We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location ok for Disneyland but avoid if u can!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Explorers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Explorers Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Magny-le-Hongre
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Location ok for Disneyland but avoid if u can!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from this hotel and I must say that it doesn't feel like a disneyland hotel at all. We were four adults. The condition of the room was terrible . Shabby beds , terrible bathrooma overall a very crammed up room. It had a bunk bed as well but thankfully we were 4 and not 6 coz the room sz is quite small. I must warn u that the breakfast quality and spread was quite bad . There was just breads breads and breads. You need to pay about 4 euros for eggs. The pool is basically a play pool for kids as there are only rides and kids all over. The pool had a lot of chlorine . Our eyes were burning after a 15 minutes dip. There is a free shuttle to disneyland which is good. But do not expect a Disney feeling in this hotel. There are lot o options in this area and I would suggest to check other options as well.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NehaGIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JordaneVernerie, Community Manager at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear NehaGIndia,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback after your visit at the Explorers Hotel.

It is great to learn that you enjoyed our shuttle bus system to Disney®. However I am sorry to learn that most aspects of your visit did not meet your expectations despite our best efforts. Please note that we now have newly refurbished rooms and I would be happy to welcome you in one of those for your next visit so you can appreciate all the improvements that have been done. Our free included breakfast is continental type, the 4€ extra is an upgrade for those who want a hot English breakfast and I am sorry this was not to your satisfaction.

Please be assured that your remarks have been shared with the different departments in order to discuss those matters as your satisfaction is our main priority.

The entire team looks forward to welcome you back for a better experience.

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    886
    1,497
    800
    285
    190
See reviews for
2,801
195
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Check in was bliss and hassle free, and was upgraded to a newly refurbished room. The room is fine (3*standard), clean and had a great layout for families. The rooms aren't as nice as other hotels e.g. dream castle, but are fine for a base for the holiday.

Facilities: Are amazing and probably better than most other hotels including the Disney hotels I have stayed in before. There are outside playgrounds, a great swimming pool and indoor play area.

Breakfast is fine, and nicely organised. Can pay £4 extra for English breakfast. Prices for drinks in bar reasonable, although evening food is pricey (same price as Disney village restaurants).

Cons: Males need to wear trunks for the swimming pool due to some French policy, so the hotel should email prior to arrival about the shorts issue to save English families forking out a fortune on overpriced trunks in the hotel.

Overall, if I had the choice to stay here or the cheaper Disney hotels e.g. Santa Fe, I would choose explorers due to it offering more for children and being a clean friendly hotel. However, if you've got a higher budget then look at the Disney 4* hotels.

(P.s don't book with VEA transfer they are unreliable, times are all wrong and they turn up late, so best to book with a private shuttle to ensure check in at airport)

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j23456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JordaneVernerie, Community Manager at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear j23456,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience after your visit at the Explorers Hotel.

It is a real pleasure to learn that you had a pleasant time with us and that you enjoyed our facilities. Have you tried our new XD motion theater?

The entire team hopes to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Myself and a friend stayed here from the 12th June 2014-15th June 2014. We arrived late on the 12th, via the VEA transfer from the airport. Check-in was quick, easy and staff were very helpful and friendly. Which is what anyone wants after a long journal. We were checked in to a nearly refurbished hotel room, even though there was 2 of us we were given a family room for 4.

The room had a double bed, bunk beds, toilet room and bathroom (shower/bath and sink). The overall cleanliness of the room was brilliant, nothing at all to fault. The room ran in line with the overall theme of pirates/ships of the hotel. The room was fun, light and child friendly. The room did have a slight cheap feel to it (basic) but for the price paid is what is expected. The room had plenty of towels, plastic cups, kettle, hot drink supplies, hairdryer (was not very powerful but did the job!), basic dispenser of soap/shampoo and a safe. The room was made up each day, with towels changed, bins emptied and beds made. Wifi is also supplied, it can be slow at times, but overall a great extra to have.

The facilities at the hotel were really good, with loads for children to do. A large swimming pool with slides and a pirate theme, soft play, outdoor pirate play ship (loads of grass space to run and play), food venues, loads of seating areas, game tables, bar, and gift shop. Phone facilities were limited at the hotel.
On a negative element of services provide is the pay phone. You have to pay €10 on a pay phone card if you want to use the pay phone. I was hoping just to put a few €'s on a card to make a quick call, but that service was not available.

Breakfast was well organised and always stocked with plenty of food for everyone. You are seated at breakfast time, which was brilliant as it stops people fighting over seats and gives everyone a chance to eat breakfast. This is something which other Disney hotels lack, from previous experience. Breakfast had everything needed, and expected for a continental breakfast. You can pay €4 for a English breakfast each day.

The hotel (like all the other Disney hotels) supply a shuttle bus to the park, running every 10 mins, walking to the park is not an opinion at the partnership hotels as quite a bit further than the Disney hotels and park. It is important to note that there is no queuing or order when getting onto these buses. Unfortunately, it's a process which involves pushing each other to get on the bus! However, this is something which happens at every hotel. If travelling to the airport on the VEA bus it is important to be aware that the timetable online may be incorrect. We waited an hour for a bus after the time stated online. Check the timetable on the day and leave plenty of time. Of course, this is not the hotels fault but it is something to be aware of.

The check out process was also a really good experience at this hotel. Check out was 11am which gives loads of time for breakfast and packing. Hotel supply's large lockers to store baggage/suitcases, if you have late travel plans. A safe and secure system which involves a code to close the locker. Facilities are still available after check out (food venues/toilets etc).

I have stayed in 4 other Disney hotels in the past (3 Disney hotels and 1 other partnership hotel) and from experience have found that the partnership hotels provide much better service and facilities. Overall, the staff were more than helpful and always friendly. Could not fault the cleanliness and services on offer. I would happily stay here again, and pick it over many of the Disney hotels. The price of this hotel was great and provided more than we expected. Great hotel!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JordaneVernerie, Community Manager at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Rhea B

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience after your visit at the Explorers Hotel. We appreciate your comments and use them as a way to continuously improve the quality of our service.

I am delighted to learn that you had a nice time with us and that you enjoyed most of our facilities. It is always rewarding to receive such positive feedback and I will share your review with our teams.

The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back!

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed in the Explorers hotel as a family on holiday at Disneyland, as most people do. I would not expect someone to staying here for business, as its caters really well for children, mainly boys as it’s themed on pirates and explorers.

Before I get onto the bad points of this hotel (which there are many), I first must say that the facilities for children there are the best I have ever seen for a children’s hotel. There is an excellent swimming pool and slides, an indoor padded play centre, pirate ship play construction, arcade games (about 2€ per game), pool tables and 3D virtual reality ride. In terms of catering, there are two restaurants (one a la cart and one buffet), a pizza shop, a cafe serving coffees, cakes, salads etc, and a bar. There is also a Disney gift store and ATM. There was plenty of free parking as we drove to Disneyland and the shuttle buses run about ever 5 to 10 min. To get to the park, it was only a 5 min bus ride so it is really simple to get there. So all in all, a very decent and enjoyable place you can take kids and let them run, while the adults can enjoy themselves at the table with a drink.

So that’s it for the good points, let me explain the many bad points which may help you reconsider your choice of hotel while you are researching your family holiday here. From the years of being in France, their standard of room cleanliness is different from others, so in some way, you just need to accept this. Upon arriving in the room, we found popcorn under all the beds and it was like the room had only been half cleaned. The shower curtain was covered in mould. The toilet light did not work. The shower head did not regulate hot and cold water properly. There was no toilet brush in the toilet. The soap provided was hand foam and the towels were as big as tea towels (and I’m a lean person so that’s saying something). The door handles on the toilet and the bathroom had fallen off and the internal lock on the entry door fell off. The carpet was really due a steam clean as it looked really mucky. The beds were very very hard and I normally like a hard bed, but when its equivalent to the floor, it’s not so great. There is no fridge in the room and the tea and coffee facilities are better when you are camping in a tent that what they provide. The bathroom sink was blocked, to the point that if the tap stayed on for 30 seconds, it was going to overflow and took more than 5 min to let the water down the drain until the tap could be turned on again. The only positive thing to say is that the in room entertainment was excellent; it had all the children’s channels from the different countries so the kids could be entertained while getting ready in the mornings. But other than that the room really sucked and smelled like an ash tray as well.

So what did we do about it? Well calling the reception did not help, and neither going to find the manager either. Being told, someone will come and help you and no one turns up is only shifting or delaying the problem away from themselves. In the end, we were there to enjoy the time at Disneyland and not to spend it in the hotel room, so we did not bother perusing this but rather report it here where I can warn you about it. But expect a level of customer service renown for the region that they operate in, very poor indeed.

The breakfast was quite standard and really busy. There is not enough room in the dining room for breakfast so you need to make a booking/time slot for your breakfast seating. Its a 4€ supplement for an English style breakfast, but the continental breakfast is fine as well with all the standard items on it. They have turnkey ham too for people who don’t eat pork, so this is taken into account for them as well. But on the other hand, we did try one night to have the buffet dinner, which was terrible. They did not replace food after it was completely used and therefore very quickly, there was not much to choose from. I would not suggest eating dinner in there for about 26€ per person, take that money and go and enjoy Disney village instead where there are plenty of decent restaurants to choose from (like the rainforest cafe).
Would I stay there again? No is the short answer. Though the facilities for children’s entertainment were great, the room was so bad and the service matched. There are many other hotels close by and yes adding another star might get you a clean and functional room instead, even if it has to cost you a bit more. Shop around, you might get a good deal on a better hotel and not have to stay in such a pigsty like we did.

One more thing in general for anyone going to Disneyland during European school holidays or bank holiday weekend. DON'T DO IT! The place is extremely crowded to a point that rides take 70 min or more to get onto and even finding somewhere to have lunch is mission impossible. I have also been during the off season and it was so much more enjoyable. The park ticket is the same price and in the off season, it was only 5 to 10 min to wait to get on a ride in both parks, maximizing your time on rides and not standing in queues all day. If you can, take your kids out of school for a couple of days and go when it’s quiet. Next time this will be what I am doing, never again on a busy holiday long weekend or school holiday period. It was more frustrating and not enjoyable rather than the ‘Disney magic’ that you go there for.

Room Tip: find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank uktravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JordaneVernerie, Community Manager at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear uktravler,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback after your visit at the Explorers Hotel. Your opinion is valuable as it helps us improve the quality of our service where necessary.

I am delighted to read that you found our hotel was great for children with all the activities that we offer to keep them entertained. However, i feel sorry to learn that your experience was not up to your expectations in terms of service and cleanliness despite our best efforts.

Please be assured that your remarks have been passed on to the different services. I can assure you that your comments do not reflect our usual standards and I would be grateful if you could contact me directly at marketing@explorershotels.com in order to discuss these inconveniences and find solutions to regain your trust in the future.

The entire team hopes to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Magny-le-Hongre hotels

Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We have stayed here 3years in row and going back in august ! We have 2 kids one 6 and one 9 and they love it ...staff great and food lovely ! Really can't wait to get back ,,,l know we all going to love it and have another great time

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardM8629LJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JordaneVernerie, Coordinatrice des ventes at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear RichardM,

Thank you very much for choosing the Explorers Hotel for the last three years for your stay in Disneyland® Paris.

It is always rewarding to learn that you had a lovely time in our hotel.

The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you and your family in August!

Kind regards,

Stefania Pederzoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stay for three nights, with our three kids ages 4, 8 and 11. They loved the pool with the slides and the bucket that would drop water over them every couple of mins. The rooms are basic but we did not spend much time here other than to sleep. We did have room service every day. The TV had a few English channels. The bus to the parks are free and come every 10 to 15 mins. The buffet dinner here was way over priced but this was the same in the parks. The pizza bar was very good value if that was an option over the restaurant I would go for that instead. The staff were friendly and I would have no problem staying here again, our kids would love to go back here if for the pool alone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JordaneVernerie, Coordinatrice des ventes at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Caroline,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience after your visit at the Explorers Hotel.

I am delighted to read that you had a nice time with us and that you could enjoy most of our facilities. It is a real pleasure to receive such positive reviews as our satisfaction is our top priority.

The entire team hopes to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Stefania Pederzoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed from the 2nd- 6th June whilst visiting Disneyland. There was myself, husband and daughters 4 and almost 6 months. We drove there and found the hotel easily. Check in was quick and we were able to go to our room slightly early. We were in 305, which was in a quiet location and I'd recommend it. There was no cot at first but this was soon organised. The room was large with room for 2 singles and a double, however my only niggle was that once the cot was in there was literally no space to move between the beds or get to the wardrobe. I did ask the guy who delivered the cot if there was any chance to move one of the single beds to give some space ( you couldn't go between the beds or near the wardrobe but had to climb on them to get things) but he said it was not possible which was a shame and was what let down the stay a little. A friend stayed in a room with bunk beds and I think this may have given us more space perhaps?

There is plenty to do in the hotel tho we were at the park for up to 13 hours a day so didn't get to check it out really. The pool looked great and had we had more time we would have tried it for sure. Our daughter went in the soft play area and around the pirate ship one evening whilst we had a pizza on the return from disney. The pizzas were tasty and served til 11 and for disney were reasonably priced at 11 euros.

Breakfast was busy as expected but fine and withy he children the lovely last who greeted us each day fave us a able to the right which made things easier. The usual fare of bread, croissants ham, cheese, yogurts and fruit with coffee a plenty. If I would make one suggestion it would be perhaps to have trays available as without it made getting breakfast for 4, including children a timely thing as we had to go back and forth. But what was served was plentiful and perfect for filling up before a long busy day.

The hotel is outside disney but literally 5 minutes on a bus and as the first pick up and drop off it was even better! We would go to this hotel again and it made for a great stay and we have recommended it already to a few friends. :)

Room Tip: Room 305 was first floor and was quiet perfect for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mands1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JordaneVernerie, Sales and Marketing at Explorers Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Mands1980,

Thank you for you feedback about your stay at Explorers Hotel. We appreciate all comments and use them to keep doing things the way you like and to try change the things you are not so fond of.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, our aim is to make each customer feel welcomed and at home. We are glad that you enjoyed your breakfasts before setting off to a busy fun filled day. It’s great that you had the chance to sample our pizzas while the little ones keep busy in the play areas!

Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Disney®. Keep in touch with us via our Facebook page and let us know when you will next be visiting.

Best regards,

Adele Ridgway
Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magny-le-Hongre
0.1 mi away
Vienna House Magic Circus Paris
Vienna House Magic Circus Paris
#5 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,652 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vienna House Dream Castle Paris
Vienna House Dream Castle Paris
#3 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,472 reviews
1.2 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Chessy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
B&B Hotel Disneyland Paris
B&B Hotel Disneyland Paris
#1 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kyriad A Disneyland Paris
Kyriad A Disneyland Paris
#6 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Disney's Hotel Santa Fe
Disney's Hotel Santa Fe
#11 of 52 in Marne-la-Vallee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explorers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorers Hotel

Property: Explorers Hotel
Address: 50, avenue de la Fosse des Pressoirs, 77700 Magny-le-Hongre, Marne-la-Vallee, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Marne-la-Vallee > Magny-le-Hongre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Magny-le-Hongre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Explorers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explorers Hotel is ideally located close to Disneyland(R) Paris. Free car park - Free shuttle buses to the parcs(R) - Flexible rooms up to 10 people - Free wifi - 200m² water park with 3 slides - indoor and outdoor play areas - conference rooms - XD theater - free bagage area - A Disney(R) shop located inside the hotel - 2 restaurants + 1 pizzeria - 1 bar - reception 24/7 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Explorers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explorers Hotel Magny-Le-Hongre, France - Marne-La-Vallee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing