We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the ticket”
Review of Explorers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Explorers Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Magny-le-Hongre
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just the ticket”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We stayed in a family room with my husband, 2 boys aged 4 and 7 and my mother in law. The hotel is certainly not luxurious but it is just what you need to enjoy your stay in Disneyland! Rooms are decently clean and equipped, the play area is fab and so is the swimming pool, even if it could be claner! The buffet breakfast is very rich and even if the quality of the stuff is not fabulous, it is more than adequate for a family feast! We didn't try the restaurants at the hotel. All in all excellent value and a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurancl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    946
    1,586
    832
    304
    205
See reviews for
2,993
201
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Location - was great, 5 mins on the free shuttle to the disney parks, train station, disney village etc.

Rooms - small but fine for our stay. there was a double bed and 2 singles, but the singles were child size.. not particularly comfortable, but we only slept in there and after a full day at the park it was a case of dropping in bed!! the corners of the beds were a nightmare and i banged my knees about 30 times!! there was a tv with english channels, kids channels and sky news. we didnt even watch it we were so busy!!

Food - breakfast was fine. WHO eats a full english every single day at home???? the continental breakfast was great, plenty of bread choices, croisants, pain au chocolate, madera cake, fruit, cheese, ham, cereal, yogurts, everything. the kids ate plenty and we never went hungry. we also took croisants from the breakfast and ate them at lunch time in the park. it made things so cheap and we were never hungry. you could pay extra for an english breakfast but we didnt bother!! there was plenty to keep us going.
the dinner selection was not as good. the pizza place was 11 euro for a pizza to feed maybe 2 adults or 3 kids. the chips were huge for 4 euro. the salads were rubbish. the dinning room did a buffet for 22E but it wasnt worth it, the choice was pretty poor and the kids would only have eaten plain pasta so was a bit of a waste of money.

Activities - the hotel pool was brilliant, the slides were great, the kids loved them, and they would have been happy to stay at the hotel without even going to disney!! there is also a pirate ship and a jungle gym. both were excellent and kept the kids going till much later than their usual bed time!!

Staff - friendly, helpful, great with the kids. the only issue we had was with the english receptionist who we changed money with DO NOT CHANGE MONEY AT THIS HOTEL. The rate does not reflect the current exchange rate, it has apparently been the same for 2 years. the exchange rate on the board is wrong. the man told me that the price was set by disney and that no one carries cash anymore, so it is a last resort to change cash with them. he also told me that the disney park was the same rate. It wasnt - l lost 20cence on every £1 changed, so changing £50 with him lost me £10!! this was a huge amount considering how much we changed over the weekend we were there. He also didnt complete paperwork which the other female staff did, meaning he could take my £50 into town and make a £10 profit. Beware of this little scam!!

All in all we really enjoyed our stay!! Top tips -
dont change money at hotel. change in disney park for much better rate.
Take sandwich bags and make a butty to take to the park for lunch - saved us about 50E per day.
take your own water/drinks and snacks to the park with you - this saves a fortune, just take them as snacks split between bags as they wont allow cooler bags into the park!!
have a great time!!

Room Tip: rooms overlooking lake were great, rooms away from the swimming pool are better as the pool is open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank juliaburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a 4 nights stay at explorers hotel 19th - 23rd May & loved it. Rooms were good, very clean & just what you need to come back too after a day at Disney. Breakfast was great too, no queue's and great choice e.g fruits, yogurts, pancakes, & a good selection of pastries & bread. Staff very friendly & helpful and free shuttle to & from Disney is a big bonus. Ate out every night so not sure about evening meals but would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spangdahlem, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Price was great, pool was awesome!
The room was clean, beds were not comfortable at all...
bathroom needed updated and so did the carpets..

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryMel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights,the hotel is really clean. The reception staff are so helpful as we never recieved our park tickets they allowed us to use there phone. Upon arrival was sent to a lift to get to our room on ground one however the lifts do not work in that area. The receptionist was helpful and gave us another room however you can't use the lift to
ground one so we had to use the stairs with all our luggage. The room was great two singles one small double and an adjoining room with bunk beds great for 3 people only problem was walls paper thin do can hear showers going off and had a snoring man next door! Swimming pool ideal for kids but it's really cold. Soft play area good. Food basic but fine. Only issue is you cannot get a drink in bar area till after 5pm. Massive ques at breakfast appears need more staff am.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meath
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Stayed here for a week in April. Room was ok, not spotless. Breakfast was buffet, usual disney hotel selection and big queues for coffee and toaster. Again, not very clean, lots of dirty tables and poorly washed crockery.Service in the bar in the evening was incredibly slow. You had to stand in line for service, one guy joined with only 7 people in front of him and it took 50 mins to get served. Pizza takeaway was available to order beside the bar which was fine until kids noticed a dead mouse behind the counter, more than a little offputting!

Pool was good, had covered slide which the kids loved. There was also a large enclosed play area beside the bar for younger kids

Only took 5 mins by bus to get to park and buses were quite regular

Would never stay there again

Room Tip: Room had 1 double and 2 singles, small adjoining room had bunk beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snoopymeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Magny-le-Hongre hotels

East Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights this past week as part of a trip to Disneyland Paris with my mother as a 60th birthday present. Chose to stay here as could not afford the prices for the main Disney hotels, (even the cheapest Sante Fe option, which we had stayed in last time). Was a bit worried about how staying outside the main Disney chain would affect our experience but needn't have worried. The only real difference is that you catch the number 54 bus (a free regular shuttle bus from outside Marne-le-Vallee train station) instead of the pink Disney shuttle buses, and the journey times to the hotel is a couple of minutes longer. The hotel is based on being a exploring boat, so it has the 'theming' that the Disney hotels have. The hotel itself was basic but clean. The rooms were lacking any complimentary toiletries which was unusual. When we arrived at the hotel our room wasn't ready and were asked to wait. When room not ready after 15 minutes they gave us a free room upgrade to a bigger room which was available. I didn't use the pool itself that was in the hotel, but it looked good and I'm sure kids would have loved it. Breakfast was the usual European continental style - cereals, fruit, yogurt, bread, pastries, etc. I believe you can upgrade to a full english if you are willing to pay a supplement. As like in the Disney hotels you have to book a time slot for breakfast so everyone doesn't come at once. Overall it was a good budget option providing you aren't looking for lots of luxuries, and it's a good for those who want a Disney style hotel without the price tag.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magny-le-Hongre
0.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Disneyland Paris
B&B Hotel Disneyland Paris
#1 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
1,030 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vienna House Dream Castle Paris
Vienna House Dream Castle Paris
#3 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
4,705 reviews
1.3 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Chessy
5,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Disney's Hotel Santa Fe
Disney's Hotel Santa Fe
#9 of 52 in Marne-la-Vallee
5,720 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vienna House Magic Circus Paris
Vienna House Magic Circus Paris
#5 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
2,802 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kyriad A Disneyland Paris
Kyriad A Disneyland Paris
#6 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
3,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explorers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorers Hotel

Property: Explorers Hotel
Address: 50, avenue de la Fosse des Pressoirs, 77700 Magny-le-Hongre, Marne-la-Vallee, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Marne-la-Vallee > Magny-le-Hongre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Magny-le-Hongre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Explorers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explorers Hotel is ideally located close to Disneyland(R) Paris. Free car park - Free shuttle buses to the parcs(R) - Flexible rooms up to 10 people - Free wifi - 200m² water park with 3 slides - indoor and outdoor play areas - conference rooms - XD theater - free bagage area - A Disney(R) shop located inside the hotel - 2 restaurants + 1 pizzeria - 1 bar - reception 24/7 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Fastbooking, Ebookers, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Explorers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explorers Hotel Magny-Le-Hongre, France - Marne-La-Vallee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing