We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again. Ideal for Disneyland Paris, great for kids”
Review of Explorers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Explorers Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Magny-le-Hongre
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Would stay here again. Ideal for Disneyland Paris, great for kids”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

The hotel was excellent. The pool is great with 2 water slides and a pirate ship area. The ship was only open certain times of the day during our stay. Mainly evenings. The slides and pool were open 8.30am - 11.pm
There was a €2 charge to hire towels and the lockers were free. The pool was never busy while we were in. There is someone that overlooks the pool but no lifeguard. You check in with your room number saying how many adults/ children are going to swim and IF the children CAN swim. 
There's a soft play area and pirate ship next to the restaurant. This is also free and you are expected to keep an eye on your own children. It was also never busy. 
Breakfast is served in the plantation restaurant. There is a reasonable choice of food from croissants, pancakes, fresh fruit, cerial, yogurts, cheese and ham with bread. A full English can be purchased for €4. 
We always ate breakfast at about 7.30 which was nice and quiet, however on our last day we ate at 9.am. It was very busy there was still plenty of food and things were being replenished but we had to wait for a table. 
Buses. The pink bus runs very frequently to and from the parks. It serves all 4 hotels in this area, however explorers hotel is always first pick up and drop off. Followed by the kyriad, magic circus and last dream castle. My sister stayed at the dream castle with her family and was advised to drive to the parks because the buses are always full. 
You can park for free at the Disney parks with a card you're given at the hotel. Show this at the car park booth. 
The rooms are clean and adequate for what we needed. Ours  was a crew 4 room which had a double bed and 2 single beds. Bathroom and seperate toilet. Tv with a few channels in different languages. Sky news, Cbeebies, and CBBC plus a channel with What seemed like Random programs like you used to get on planes!? Your able to order movies and other services from the TV. Our towels were replaced with clean ones and the beds made daily. DD's growing collection of Disney teddy bears were always arranged nicely on her bed. :)
Staff at reception were all very nice and helpful. We had printed out the check in forms from the website before we went so just had to hand that in. There is a locker area where you can store your luggage if your room isn't ready when you arrive or if you leave late. These lockers are again free. Rooms all had a free safe which you program with your own pass code. 
The hotel has free wifi. You just ask for the username and password at reception. There are also a few computers that can be used by anyone and a phone charge box which was basically a locker with a key with a wire inside to charge various different phones. I didnt use it but it cost €3 for 90 min charge, €2 for 50 minute charge. There is a Disney boutique and a jewellery concession. All the same stuff that's in the parks. Handy if you need to pick gifts up. 
Apart from breakfast we didn't eat in the hotel until our last day when we had a take out pizza. It was nice, about €10.
All in all an enjoyable stay. We would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank _Vic_95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExplorersHotel, at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear Vic,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on the hotel. Comments like yours are always welcome and rewarding for the entire team.

It was a pleasure to have you as a guest and a real satisfaction to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are confident your comprehensive feedback will be very useful to anyone who wish to stay in the hotel.

Thanks again for recommending us. The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE
Sales & Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    915
    1,544
    818
    298
    195
See reviews for
2,900
200
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
minehead
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Stayed for 4 nights we were a party of 6 , 4 adults and 2 chlidren. We stayed in a suite which was like an apartment it was excellent and would definately stay again very spacious.

The pool was great very clean. We used it everyday our Grandson loved it !!.

Breakfast was good typical of most hotels, but it was ample and we had plenty it was always topped up and the staff are working very hard.

Now the "shuttles", yes they are very frequent and of course they are free, but at times it was a free for all and it was not pleasant at times with the pushing and shuffing to get on regardless of whether you have young children !!, Occasionally we were lucky and managed to get a shuttle when it was not too full !...just a little gripe but we got used to it in the end and of course it is forgotten about once you get to the parks. Would recommend the suites as they were just perfect.

Room Tip: Go for a suite, all the suites have a view of the lake, and are very roomy well worth the extra .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExplorersHotel, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and our swimming pool. Thank you for recommending our suites, the hotel also boasts 3 themed suites and we would be happy to welcome you in one of them in the future.

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE
Sales & Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Arrived at Explorers over the jubilee bank holiday for three nights, staff friendly - rooms very clean, fresh towels daily - Swimming pool fantastic for the kids as is the indoor play area,
Take your own towels as they charge you 2 euros for one, there are also no mirrors or hairdryers.
Breakfast good - continental and plenty of it to keep you going, at night 23 euros for all you could eat buffet, excellent value against all the disney restaurants. Alchol is expensive in the hotel but thats what you expect.

Free buses run to disney every 15 mins, but we waited 1 hour on more that one occasion !!!
There are snack bars in the railway station that are cheap if you want food, We ate in the rainforest cafe and planet hollywood which were both nice but expensive.

You can fass pass most rides in both parks so no need to queue, the only ride that you cant is crushes coaster in MGM, try to do this ride first as the queues are very long - 2hours at least

All in all a lovely break

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenp9644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExplorersHotel, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear Karen,

Thank you for sharing your impressions about the hotel. Your comments are very important as we use them to constantly improve our service where necessary.

We were glad to read that you had a lovely time with us and hope to welcome you back in the hotel soon.

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE
Sales & Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Stayed here with a friend for our 2 day visit to Disneyand Paris, was exactly what we needed - reasonable price and great location with free shuttle buses. The reception staff were great and provided us with taxi numbers for when we went out later than the shuttles returned.

The lifts broke down while we were there and we got lost in the long and confusing corridors a few times but it was no big deal.

Breakfast is "continental" but I would say it was much more than we expected, vast selection of breads and croissants, fresh and dried fruit, salad items, yogurts and cereals. Lots of juices and hot drinks.

Didn't go to the pool, definitely only really for people with kids but you are visiting Disney so groups without kids are rare.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becci R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExplorersHotel, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear Becci,

Thank you very much for posting your comments about the hotel. We value all feedbacks and use them as a way to improve our service.

We were really happy to learn that you had a pleasant stay and that you found the staff helpful.
Thank you for pointing out the issue with the lift during your stay and sorry for the inconvenience this may have caused.

Once again, we truly appreciate your remarks and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE
Sales & Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I stayed with my family at the Explorers Hotel on the 27th May - 1st June 2012. The hotel, overall, is very clean (rooms, restaurants, lobby etc) and features 4 restaurants, one of which is a breakfast restaurant, which serves a free continental breakfast (croissants, pain au chocolat, toast, ham, cheese, pancakes etc), and this is suitable for a day at the parks. The other restaurant there is a Pizza parlour. The pizzas in my opinion were quite poor and expensive and had to be sent back because they were burnt and they weren't cooked correctly. The other one was a buffet restaurant, which is 22 euros (adult price) each. And finally, the other one served French cuisine. The rooms were spacious and roomy, and were cleaned on a daily basis. The staff working at the hotel can speak all European languages and were friendly during our visit. You can also get a shuttle from Paris-Charles De Gaulle Airport to the hotel for 19 Euros (adult) and 15 Euros (child) each (takes about 40-50mins) and also there is a free "peps" shuttle from the hotel to the Disneyland complex every 10 or so minutes, which takes about 5-10 minutes to get to the complex. The hotel is in a very rural-looking and green community away from the bustle of the parks, and is near to a lake, which you can walk round to admire the surrounding landscapes. Also, if you have forgot your travel money, they offer Foreign exchange services at Guest Services, as well as a Societé Générale ATM (Retrait) at the side of hotel, near the entrance. In conclusion, the Explorers Hotel is a great alternative to a Disney Hotel and the staff, facilities, rooms and surroundings are as equally as good as a Disney Hotel. Would recommend to any family or disney lover.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jz09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExplorersHotel, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on the hotel.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found many aspects to be as per your satisfaction, namely cleanliness, location, staff and services. It is always rewarding to read positive comments like yours as our goal is to ensure guest satisfaction.

May we once again thank you for sharing your feedback. The entire team would be proud to welcome you back at the Explorers hotel in the future.

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE
Sales & marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skerries, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

this is a great hotel for families, indoor pool, children's play area, pirate ship in the restaurant area so the kids can play while you relax. food isn't too expensive here and a shuttle bus comes every 15 minutes to drop you to Disney parks, was a little disappointed by the rooms, very basic, but considering how little time you spend in the room wasn't a huge issue.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadySineady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Couple aged 22 from nice backgrounds.

I've recently returned from a 4 night stay at the The Explorers hotel in Disneyland Paris over the Diamond Jubilee weekend. On arrival there was only one check in member of staff who was already serving but as we approached we were greeted and that person then got someone instantly for us. Check in was smooth, fast and there was no language barriers as we were always spoken to in very good English. The only thing I didn't really understand was we had to pay some sort of tax to be in the area, we paid €8.80, I think just for the pleasure of staying near Disneyland, not entirely sure.

Upon getting our room we had actually got a double with two singles, I think that every room comes like this as standard. The rooms were tidy and catered as what we wanted, a base camp for Disneyland Paris. During our stay the temperature in the rooms did get very hot at times even when it was mild outside. There was a ceiling fan which did nothing and a window which opened fully. As we were on the shuttle arrival/departure side of the hotel we rarely kept this open. I don't go one day without a shower and the hotels shower was in a bath but was powerful, good disperse range and warm enough to cater for my showering needs. I'd say one of the only downsides to the stay was that the beds were not overly comfortable, great pillows standard mattress and overly big duvet. One more thing was that there isn't really a welcome pack in the room just a leaflet from the desk on our way in.

The hotel is very impressive in areas but has been let to get a bit old in others with tired sofas and features. On arrival you are asked what time you want breakfast and this is everyday so make sure you suggest a good time. We ate breakfast everyday and it was an array of coisons, breads, spreads, yogurts, cereal, fruit, and any drink you want. The staff work well in here to stop it becoming a bomb site as a lot of people pass through and we managed to go at different times and the staff were always replenishing stocks and cleaning the tables. We did go a little later on our last day and this was alright with the staff so there are no worries if you want to sleep in a little. I tried a pizza my first night from Marcos and although it did not look great it tasted lovely and was just what I wanted after my flight (€11 for any pizza, 20 mins wait). We did not try the bar at night or any other of the restaurants in the hotel. We tried the pool one morning and although it looked a little delaperdated, it was great fun, it had two slides, but no lifeguard oddly.

Everyday there were at least two shuttle buses operating between the hotel and the Disney Villages. During peak times they are more often than during say 1pm. I'd say about 10 minutes wait for a free of charge first to be picked up and dropped service. Make sure you sit near the doors as it gets very busy and can be a pain getting off to your hotel when no one else wants to get off.

All in all we enjoyed our stay at explorers and would rate it as the best place to stay as its comfortable catered to our needs and the shuttle service is fantastic so eliminates the need to pay extra and stay at say Santa Fe.

Room Tip: The hotel is massive so pick somewhere near the front if you don't like walking too much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrLowndes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magny-le-Hongre
0.3 mi away
Vienna House Magic Circus Paris
Vienna House Magic Circus Paris
#4 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,739 reviews
1.3 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Chessy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,998 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vienna House Dream Castle Paris
Vienna House Dream Castle Paris
#3 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Disneyland Paris
B&B Hotel Disneyland Paris
#1 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
0.6 mi away
Disney's Hotel Santa Fe
Disney's Hotel Santa Fe
#9 of 52 in Marne-la-Vallee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kyriad A Disneyland Paris
Kyriad A Disneyland Paris
#6 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explorers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorers Hotel

Property: Explorers Hotel
Address: 50, avenue de la Fosse des Pressoirs, 77700 Magny-le-Hongre, Marne-la-Vallee, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Marne-la-Vallee > Magny-le-Hongre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Magny-le-Hongre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Explorers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explorers Hotel is ideally located close to Disneyland(R) Paris. Free car park - Free shuttle buses to the parcs(R) - Flexible rooms up to 10 people - Free wifi - 200m² water park with 3 slides - indoor and outdoor play areas - conference rooms - XD theater - free bagage area - A Disney(R) shop located inside the hotel - 2 restaurants + 1 pizzeria - 1 bar - reception 24/7 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Explorers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explorers Hotel Magny-Le-Hongre, France - Marne-La-Vallee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing