We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings”
Review of Explorers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Explorers Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Magny-le-Hongre
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Our first room in this hotel was in an area that had not been refurbished, it was shabby and not very clean. My wife told the receptionist that she was not happy with it and a very nice girl called Fanny assured her that she would get us moved the next day, which she did. Our second room was much better and seemed to be one of the refurbished rooms so that was great. Breakfast proved to be a bit disappointing, we had stayed in the Magic Circus hotel before and they had provided Bacon and eggs along with the normal cereals etc. and I have to say we missed it here. The chap seating everyone seemed to be in a real panic and did not greet anyone as he ran ahead of everyone nearly losing them in the process.(There were days however where other staff were on who coped much better). The pool and Pirate ship with water slides etc. was very good but if you are taking a day to stay and use the hotel facilities they turn off the water in the boat slides until 5.00 pm in the evening for some bizarre reason ? They also have a rule against wearing normal swimming shorts - these were also ok in the Magic Circus hotel so not at all sure that French Hygene rules cited as a reason for insisting on tighter fitted swimwear 'holds water' (pardon the pun).

Room Tip: We got moved to the 7th Floor and these rooms were refurbished and good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank carrickperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JordaneVernerie, Community Manager at Explorers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear carrickperson,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback after your visit at the Explorers Hotel.

I am glad to read that you liked our newly refurbished rooms and that you could enjoyed our swimming pool but I am sorry that our free continental buffet breakfast that we provide for all of our guests was not up to your expectations.

I will, of course, share your comments with our teams as your satisfaction is our priority.

The entire team hopes to have the opportunity to welcome you back so you can try our XD theater.

Best Regards,

Jordane Vernerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,224 - 1,230 of 4,098 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, especially if you have kids...Reception staff were brilliant esp a guy called Bassem, he will go out of his way to help u out - children's facilities were amazing...lovely spacious rooms-wld defo come back
Could not find fault

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JordaneVernerie, Community Manager at Explorers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Maggie M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience after your visit at the Explorers.

I am delighted to learn that you had a nice time with us.

The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back soon. In the meantime feel free to share your experience on our Facebook page too and then be informed of our latest news & offers.

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Have just arrived after a long trip, we were looking forward to staying at this hotel having read the positive reviews but... The room is old and dirty, no soap in the bathroom, it needs to be refitted and retiled, the TV remote is broken, the kettle does not work! VERY UNHAPPY. Not what we expected for the price we have paid.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Barns696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JordaneVernerie, Community Manager at Explorers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Barns696,

Thanks you for your review.

I am very surprised as your comments don't reflect our usual standards. I am sorry that the room was not up to your expectations. Please be assured that our team would have been happy to allocate you another one should you have requested it.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and improve your judgement.

Best Regards,

Jordane Vernerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Great location for Disney, great shuttle service. Rooms are tired, breakfast is ok but when spending £200 per night without tickets you don't expect to have to pay additional euros for hot items. The pizza bar, again ok but the staff were rude. We were served raw pizza, when I took it back the waitress poked and prodded it and actually re cooked it and brought the same one back. No apology at all! Don't arrive before 5pm and expect to buy a drink as nothing opens until 5pm. No security on the hotel, it's just open to anyone. No barriers working in the car park - vary odd. Would not return. Wifi intermittent and lacking in signal strength. Room 101 - avoid

Room Tip: Away from maids station they start cleaning at 5am
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jilf2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JordaneVernerie, Community Manager at Explorers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Jilf2506,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience after your visit at the Explorers Hotel.

I am sorry to learn that your stay was not up to your expectations and I apologize for the issue about the pizza. I will share your comments with our teams to avoid this in the future.

Your satisfaction is our priority, hence the entire team hopes to have the opportunity to welcome you back should your future travel plans call for a trip to Disneyland® Paris.

Best Regards,

Jordane Vernerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Good location if you plan to visit Paris Disneyland. Along the lines of value resorts at Disney World in Orlando. This hotel is not a affiliated with Disney. RER(suburban train line) station is at Disney and a 5-10 minutes shuttle bus ride. If you plan to visit Paris, travel is 35-45 minutes. Hotel breakfast buffet included. Limited dining options at nightOne of the few hotels in Europe that could accommodate all four members (Wife, 2 kids and me) in the same room. Staff was friendly.

Room Tip: ask for room close to the center of the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ppritchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JordaneVernerie, Community Manager at Explorers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear ppritchard,

Many thanks for your review.

I am glad to learn that you had a nice time with us at the Explorers Hotel.

The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Jordane Vernerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Ideal location to visit Disneyland with kids.
Spacious rooms up to 6 persons.
Nice pool area with pirate ship for the kids.
Free shuttle every 20 minutes to and from Disneyland which is a 5 minute ride.
Much cheaper than the Disneyland hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Belgian_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JordaneVernerie, Community Manager at Explorers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Begian_Traveler

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience after your visit at the Explorers.

I am delighted to learn that you had a nice time with us.

The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back soon. In the meantime feel free to share your experience on our Facebook page too and then be informed of our latest news & offers.

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Yust back from the explorers hotel.

I had room number 536.

Explorers is one of the 4 disney associated hotels, located to the famous theme park. This a second time this year I visited the hotel. ( 1 adult & 1 kid )

Check-in was fast. Friendly lady helped us very fast. Tips & tricks shared for saving on entrance fees. Room was ready at 3 pm.

Room itself was very clean. Received a 4 bedroom chamber. Coffee machine with coffee & tea. Separate toilet. Everything with a nautical theme. No remarks here.

The hotel has different restaurants. One of the cheapest places to eat! Fresh pizza starting at 10.50 euro. For me - best hotel meal you can have. Offcourse also all you can eat & a classic restaurants are available.

In the middle of the hotel there is a pirate boat. Half of it is a playground for kids. Other half is part of the swimming pool. Very unique. Also a very big swimming pool compared with the other hotels ( especially dream castle!! ). Next to the pirate boat there is a big kids playground. Again amazing! As a parent you can drink a coke or have a beer & the kids are playing.

Breakfast: You have croissants, bread, french pastry, ham, cheese, choco & marmalade. For dessert fruits & yogurt is available. For an egg or english breakfast you have to pay extra. It was this morning very busy. The waiters worked hard & tried to keep te place clean. ( hey you are in disney right? )

conclusion; I used to be a big fan of Dreamcastle & the disney hotels. Now I prefer explorers. Ok it is only a 3 star hotel. You don't have free eggs, the chambers have a bit less comfort as the 4 star hotels. But remember, this hotel has a very big playground, swimming pool, is very nicely themed ( & in good state!!! ), good restaurants & is always cheaper than the disney hotels & the 4 star hotels. This is the perfect place with kids! Prefer this hotel with kids above the disney hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Stoffke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JordaneVernerie, Community Manager at Explorers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Stoffke,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience after your visit at the Explorers.

I am delighted to learn that you had a nice time with us enjoying our activities especially for the children. It's great to read that you liked our pizzas and swimming pool. Have you tried our XD theater ?

The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back soon. In the meantime feel free to share your experience on our Facebook page too and then be informed of our latest news & offers.

Best Regards,

Jordane VERNERIE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magny-le-Hongre
0.3 mi away
Vienna House Magic Circus Paris
Vienna House Magic Circus Paris
#4 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
2,970 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vienna House Dream Castle Paris
Vienna House Dream Castle Paris
#3 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
4,915 reviews
1.3 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Chessy
5,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel at Disneyland Paris
0.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Disneyland Paris
B&B Hotel Disneyland Paris
#1 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
1,230 reviews
0.6 mi away
Disney's Hotel Santa Fe
Disney's Hotel Santa Fe
#10 of 52 in Marne-la-Vallee
6,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explorers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorers Hotel

Address: 50, avenue de la Fosse des Pressoirs, 77700 Magny-le-Hongre, Marne-la-Vallee, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Marne-la-Vallee > Magny-le-Hongre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Magny-le-Hongre
Price Range: £70 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Explorers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explorers Hotel is ideally located close to Disneyland(R) Paris. Free car park - Free shuttle buses to the parcs(R) - Flexible rooms up to 10 people - Free wifi - 200m² water park with 3 slides - indoor and outdoor play areas - conference rooms - XD theater - free bagage area - A Disney(R) shop located inside the hotel - 2 restaurants + 1 pizzeria - 1 bar - reception 24/7 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Explorers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explorers Hotel Magny-Le-Hongre, France - Marne-La-Vallee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing