We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great resort....Excellent choice !!!!”
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Royal
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Bad Ischl
Larnaca
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great resort....Excellent choice !!!!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

As you know the word Bad in German hasnt got the negative meaning of something not being good ...but it means Bathing , Bath , spa town .... so Bad Ischl is one of the great spa towns in Austria ...a cute , picturesque place where you can enjoy many things.... We had a great time and enjoyed the different facilities of Hotel Royal ....We got a nice room on a high floor facing the mountain . The breakfast was very good with a big variety of evrything..... As we were on a Half Board basis ,we had excellent dinner ( the only drawback is the hours ...6 - 8 in the evening ) which makes it too early for us.. But the food was great ..We had our dinner outside at the terrace . The spa area is connected with the main building by a glass corridor leading to the Pools...there is a huge , indoor heated swimming pool with special seats on one side where you can have water massage..the water is salted ....Outside there is a pool river where you are carried by the flow and feel the excitement...!! We really enjoyed ourselves staying at Hotel royal and it was definetely ...an Excellent Choice !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annarosa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    27
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
45
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reggio Emilia, Italy
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I didn't stay at the hotel , but I enjoyed full days at the Spa at only 23 euros a day, parking included. The "Termen" are unique, since they use salty water, that was a balm for my bones, skin and breath. I'm a Spa addicted and I like trying new ones and i can say that this one is super. Whirlpools are strong and continuous and if you go to spas you know that there are pauses in between, with lots of funny opportunities and in the sauna area you can enjoy breathing salty air that will help your skin and your breathe. When i came out my skin was silky smooth, my complexion visibly improved and I was extremely relaxed and wel nourished after a dinner at the saliera restaurant inside the spa. What else to ask for?

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank luisa1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cody, Wyoming
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

I had a great time here! was a great spa with awesome ammenities. they have a great pool that goes from indoors to outdoors, and even though it was january it was not cold to be outside in the pool. also, the food was fantastic! would definitely reccommend.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TombRaider25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

It was recommended to me by the ticket officer at the Austrian train station in Linz where I had just arrived by train from the Czech Republic (by the way so easy to do and I recommend doin both countries.) I wasn't sure where I wanted to go next I was just concerned about finding an affordable option for a city that I could then go to Slovenia from easily. The man recommended Bad Ischl with a side day trip to St. Wolfgang and he was so right it was well worth it. Bad Ischl is a small town but lots to do espeically walking around the gorgeous hillsides and the town and I'm sure in summer there is so much more in the way of arts and entertainment. It's a spa town and when I walked outside the train station I crossed the street and came to the Royal Hotel and spa so I went in and they had a room which included breakfast, afternoon tea (with soup, breads and fabulous desserts) and dinner and full use of their incredible spa facilities. I loved it!!! The food is amazing with so many choices all day and the spa with several pools, some with salt water as that seems to be a big draw here for healing especially skin irritations. They have a whole sauna are with Sauna Masters keeping you happy and warm and hot and well sweated out. Yes, there is such a thing as a Sauna Master and they work hard especially in the sauna which is outside where every hour they have a special session where you sit for 15 minutes with a group of people in the hot sauna and then you go out and either shower and then get sprayed or slathered with salt or some kind of fabulous concoction and then go back in for 5 more minutes. It's amazing and to be walking around outside afterwards to cool off and you can see the stars and the snow covered mountains it's fabulous. You are naked for these things in the sauna/steam area but it's worth it and don't be shy Europeans are used to doing the naked spa thing so we Americans just need to join in and enjoy the freedom. There is also in this area a heavily salted warm pool where you can float and relax afterwards (yes naked as well) and relieve all tension in your muscles. In the other area of spa (all wearing bathing suits) there are two outdoor pools even in winter, one that has a lazy river where you just let the current push you along and the other which is heavily salted and still warm. I just loved the whole experience and it's worth a visit. And a day visit to St. Wolfgang is recommended especially if you are there between April and the December because they have a train that takes you up into the mountains and it looks like fun. And the staff at the hotel are so friendly and spoke English and the buses going and coming to this area are easy. I took the #150 from Bad Ischl just across the street from the hotel directly to Salzburg where I caught a direct train to Ljubljana, Slovenia. And if you are just staying in Austria and Bad Ischl you can do Salzburg as a day trip since the bus only takes and hour and half to get there.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Happytravels017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012 via mobile

Excellent thermal salt spa with hotel and restaurant attached.
Various warm water pools, lazy river, saunas, water treatments and beauty parlours.
Stays open until midnight.

The only problem is that you look up and somehow the day has disappeared while you were busy doing nothing.
The restaurant in the spa, Saliera, is good stuff (prawn stir fry freshly done in front of you and draft beer).

Oh, yes, the afternoon cakes will undo all the hard work you may have done during the day.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeTittensor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We have been here five out of the past seven years and find this the best spa and resort hotel we have been to.

If you like the water, saunas, good food and a fine scenic location, Thermenhotel Bad Ischl is a must.

The Thermonhotel underwent a major renovation three years ago and has become an even more wonderful venue for families and couples alike. The adjacent saltwater pool is a great start to the day before a sumptuous breakfast after a nice sleep in one of the spacious rooms in the Hotel.

The breakfast is always a multiple choice of many great assortments of yogurts, fresh fruits, breads, eggs, sausages, bacon and many other spreads and jellies and jams.

After breakfast you can take in a great many walks around the town of Bad Ischl and area or even head back to the saltwater pool, the water park, the large warm pool, many other Jacuzzi type pools including a kids area.

There is an adults/nude area where you can take in a number of saunas, steam baths and other fine relaxing concepts. When the sun is out, the all nude sunbathing area allows you freedom and also a good way to complete your tan!

After all of this is over, you can have a number of different treatments/massages with the Thermen part of the facility.

If that is not enough, take in the "kucken" at three p.m. for a nice assortment of desserts and cocktails if you wish.

Dinner is amazing... Your choice of several dishes from the menu which is different every day and all the trimmings included in a buffet style of salad bar, bread bar, cheese bar and dessert station.

You'll like this one for sure!

Jim and Galina Vincent

Room Tip: Get one in the new wings facing the water park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We've gone to the Hotel Royal once or twice a year for the past several years, the last time being this past weekend. Overall, the experience is always good - the service is excellent (staff turnover is quite low - it's nice to see the same faces at the reception and in the dining room), the meals concept is great, the pools are clean, well-maintained and relaxing. Our last experience there was somewhat less than good, but only partly the hotel's fault. Our first day there was an Austrian national holiday (Wednesday) and since the aquapark is open to the public, not just to hotel guests, we were surrounded by hyper older teenagers who were making quite a nuisance of themselves. Generally the clientele leans towards the older folks who are there to soak the arthritis out of their bones and families with young children, so it was rather jarring and annoying... The second thing was that much of the food at dinner was unbelievably oversalted - I haven't yet written to the hotel to tell them this, but it was really unpleasant. Maybe it was a new chef that weekend or something, but it certainly was never like that before.

Good things: the breakfast/brunch buffet is excellent - a huge choice of good things to eat, including eggs cooked however you like, cereals, yogurts, fruit, bread, cheese, meat, etc - all you can eat, which you should, since there's no lunch offered. Dinner is served either buffet style or choice of appetizers/entrees/desserts from a selection of three or four. The food is also a bit too over the top for my taste - they try hard to make it fancy, and sometimes it would be nice if they'd just do some nice basic but really well prepared Austrian food. The rooms: always spotless and comfortable, and if you're on the southwest side, you get a wonderful view of the town and the surrounding mountains. The main niggle is that they really need to upgrade to hotel-wide wifi - you can borrow an ethernet cable at the front desk and hardwire in your laptop, but you're out of luck if you only have an iPad. The hotel is located right on the edge of downtown, so it's nice to go out in the afternoon for a stroll, maybe some lunch if you ate breakfast too early, do some sightseeing. I can highly recommend the Zauner restaurant by the river and the Zauner cafe afterwards on the main shopping street for dessert!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pools/spa area, otherwise you're just going to get street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bad Ischl
0.5 mi away
Villa Seilern Vital Resort
Villa Seilern Vital Resort
#1 of 10 in Bad Ischl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Goldenes Schiff
Hotel Goldenes Schiff
#3 of 10 in Bad Ischl
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Landhotel Hubertushof
Landhotel Hubertushof
#4 of 10 in Bad Ischl
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Goldener Ochs
Hotel Goldener Ochs
#5 of 10 in Bad Ischl
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
8.5 mi away
Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl
10.5 mi away
Seehotel Gruener Baum
Seehotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 4 in Hallstatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Property: Hotel Royal
Address: Voglhuberstrasse 10 | 4820 Bad Ischl, Bad Ischl 4820, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > Bad Ischl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Bad Ischl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thermal Spa Hotel RoyalImperial holidays at the EurothermenResort Bad Ischl in the Austrian SalzkammergutTradition and modernity - in the perfect mix. The 4 star hotel Royal, located in the idyllic Bad Ischl, will whisk you away into a world full of enjoyment and wellbeing.Bad Ischl lies in the heart of the Austrian Salzkammergut. This popular holiday region in Austria spoils you with gorgeous lakes, a majestic mountainscape and innumerous possibilities for holiday activities during summer as well as winter. At Bad Ischl, where the Austrian Emperor Franz Joseph and his Empress Sisi spent their annual "summer retreat", the thermal hotel Royal awaits your arrival. During your thermal holiday in Austria's Bad Ischl, a touch of Royalty is never far away. The rooms and suites at the 4 star thermal hotel Royal offer modern and outstanding comfort. The luxurious suites take you back to the glorious past, where the Imperial household and Austrian nobility honoured the town of Bad Ischl with their presence. Look forward to unforgettable holidays in a truly unique atmosphere.Enjoyment and recreation at the 4 star thermal hotel Royal****The culinary delights at the thermal hotel Royal are a truly indulging experience. The beautifully designed restaurants offer a stylish backdrop for exquisite pleasures for the palate. Relax at the sun terrace or tea bar during your thermal spa holiday at the Royal-Oasis.Secure your room or suite for your stay in the Austrian Salzkammergut at the thermal spa of Bad Ischl ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing