We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not particularly good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Explorers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Explorers Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Magny-le-Hongre
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not particularly good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

I have just returned from a four night stay at Explorer's hotel. We booked directly with Disneyland Paris and this cost more than five of Disney's own hotels but we quite rightly thought that this hotel caters better for the children than they would. The Reception staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms and furniture were comfortable enough although we do have three children under six and the gravel walls and lack of space did cause a few problems. Although this hotel does cater well for young families with the pool and soft play area being comfortable a few couples and families with older children were complaining that there was nothing nearby to do in the evening, the only problem we had with this is that after 11pm on the first evening there wasn't even a vending machine to buy soft drinks and that although there is a kettle in the room there is no milk for sale anywhere (we later found some in the railway station shop which also sells english newspapers and magazines- never in ten years of visiting have I realised this shop existed before!) Breakast was quite good quality for a continental and the pizza bar is also good value - 11 euros for a pizza which serves two and works out much cheaper than eating in Disney Village. Although the drinks are very expensive I don't feel they are any more so here than anywhere in Disney and the happy hour makes it not much more expensive than in the UK. The pool was warm and the kids loved it but I was a little disappointed that the only place they could touch the ground was under the pirate ship where you were constantly splashed by the big bucket or the 'rain', I'm sure that this is just a grown up gripe though! Our only real issue was that our three year old had an 'accident' on our first night. This is very unusual and has not happened for over a year or we obviously would have brought him pull ups and we put it down to it being a long day travelling and tiring him out too much but we were very dissapointed that the sheets were put back on the bed the next day and not changed and this meant he had to sleep with his big brother until the final day when they were finally changed - despite me taking them off each day, I was also slightly annoyed that my make up and medication was moved around the room each day - it wasn't ever left in a place where it would get in the way of the housekeeping staff and I didn't really see why they needed to touch it - it was kept on a high shelf way above where they would need to be unless they were attempting to access the safe for some reason but we were certainly not stolen from and I don't wish to imply that this was the case - it just felt like a small invasion of our privacy. Overall our stay here was enjoyable and I would book again providing the price was right I do feel I paid a little much considering the lack of time spent in the hotel meant we didn't use many of the facilities very often.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    899
    1,518
    808
    289
    192
See reviews for
2,843
196
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
harlow
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

we chose this hotel against the wishes of the partner lol, as its is not as central as we would have liked. it was hard to find the exact hotel although we had sat nav and got the area it was not well signposted on the road once there was good customer services and the free shuttle bus was grearunning every 15 minuits shame the finished at midnight , the hotel was immaculate great size rooms including a sofa which was nice to watch tv and chill and a fridge what a bonus. plenty of room and nice atmoshere, staff in the foyer were superb could not be more helpful even giving maps and offering there choices of places to see in france. The breakfast room staff were a litle frosty but curteous none the less not as happy a smile goes a long way the breakfast was included in the price i thought was good however no cooked english breakfast muffins and croissants were excellent ther was a phone charging facility, internet access in the hall and also a pool great for families and grown up like us who were travelling without the family i would definatly come back as i thought hotel was very good and staff and service excellent clean cheap friendly they couldnt be more helpful well done ps the lady in the disney store was lovley loves her job and so bubbly mde the whole experience brilliant we purchased some lovle little baubles for tree really sweet she couldnt be nicer wonder if they realise they have such a gem in the shop customer services are fab, same can be said about the man aa front of house at reception not sure of his name look for the man that knows everything tall black and helpful wow i was pleasently suprised well done please get more sign post put up to direct traffic who said disney resort is for kids the final location as the resort is massive thank you word of warning make sure ou have a do not disturb sign on as we had room service interrupt our shower lol most unexpected they had knocked but we had not heard

Room Tip: the rooms have spy holes at levels suitable for children what a great idea sure we had family room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debi h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExplorersHotel, Sales Assistant at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your recent experience at the Explorers Hotel.

Your opinion is valuable as we use it as a way to improve our services and meet your expectations.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found all aspects to be as per your satisfaction, namely our customer service, your room which was spacious and clean and the swimming pool.

We are proud to see that you found our staff courteous and helpful as our guests’ satisfaction is one of our main priorities.

Thank you for your suggestions regarding our breakfast. Your remarks have been transmitted to our Chef.

We would also like to thank you for reminding that a do not disturb sign is available in each room if needed.

The entire team of the Explorers hotel is looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,
The Sales Team
Explorers Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amadora, Portugal
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

We went there with my family of 9, the Hotel isn't great, it has some cleanning issues with the toillets, and the breakfast it's just OK... But it's very close to disney park and the shuffle is a great help!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExplorersHotel, Sales Assistant at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments from your recent stay at the Explorers Hotel. We have noted your comments and hope to welcome you back soon !

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

We stayed here 11th November -15th November and it was 'alright'. People on a lot of reviews do say the staff are rude which is something I disagree with they were friendly and chatty and couldn't be more helpful. The location of the hotel is great it's not on the park (avoid paying park hotel prices!) but it is literally a 5-10 minute bus ride and the bus is free, quick and regular. The only thing about the location is there are no shops near by as the hotel doesn't have a shop in it for things like a bottle of drink, toiletries or snacks etc. The shop they do have is Disney souvenirs which there is enough of at the park! The rooms are not as they appear in the picture all cosy warm spacious are not words I would use to describe them. They're small, cold and the walls are made from gravel that does scratch you if you catch yourself on it! Thomas cook have sold it to Algonquin and Algonquin have left it in the state Thomas cook made of it! The curtains were hanging off the pole, the shower was dirty with lime scale that the maids could clearly have washed off and the tv doesn't work apart from playing an annoying menu tune. We were in a crew 6 room and the second bedroom has bunk beds and not a double bed be warned! The wifi at the hotel doesn't work below there's a comment about it being 'down' I don't believe it works at all the lady at reception said any new phones it doesn't work on when new phones are the only phones that use wifi so it defeats the object do not go there expecting wifi. The pool is great for the kids has slides and a adventure bit for little ones, couldn't fault it. The restaurant is okay breakfast was lovely apart from my family paid the extra 4 euros each to upgrade to 'full English' that has no sausage in it an is not a great standard at all so I wouldn't bother paying it. Then dinner there is a lot of strange meals so we paid 23 euros a head for chicken nuggets and chips as everything else was weird. The desserts are nice however and the drinks were include which is great. The bars prices are ridiculous 7.50 for a pint 4.50 for a slush puppy for the kids and approx 3.80 for a coke! Happy hour is at 7 don't drink before then else it's not worth it. The pizzeria they have there is good though really tasty great prices around 12 euros a pizza nice sized tastes great and quick service. Overall I have rate it average because as you can see there were some good parts but some crappy. I wouldn't recommend it to a friend unless they were warned and comfortable with all of the above.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExplorersHotel, Sales Assistant at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. Your opinion is valuable as we use it as a way to improve our services.

It is nice to read that staff, location, shuttles, swimming pool and pizzeria were to your satisfaction.

We have noted your concerns regarding the buffet and the room. The food that we propose for dinner is composed of a large selection of dishes so as to satisfy our international clients. We try to offer the best quality combined with the largest choice possible, however we are sorry that it was not up to your expectations. Please be assured that your remarks will be discussed and transmitted to our Chef, as guest satisfaction is our main priority.

The entire team hopes to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

We travelled to the explorers by coach and ferry with ledger travel although it was tiring journey it was made pleasant by the coach crew phil and Margaret .the hotel staff were polite and helpful the hotel was clean warm and the room comfortable .the breakfast was ok and the children liked it .we took the shuttle bus to the Disney park and that's when the long journey became worth it with the smiles of our grand children.after a fun filled day we went back to the hotel and took the kids for a swim in the great hotel pool followed by a nice pizza and a drink in the bar .we then watched the kids play on the pirate ship before a good nights sleep happy that we could do it all again the next day,we would definitely do it again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExplorersHotel, Sales Assistant at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent experience at the Explorers Hotel.

It is a real pleasure to learn that you had a nice trip with your group. The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the hotel for further adventure !

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

Visited Euro Disney and Stayed at Explorers Hotel. I must say, this Hotel is nothing out of this world, but is really of great value for money $$$. It also has an amazing pool to enjoy, before or after you have visited Euro Disney and need to relax.

The Breakfast was dissapointing and very simple cubes of cheddar and ham.

Danny

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DannyAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExplorersHotel, Sales Assistant at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing a review on your stay at the Explorers Hotel.

We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay and that you liked our swimming pool. We are sorry to learn that breakfast was not up to your expectations. Your comment will be forwarded to the Chef as guest satisfaction is our main priority.

The entire team hopes to see you back again soon!

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed at explorers for 5 nights costing £100 per night! The room was basic, and the food wasn't good and everything was over priced!! Make sure you go to the hypermarket at val de Europe to stock up for snacks and drinks! The soft play area was great and also the swimming pool was of high standards!
The shuttle buses from hotel to Disney are free we called it the "crazy bus" as it literally is everyone for themselves, and when you think it's full another 20 people squeeze on!! This was one trip not for the faint hearted!
Having said that we have some memories from Disney we will remember forever, if we returned I would pay more for a better quality hotel!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iceicemaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExplorersHotel, Sales Assistant at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your review from your recent stay at the Explorers hotel.

We have noted your concerns regarding the prices and buses and will report them to our teams. Please be assured that we do our utmost to continuously improve the service we are offering.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon in order to improve your judgment.

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magny-le-Hongre
0.3 mi away
Vienna House Magic Circus Paris
Vienna House Magic Circus Paris
#4 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,690 reviews
1.3 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Chessy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,804 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vienna House Dream Castle Paris
Vienna House Dream Castle Paris
#3 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Disneyland Paris
B&B Hotel Disneyland Paris
#1 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
0.6 mi away
Disney's Hotel Santa Fe
Disney's Hotel Santa Fe
#10 of 52 in Marne-la-Vallee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,091 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kyriad A Disneyland Paris
Kyriad A Disneyland Paris
#6 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explorers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorers Hotel

Property: Explorers Hotel
Address: 50, avenue de la Fosse des Pressoirs, 77700 Magny-le-Hongre, Marne-la-Vallee, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Marne-la-Vallee > Magny-le-Hongre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Magny-le-Hongre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Explorers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explorers Hotel is ideally located close to Disneyland(R) Paris. Free car park - Free shuttle buses to the parcs(R) - Flexible rooms up to 10 people - Free wifi - 200m² water park with 3 slides - indoor and outdoor play areas - conference rooms - XD theater - free bagage area - A Disney(R) shop located inside the hotel - 2 restaurants + 1 pizzeria - 1 bar - reception 24/7 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Explorers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explorers Hotel Magny-Le-Hongre, France - Marne-La-Vallee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing