We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great with kids in theory”
Review of Explorers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Explorers Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Magny-le-Hongre
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great with kids in theory”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

This hotel could be fantastic. The pool and play areas are brilliant, the rooms are clean and it's last for pick ups and first for drop offs on its Disney shuttle bus route. The problem is that the service is terrible, pointless booking system for breakfast (hard to anticipate even the night before what time your children might be ready for breakfast and then had to queue for table anyway!), 30 mins minimum to get a drink at the bar, and 10 minute wait for a table in an empty restaurant.... When will they learn that extra service means more profit from food and drink sales

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie19741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExplorersHotel, Sales Assistant at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback after your visit.

We are delighted that you found the hotel was great for the children but we are sorry that the service was not up to your expectations and that you had to wait so long at the restaurant.

Please be assured that your remarks will be discussed as comments like yours are used to take measures aiming at improving the quality of our service.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    916
    1,547
    818
    298
    196
See reviews for
2,904
200
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We arrived on December 23rd after a long Eurostar trip.The staff couldn't have been more helpful at check in was a quick and simple procedure and we were soon given our room key. We stayed in room 424 which was a 6 berth room. The room was immaculately clean I couldn't find a single fault and as a former cleaner in the hospitality industry I did check everywhere! Haha.

The swimming pool was open from early morning til half 10 at night which meant that it never got crowded as people went at different times, it's a really good pool with 3 slides and a pirate ship with lots of things for young children.... But beware of the large pirate face on top!! Haha

There is also a mini gym for children which my girls thoroughly enjoyed and spent many hours!

There's an arcade featuring airhockey and other arcade games but we didn't use this room so I can't comment

Marcos pizzeria is also really good value for money and the pizzas are quite large too

Breakfast was a typical continental breakfast consisting of fruit, croissants, bread rolls, cereals, ham and cheese
Although for an extra 4euro supplement you could have an English breakfast.

I have no complaints about this hotel at all everything was to a high level and assistance was given as soon as asked

The only thing I would warn people about is the shuttle bus, this obviously isn't a hotel issue but they do get exceptionally crowded and it can be quite dangerous at times especially if you are travelling with young children.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MummyChipmunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExplorersHotel, Sales Assistant at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share a review from your experience at the Explorers Hotel. We take your comments very seriously to constantly improve the quality of our service.

It is a real pleasure to read that you had a good time with your family. We are very thankful for all your positive comments regarding the staff, swimming pool, restaurants and other facilities we are offering.

The entire team would be really happy to see you back should your future travel plans call for a trip to Disneyland® Paris!

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We booked the explorers as a stop gap as it turned out to be cheaper to fly the night before and book a hotel before going onto our disney hotel the next day. As we walked in the reception was all decorated the staff were friendly and we were immediately upgraded to a 2 bedroom (adjoining room with bunk beds) which enabled us to stay up once the children had gone to sleep. We arrived late on but got pizza and chips and a few drinks which was pretty basic but was tasty and just what we needed. Kids played in the play area while we waited for it. We were on the same floor as reception so passed the pool on our way to the room, was gutted we couldnt stay longer and go in, looks amazing, pirate ship and water cannons and slides. Vending machines with snacks and drinks on the way to the rooms was a plus. Room was great, double bed, 2 singles plus the room adjoining with bunk beds, adjoining room was only connected to ours, no other exit which was great. flat screen tv in both rooms but couldnt comment on the channels as we didnt use them with it being so late. Beds were ok, comfy enough, Seperate toilet room, bathroom with bath and shower, lights above each individual bed so others could sleep, heaters in both bedrooms. Breakfast was lovely, yoghurts, ham, cheese, toast lots of croissants, cereal tea coffee and juice, really lovely! Free shuttle bus every 15/20mins to disney which was not far at all.

All in all I was gutted we couldnt stay longer, we moved on to the cheyenne disney hotel but i preferred the explorers and am looking at staying there again on our return trip. Definitely reccommend this hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kayleigh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExplorersHotel, Sales Assistant at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your experience at the Explorers Hotel. Your comments are highly important to help us improve the quality of our service where necessary.

We are very proud to learn that you had a nice time with us and that you liked the breakfast as well as the room that was allocated to you. The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back for a next stay so you can try our wonderful swimming pool!

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Radnor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We have now stayed at all of the off-site Disneyland Paris resort hotels. Sadly we left the worst for last. Hotel has a three star rating. Compared to other local hotels it should be 2 star at best.

Arrived at 9PM. No restaurant, no bar. Next day still no restaurant but a small bar was opened for a couple of hours. Happy hour was available (2 for one drinks) as long as it was beer or specialty cocktails. However, the bar area was as welcoming as a main line station. Kids crawling everywhere, plastic tables, plastic trees, plastic as far as the eye could see. Noise levels unacceptable.

Breakfast a real let down, even compared with other off property hotel offerings. Grey ham, minute cubed cheese, dried out salad. Dont even ask about the bread selection. There must be a bidding war of local merchants to supply these hotels with the cheapest possible goods. the current supplier must have really made the low bid. A small on-site outlet offering fresh breakfast items was, you guessed it, closed. Luckily the hotel restaurant was closed so we could not try it.

In room coffee/tea is a one-shot deal. once you have used the teabag there will be no replacement. Powdered milk of the lowest quality. No fridge, no A/C.

Room cleanliness worst I have seen in a long time in Europe. A large brown bolus of what I hope was only ear wax was prominently affixed to the wall leading to the bathroom. Unless the cleaners are all under 1.5 m how could they miss this ? Maybe because it blended in with all the other stains and marks on the walls. Dont tell my wife, but the sheets were not that clean either, freshly laundered but with some decidedly non-white stains remaining.



On a positive note I must say that the staff were excellent, both in reception and the restaurant they did as best they could. Also positive was the fact that the car parking was really great, could park right next to the hotel as there were lots of spaces. Just a moment though, shouldnt the car park be overflowing the week before Christmas ???? Hmmm, very strange indeed.

If at all possible stay at one of the other hotels (Kyriad, Magic circus, Dream castle) before giving this place your custom. All in all it looks as if the hotel is closing down and they are just waiting until the last guest leaves. There were no signs indicating who is actually running the place, unlike the other hotels who proudly display their affiliation.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExplorersHotel, Sales Assistant at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to bring your feedback to our attention.

We are sorry to read from your review that your stay with us was not up to your expectations.
We have noted your concerns regarding the quality of our breakfast and the cleanliness of the rooms.

We have fully investigated this matter with our Operations Manager and can report that our rooms are cleaned on a daily basis and regular inspections are made by our Head Housekeeper.

We trust you will consider this as an isolated case and that the difficulties you experienced are certainly not reflective of our normal standards.

As far as our breakfast is concerned, our Chef is currently improving the selection and the quality of the goods proposed on the buffet and thanks to comments like yours, we are able to continuously improve our services.

Please note that our restaurants are closed for lunch as most of our guests are spending their day in the Disneyland® Parks.

Although one of our restaurants was closed for refurbishment during the time of your visit, the other restaurants (our all you can eat buffet “Plantation” and Marco’s Pizza parlor) as well as our main bar Traders’ Café were open at their usual opening times.

We are proud that you found the staff excellent since the guest care is one of our main priorities and hope that you consider visiting us again should your future travel plans call for a trip to Disneyland® Paris.

Best regards,

Stefania Pederzoli
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Magny-le-Hongre hotels

Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012 via mobile

I couldn't tell you the price as it was a birthday suprise visit! Hotel was lovely swimming pool, restaurant and free shuttle buses to and from Disney first stop for non Disney hotels and regular pick ups/drop offs every 10/15 mins! Room was fab for two of us think we had a family room double 2 twins, breakfast was included continental. All staff we met were friendly and courteous. Halls a bit grubby but with 2500 guests its understandable all in all lovely hotel caters for all needs would stay again when we go bk!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa021187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExplorersHotel, Sales Assistant at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay at the Explorers Hotel.

The entire team is delighted that you had a nice time for your birthday and that you found the hotel and its facilities to be as per your satisfaction.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon for further adventure!

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brize Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

The hotel was welcoming on arrival there are lots of rides for kids on reception to keep them busy and cute steps up to the huge reception desk for the little ones to see whats going on. The room was quite a walk away from reception but not unreasonable and took us past the shop and windows to the swimming pool which filled our son with excitement. The room was very clean but there was no ability to lock the door from the inside (both locks were broken) which worried me incase our son escaped! The bathroom and toilet were separate and clean but the sink was blocked and took a while to go down we reported this and put it on our feedback report. The room beds were comfy and the heat was controlled by an electric heater which was fine. The TV had UK channels like CBeebes and BBC 1/ITV. The pool was fab although a little cold 30 mins and our 2 year old was shivering and the slides and ship were brilliant. Bring your own towles for the pool though. The pizzas from Marcos were reasonably priced but basic and the drinks were expensive but good value in Happy Hour. the breakfast was brilliant lots of choice and. Full English for €4 extra. 10/10 for breakfast! The distance from Disney is 5 minutes and theres an Esso garage just outside the disney gates which sells food and drinks at normal prices as the food in Disney is all fried!! The Playcentre in the hotel is great and theres plenty to keep Ll the family happy. Remembering its a 3* the facilites available are brilliant and the rooms are lovely; all in all a lovely familiy friendly hotel which I would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minky2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExplorersHotel, Sales Assistant at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience from your stay at the Explorers Hotel. Your comments are valuable to help us improve the quality of our service.

It is a real pleasure to learn that your had an enjoyable time with your family and that you could enjoy our facilities and breakfast.

Once again thank you for your positive feedback. The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We stayed here with a family of 5, 3 children aged 5,9 and 12. The room was great and the pool was too. The food great and we enjoyed the breakfast the most. It is set up like a pirate ship so it is exciting for the kids. the Pool is the best part as it has a large pirate ship with a couple of slides, water guns and a large bucket throwing water onto the pool. There is a twisty yellow slide and a really fun tube flume which is in the shape of a dragon . The bus service is good and takes you straight to Disneyland. We ent to disneyland most of the time however we did also visit Paris. It also has a kids gym and a large kids play area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExplorersHotel, Sales Assistant at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for giving your opinion from your recent stay at the Explorers Hotel. Your comments are very important as they help us improve the quality of our service.

It is a real pleasure to learn that you had a nice time with your family and that your children enjoyed the swimming pool and play areas. We were also delighted that you liked the food and especially the breakfast.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon for further adventure!

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magny-le-Hongre
0.3 mi away
Vienna House Magic Circus Paris
Vienna House Magic Circus Paris
#4 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
1.3 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Chessy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,006 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vienna House Dream Castle Paris
Vienna House Dream Castle Paris
#3 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Disneyland Paris
B&B Hotel Disneyland Paris
#1 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
0.6 mi away
Disney's Hotel Santa Fe
Disney's Hotel Santa Fe
#9 of 52 in Marne-la-Vallee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kyriad A Disneyland Paris
Kyriad A Disneyland Paris
#6 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explorers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorers Hotel

Property: Explorers Hotel
Address: 50, avenue de la Fosse des Pressoirs, 77700 Magny-le-Hongre, Marne-la-Vallee, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Marne-la-Vallee > Magny-le-Hongre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Magny-le-Hongre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Explorers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explorers Hotel is ideally located close to Disneyland(R) Paris. Free car park - Free shuttle buses to the parcs(R) - Flexible rooms up to 10 people - Free wifi - 200m² water park with 3 slides - indoor and outdoor play areas - conference rooms - XD theater - free bagage area - A Disney(R) shop located inside the hotel - 2 restaurants + 1 pizzeria - 1 bar - reception 24/7 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Explorers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explorers Hotel Magny-Le-Hongre, France - Marne-La-Vallee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing