We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel unless it is free or you dont have other options.”
Review of Explorers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Explorers Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Magny-le-Hongre
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We were moved from Radisson to Explorer Hotel for one night and when we arrived, we liked the appearance of the hotel which looked grand with nice pool and some fun rides for kids but this is all that hotel had to offer...

We were checked into a Junior suite as we needed a room for 4 and it was told to us that this is a very good suite. First of all, the concierge was not willing to help us with our luggage while he showed us the way to room and informed where the breakfast would be served.

The room was really tight and it had 4 twin beds instead of 2 large beds we requested. Then, the room had more bugs than we could count... my kids freaked out and eventually without any help from house keeping, we got on to Bug hunting to help our kids sleep after a long journey from London. The bathroom was cramped and had a foul smell. the taps leaked and there was water on the floor. To my surprise even the towels were not clean and one of the towel even had a dead bug wrapped in it.

Somehow we crashed and in the morning, to our displeasure, the bathroom was flooded with water as we took shower and cleaned up. Since we had to check out soon, we moved onto the breakfast restaurant and we were further displeased with a very limited short spread of the breakfast which offered only few options in breads, bread spreads and cereals. We asked for some omelette and we were asked to pay 2 euros per omelette in cash.... !!!! Huh..???

The juice was all canned juices and it was spilled all over the place, the most of coffee machines were out of supplies so no luck even with the coffee...!! We finally called it off and headed for check out.

We reported our displeasure to the staff who did not show any interest in listening to us and instead told us that we can simply leave the hotel as it is prepaid. We asked for a taxi and he told us that taxi will come outside and they cannot call one.

Finally, we left the hotel and took the taxi off to our Radisson hotel. Radisson was lot more attentive and considerate to listen to our problems with the Explorer hotel and assured us that they will look into it and be careful and sending their clients to that hotel in future.

Overall, It was the testimony of French Arrogance, snobbishness and inhospitality.

Avoid this hotel unless it is free or you dont have other options.

Room Tip: Check the room first and inspect the room and bathrooms, amenities first. Dont expect too much from...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GoodCompanion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JordaneVernerie, Community Manager at Explorers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear GoodCompanion,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review from your visit at the Explorers Hotel.

We really appreciate your feedback as it helps us improve our services where necessary.

I am am sorry to lean from your review that your stay was not up to your expectations despite our best efforts. Your remarks will be shared with your teams, please be assured that they definitely do not reflect our usual high standards in terms of cleanliness and customer service.

The entire team hopes to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,987)
There are newer reviews for Explorers Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,195 - 1,201 of 3,988 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Perfect hotel for a family of 5 , on par with all the Disney resort hotels . Lovely big rooms , clean with easy access via shuttle bus to parks. A little expensive at 12 euros for 2 beers but it's disney what do you expect . The hotel has a swimming pool but beware men have to ware speedos which can put you of your dinner. Next time we go to disney land Paris we would most certainly stay their again . Brilliant hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JordaneVernerie, Community Manager at Explorers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Lizzie G,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience.

I am delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay and will share your feedback with our teams as your satisfaction is our top priority.

The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay here in a family room No 477.
Parking is plentiful and plenty of room to drop bags by entrance.
Check in was seamless and very efficient. You are given tokens for breakfast and asked what time roughly you will be going, the token then has your time slot on it to ease the flow on the day.
Our room was so far from reception, round so many corners but very quiet once there. I agree with the comments made about the windows, we have a 2 and a 3 year old and did not feel comfortable about leaving the window open, with a heater underneath it is very easy for a child to go from the bed to this and straight out of the window (we were on the 4th floor) although the response has been that it conforms to regulations it is still a hazard. If I had known that you could remove the handle I would have definitely done this (this information is not offered on check in or in the rooms - my suggestion would be to mention this on check in so people are aware of this or to have a sign put in the room maybe?)
The room was clean but very basic, paper cups and no milk for hot drinks. No air conditioning so very hot.
The facilities for the children are great - pirate ship play area inside and out, soft play centre and a brilliant swimming pool (Men must have briefs or tight fitting shorts as loose fitting shorts are not allowed) The dining is limited. Pizza, eat all you can buffet (€23.90 per adult and €11 per child) or a la carte restaurant. We had 2 pizza meal deals (pizza, chips or salad and a beer) for €40. there is also a cafe with cakes/coffees and another that serves baguettes and bits but we did not see this open until the morning that we left. There is also a gift shop and pool tables.
Breakfast is very busy and a bit manic, lots of bread, croissants, pastries, cold meat and cheese, salad, yoghurts and fruit. Cereal, juice and hot drinks. Microwaves also available to heat baby food.
Bus transport to Disney is simple, every 15 mins, we were picked up 1st and dropped off 1st so great and very easy.
Wi Fi free but useless.
All in all, good value for money, don't expect frills - basic but great for the kids and an ideal base for Disney. Yes we would stay agin.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Buttercups23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JordaneVernerie, Community Manager at Explorers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Buttercups23,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience.

I am delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay and will share your feedback with our teams as your satisfaction is our top priority.

The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

I think some of these reviews have been written by people who have some serious expectation issues. This is a 3 star hotel and is a great 3 star hotel.

We stayed here recently for 4 nights and loved every second. If we were to return to Disney Paris we wouldn't stay anywhere else! The staff are lovely, kind and helpful. We didn't go half board but we chose to eat at the hotel every night as the buffet was lovely with lots of choice and the pizza place is great value for money and very filling.

The pool is brilliant our girls aged 9 and 6 absolutely loved it. There is a pirate ship with a big bucket that tips, a mini slide off of it and also water guns etc. in the pool itself there are 2 bigger slides too. We used the pool every day. Men do have to wear speedo's or speedo shorts, my husband favouring the latter. This is due to French hygiene law and not the hotel trying to be awkward. The staff at the pool are really lovely about it though and there is a vending machine that sells them if you don't manage to get any before you go. We bought my husbands at the nearby Val D'Europe shopping centre for €4!

The number 54 (free) pink bus will pick you up just outside the hotel door and take you to the Disney gates. A bus comes every 10 mins or so. The Explorers hotel is the first pick up on the way there and also the first drop off on the way back so you can always get a seat on the way! The bus services about 5 local hotels and yes it does get busy but it's only a ten minute ride so doesn't really matter.

Some reviews mentioned about the hotel looking a bit tired....yes I'd have to agree in some places namely the corridors it could do with a new carpet but really if that's all then it's not enough for a negative review. The hotel is great and we all agreed that we'd definitely return again. Overall we had a brilliant stay here don't be put off by the haters saying it's not good, it offers fantastic value for money!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gemma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JordaneVernerie, Community Manager at Explorers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Gemma T,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience.

I am delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay and will share your feedback with our teams as your satisfaction is our top priority.

The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned home from a 3 night stay and we are very dissapointed to say the least. We stayed in room 484, and it was absolutely disgusting! It needs completley ripping out and starting again. Mould all over the bathroom, thick layers of dust everywhere and it stunk of a musty/dioreeha smell. This hotel is not cheap and we expected so much more. I understand rooms get tired over time but there is no excuse for hygiene. The corridors were also full of dust, carpets stained and threadbare, and strange brown marks all over the walls.
I feel cheated and feel we have been mis led. The photos look great, especially the refurbished rooms, but dont expect anything like those! Its the worst hotel weve ever stayed in. The breakfasts are basic with no cooked options (unless you want to pay extra). The restaurants are closed through the day. It was so bad we stayed out aslong as we could to avoid spending prolonged time in the room. The windows in the rooms dont secure fully either, which is ridiculous when ur on the 4th floor with children! (Whether it complies with french standards or not! ).
Reading through the other reviews, I understand only some rooms have been refurbished, but paying the same price for basically a dingy hole is ludicrous!
I cant think of one positive. Avoid at all costs, its ruined out hoilday which we'd been waiting for since last year and saving hard for. I wouldnt stay there again if they paid me, and I will do all u can to warn other families.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JordaneVernerie, Community Manager at Explorers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Debbie C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience after your visit at the Explorers Hotel.

I am sorry to learn from your review that the cleanliness was not up to your expectations despite our best efforts. Your comments will be shared with our housekeeping team as your satisfaction is our top priority.

Please be assured that this is certainly not reflective of our usual standards in terms of hygiene and that we will make sure this situation doesn't happen again in the future.

The entire team hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I have stayed at this hotel before on my last visit to Disneyland Paris, when I had only good things to say about it. The hotel hasn't fared well in that time and I don't mean general aging which I would expect but an overall deterioration in standards, particularly hygiene. The room on the second floor was very shabby and the carpet in the corridor and stairwell was stained and threadbare!
The room was not properly cleaned when we arrived with hair in the bath and around the sink. The next day after having used the bath, it was not cleaned at all but at least this time it was our own hair to clean up!
The toilet paper allowance was ridiculous. Each day only half a roll was supplied for a family of four! We had to ask at guest services for more which we had to hide in case it was taken away!
On a more positive note the breakfast was plentiful, the staff helpful and polite and the facilities on offer all great for a family hotel. If they sort out the areas highlighted I would happily rate this hotel five stars.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in 200 range.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patricia t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JordaneVernerie, Community Manager at Explorers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear patricia t,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience after your visit at the Explorers Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our breakfast and numerous facilities. However I am sorry to learn from your review that the room cleanliness was not up to your expectations despite our best efforts. Your comments will be shared with our housekeeping team as your satisfaction is our top priority.

Please be assured that this is certainly not reflective of our usual standards in terms of hygiene and that we will make sure this situation doesn't happen again in the future.

The entire team hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Expectation was high for this kind of hotel.....
No access to swimming pool with proper dress
One lady staff was really arrogant towards us...........
OVERALL NOT WORTH FOR THE MONEY
Location and transportation is the only good point About the hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank manu s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JordaneVernerie, Community Manager at Explorers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear manu s,

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. You remarks will be shared with our different departments as your satisfaction is our top priority.

The entire team hopes to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for a better experience.

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magny-le-Hongre
0.1 mi away
Vienna House Dream Castle Paris
Vienna House Dream Castle Paris
#3 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
4,811 reviews
1.3 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Chessy
5,546 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Disneyland Paris
B&B Hotel Disneyland Paris
#1 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vienna House Magic Circus Paris
Vienna House Magic Circus Paris
#4 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
2,881 reviews
0.6 mi away
Disney's Hotel Santa Fe
Disney's Hotel Santa Fe
#9 of 52 in Marne-la-Vallee
6,142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kyriad A Disneyland Paris
Kyriad A Disneyland Paris
#6 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
3,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explorers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorers Hotel

Address: 50, avenue de la Fosse des Pressoirs, 77700 Magny-le-Hongre, Marne-la-Vallee, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Marne-la-Vallee > Magny-le-Hongre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Magny-le-Hongre
Price Range: £77 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Explorers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explorers Hotel is ideally located close to Disneyland(R) Paris. Free car park - Free shuttle buses to the parcs(R) - Flexible rooms up to 10 people - Free wifi - 200m² water park with 3 slides - indoor and outdoor play areas - conference rooms - XD theater - free bagage area - A Disney(R) shop located inside the hotel - 2 restaurants + 1 pizzeria - 1 bar - reception 24/7 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Explorers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explorers Hotel Magny-Le-Hongre, France - Marne-La-Vallee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing