We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seals”

Sound Visitor Centre
Ranked #2 of 2 things to do in Cregneash
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Here you can learn about the history of this isle, enjoy the spectacular views and dine.
Leverington, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Seals”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Wonderful views of the Calf and seals sunbathing on the rocks. The restaurant was busy but good value.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    44
    9
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic views, fantastic food!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Had the most lovely day here. The restaurant meal was superb ... particularly the main course queenies with bacon in a garlic and white wine sauce ... scrumdiddlyumptcious! And as for the coastal views both inside the panoramic view restaurant and outside on the cliffs ... wow! My wife and I watched seven or more seals on the rocks and swimming around. Thankfully we had remembered to pack our binocluars and zoom-lens camera. Brilliant!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Amazing views well worth a visit”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Good views, beautiful location, good restaurant with pleasant service and good quality food. Interesting explanation of location with details of the bird life in the area

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worth the price?”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Very modern, very clean café/restaurant overlooking the seals on the rocks in The Sound.Food is ok but is very, very expensive. The scenery is absolutely stunning (the finest on the Island IMHO) and if you've gone this far, where else are you going to go?

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank guy7766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A fantastic view”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Note: we didn't actually go into the visitor centre, but I couldn't find a thread on the Sound itself so am posting this here - I hope that's okay.

My husband and I visited here yesterday 9th October, on an extremely windy and cold day (8 degrees C!!). The scenery is stunning, and the vista of the waves crashing over the rocks and the little lighthouse is just absolutely spectacular. We spent about half an hour sitting in the car in the carpark in the warm watching the vista. Not too many others there (which is why we stayed so long as we weren't hogging a carpark for someone going to the cafe or visitors centre).

Highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiLynda15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sound Visitor Centre also viewed

 
Peel, Isle of Man
Castletown, Isle of Man
 

Been to Sound Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing