We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven (Un pedacito de Cielo)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Celestun
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa de Celeste Vida
Ranked #1 of 9 Celestun B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Merida, Mexico
1 review
“A little piece of heaven (Un pedacito de Cielo)”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My friend, her little five-year old and I just had our second stay at Casa Celeste Vida in Celestún (our first time was two years ago) and we could not be happier with the wondrous experience we had in this little piece of heaven!

As a Yucatecan who takes holidays in Celestún at least twice a year and knows the little village, I can tell you that one of the main attractive features of Casa de Celeste Vida is its convenient location. If a tranquil and peaceful time is what you are after, you will be far enough from the buzz enjoying the sight of an almost-deserted, immaculate sea, the sounds of birds flying by, and the oh-so-refreshing sea-breeze. And if you need to get supplies or food, the place is a mere 15-min walk from the village's plaza, restaurants, and convenience stores, where you can get almost anything you may need. In our stay, we walked by the sea to and from Casa de Celeste four times because our little guy loved getting his feet wet as much as he could. And if you just had a humungous ceviche, the exercise will help you feel better!

One of the main reasons why we decided to stay at Casa de Celeste again was the service. Wanda, one of the three Canadians who run the place, welcomed us as if we were long-time friends. Whenever you need anything or have a question about the room or the Casa in general, either Karen or Wanda will be there for you in no time. If you stumble across Wanda, she will be more than happy to chitchat; otherwise, she is so quiet that you will not even notice her around. She is also the person whom we asked for tips regarding restaurants and things to do in the village (fun and money-wise), and her recommendations always matched all the information I have gathered about Celestún from my many visits. So I can attest to the value of her suggestions, which could ultimately save you hundreds of 'pesos'.

Among the amenities we liked from the place is the communal kitchen, a well-equiped area where you can quietly eat. All you need is there for you to use, so you can quickly and easily cook some eggs or pancakes or bring your own preprepared food from the village. The kitchen also houses their small library with books that are mostly in English. If you are an avid reader like I am and forgot to bring your Kindle or a book of your own, you can take any book you like to read before catching some zzzzs or any other time of your preference.

Even if water is provided in every room, you can purchase bottled water, pop, and even wine and beer from their 'honour bar': you just open the fridge, take whatever you like and 'pay for it' by leaving money inside of a jar; quite convenient if you do not have a car and feel like drinking a cold one whilst resting in a hammock under the palapa. Yes, they have two of them!

Hard as I tried to leave my computer at home, I took it with me because I was expecting a couple of important emails. Luckily, the place has wireless internet available for free. If you need to use it, I suggest you try to do it outside of your room in order to get a fair signal intensity. Since we stayed in Casita Flora, the furthest of the three rooms, the strength of the signal was weak inside. But if you can, take my advice and leave your gadgets aside for an enhanced, stress-free experience!

If you have kids coming with you and love sand, they will be overjoyed for there is plenty of it inside Casa de Celeste (and outside too, of course!). Although there is no pool, this was not an inconvenience because our little guy had a blast in the sea. Older, more adventurous kids may find the kayaks attractive, which are available for you to use for free. Children (and some adults) of all ages may love the dogs Wanda and Karen have. In our opinion, they are a 'bonus' to the experience of staying at Casa de Celeste (how not to love Scooter, Oliver, and the rest of the gang!), but this may not be the case for everyone. Ultimately, they will not bother you.

All in all Casa de Celeste is, in my humble opinion, the best place to stay in Celestún if you want to get some good relaxation. As a local, I know there are cheaper options available that could work for people with a tight budget, but I guarantee you that what you pay in Casa de Celeste is well worth every penny or centavo because you get a great service and a clean and comfortable facility packed in a convenient location. If you have all of that, you will only need to worry about creating some good memories with your love ones.

Erik, Daria and little Sebastien (April 2014).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Egrale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
133
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cancun
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This was our first visit to Casa de Celeste Vida. The property is located directly on the beach in Celestun, Mexico a small fishing village. You come through the front gate to lush vegetation and a beautifully appointed home. Our room had a small kitchenette with everything provided from coffee, spices, dish washing detergent, drinking water even hats and an umbrella in case you forgot to bring those items. There is a well appointed communal kitchen as well for larger groups if you so choose. Sun lounges are available for use on the property as well as the beach. Beach towels are provided.It is a 15 minute walk to town for supplies and several restaurants located on the beach. Karen and Wanda did a great job making us feel welcome and were available for anything needed. Our room and bathroom were squeaky clean. We could not have asked for nicer accommodations to explore this area of Mexico.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cancunfriend069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

What a special place!! Casa de Celeste Vida has it all. Beautiful, clean and inviting rooms, a communal kitchen, hammocks, kayaks and a perfect white sandy beach which is littered with seashells. The town is a mere 15 minute walk away along the coast where you will find delectable restaurants all lining the beach. There are also plenty of opportunities to go on tours and excursions (cenotes, ruins and to see the flamingos). The hosts Karen & Wanda were a pleasure to meet and were very attentive in ensuring a restful and most relaxing vacation. I will certainly be planing a trip back to Celestun. Hopefully sooner than later. It truly is one of my favourite places on earth.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Wife and I spent three short nights in late March and we could not have asked for a better location, room or host. Everything was better than expected from the long beach walks, to the beach, to walking on the beach to town for dinner and back. Safe on all walks and everywhere, everyone friendly and helpful. The web site is right on in everyway. We will be back. Tina/Phil

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This three-unit casa has just the right balance for people with a sense of adventure who also like their comforts. Accommodating Canadian hosts work hard to make you feel at home at their calm, secluded beach, with two sit-on-top kayaks to explore the coastline when it's not too windy.
The town of Celestun is a 15-minute walk away over a potholed dirt road or via the beach. There you will find great seafood and street stalls for fruit and vegetables but limited restaurants open on week nights. The locals are friendly, the village feels safe and most visitors are Mexicans from the nearby city of Merida. ATM machines work only sometimes, so bring lots of cash.
The casa hosts can line up nature and archaeological tours with local guides who have an impressive knowledge of birds.
The casa's security system is a handful of adorable dogs, but if you dislike dogs, they might annoy you. One suggestion for improvement: bicycle repairs would make the trip to town easier.
This must be the best place to stay in Celestun -- and it's gay friendly.

Room Tip: Casita Flora is a bit more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesbianCouple2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed in Casa de Celeste Vida in February 2014. The directions on the website were perfect. As soon as you step off the bus, your experience begins. We got into a taxi, which wasn't a regular taxi. This was call a moto-taxi. A motorcycle where rear wheel was removed, and it its place was a home made metal frame with two wheels which was welded to the rear of the motorcycle. This effectively became a tricycle, where there were benches to sit on. It was hilarious and maximum speed was about 10 kms/hr. You had to hang on for dear life. Even though there are no house numbers, we got to our destination without any problems. The property is beautifully kept, the location on the beach is to die for. If you love to wonder the beach and beachcomb, you can't miss coming here. My biggest dilemma was which shells to leave behind. There are no waves, so you can swim with no worries and the ocean is so refreshing. The sunsets and sunrises are gorgeous. Karen and Wanda were the perfect hosts. The accommodation was beautiful, cooking in the kitchen was a dream. The ladies would put up hammocks under the palapa on the beach daily, so you could just hand out there all day. They helped to arrange our eco tour to view the flamingos, which you cannot miss if you come here. That was an unforgettable experience. If you are looking for a true Mexican feel, the village of Celestun is it. You have to experience it. We will be returning next year, we had the best time. Thank you ladies for a life long memory........

Room Tip: If you want your own kitchen, you need to rent the casita, otherwise you have to share a kitchen whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mila66491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed in Casita Flora, which was very comfortable with a kitchenette and only steps from the beach. Karen and Wanda were very helpful, providing excellent visitor information and organising us a great tour of the Biosphere, and generally making us feel very at home. Definitely a great spot to get away from it all!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank elainejh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Celestun hotels
5.2 mi away
Hotel Xixim
Hotel Xixim
#1 of 2 in Celestun
331 reviews
3.8 mi away
Playa Maya Resorts
Playa Maya Resorts
#2 of 3 in Celestun
35 reviews
1.1 mi away
Posada Lilia Celestun
Posada Lilia Celestun
#3 of 3 in Celestun
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel San Julio
Hotel San Julio
#3 of 9 in Celestun
17 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Celeste Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Celeste Vida

Property: Casa de Celeste Vida
Address: 49 E Calle 12, Celestun, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Celestun
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Celestun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Celeste Vida...."Home of Heavenly Life" is a charming guesthouse in Celestun, Mexico on the Gulf of Mexico in the Yucatan Peninsula. Celeste Vida offers three rental suites. Each is uniquely decorated with Mexican flare, has ocean views and is only steps away from a beautiful secluded beach! We are 1 km. from the village of Celestun where you will find a great market for fruits and vegetables, shops and restaurants with abundant seafood dishes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing