food. The owners, a Canadian couple really nice. We recommend it for families or couples.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaToledoAvelar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Celestun hotels
5.2 mi away
Hotel Xixim
Hotel Xixim
#1 of 2 in Celestun
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castillito Kin-Nah
Castillito Kin-Nah
#2 of 10 in Celestun
48 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel San Julio
Hotel San Julio
#3 of 10 in Celestun
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel & Villas Playa Maya Resorts
1 mi away
Posada Lilia Celestun
Posada Lilia Celestun
#3 of 3 in Celestun
26 reviews
1 mi away
Cabanas Camping Ria Celestun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Celeste Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Celeste Vida

Address: 49 E Calle 12, Celestun, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Celestun
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Celestun
Price Range: £53 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Celeste Vida...."Home of Heavenly Life" is a charming guesthouse in Celestun, Mexico on the Gulf of Mexico in the Yucatan Peninsula. Celeste Vida offers three rental suites. Each is uniquely decorated with Mexican flare, has ocean views and is only steps away from a beautiful secluded beach! We are 1 km. from the village of Celestun where you will find a great market for fruits and vegetables, shops and restaurants with abundant seafood dishes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing