We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family run hotel with comfort and charme”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Goldener Ochs
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bad Ischl
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A family run hotel with comfort and charme”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We returned to this hotel after an absence of 10 years but to our delight, the pleasant atmosphere and friendly reception was still the same. A warm welcome, a clean and proper room and a healthy breakfast are very good. The lady manager is always busy in the breakfast restaurant to see that every customer is satisfied. Many guests are regular customers and are addressed by their family names. We had room 358, on the 3rd floor, and could relax on the wooden balcony after our errands in this nice little town!

Room Tip: On the 3rd floor you get less street noise but at night the hotel area is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivano62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    41
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
17
60
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Bad Ischl is a calm place indeed. But a life concert in the center brought together everybody from 6 to 10:30 pm. A little bit to early to finish, but was fine. Because....
Bad Ischl is not Ibiza. Bad Ischl is a place that erase stress naturally. The recovery is guaranteed.
About the hotel- spacious rooms, well designed bathrooms. My room with a view at the river was perfect. A small, but well arranged spa - a swimming pool and a space to heat your bones in the sun.
People are really interested in your happiness. Truly. Thanks!

Room Tip: The rooms are all fine. Some are with a view at the river, the others are at the back side, but is f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaduPaunescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

A perfect location in this charming resort set amongst the mountains. A few minutes walk from the combined bus and railway stations; bus is the easier option to and from Salzburg, about an hour and a half away and with an hourly frequency and fantastic scenery.

We chose the option to have an evening meal included at 16 euros each (2 courses); very good value given the cost of eating out in Austria.

Our room was very spacious with excellent views of the river and market stalls beyond.

We liked the spa facility: decent-sized pool with inbuilt Jacuzzi, waterfall and foot massager, also adjacent sauna and steam room.

Curiously, our room did not have tea or coffee-making facilities. It would be wise to take your own adaptor(s) for any UK appliances as reception were unable to supply one.

Room Tip: Room 207 had good views and was of an excellent size
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimpa21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vatin
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We made a quick escape for Bad Ischl, with very good experience, in the hotel Goldener Ochs. Personal was friendly,there was also very good communication, what we have seen was clean, evening meals very good quality, breakfast was good, with less choice of fruit, but higher choice of meat, which was not possible to test in our three days. Parking is not the best, but probably the best in comparison to other hotels in the place. The indoor pool is small, but temperature was o.k. for our taste(about30). Our room was orientated to the north and we could saw and hear the river in the night, which was very positive. We used Katrin Seilbahn to go up to the hills. Do not miss it, when the weather is o.k.!

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are quieter and not so hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spurny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We came across this beautiful hotel (and town) by chance. After a long day of driving in heavy rain we were just looking for a place to spend the night - and then we changed our plans and stayed for three nights - mainly because we felt more than at home at the Golden Ochs. We were captured by the warm friendly atmosphere, the very large room (a perfect mixture of classy and modern), the great food (international breakfast - delicious Austrian dishes for dinner along with regional wines and schnapps), the luxury spa (my husband loved to swim in the pool before breakfast), and - last but not least - Monika, the lady at the front desk, who went out of herself to fulfil all our wishes. Wireless is available for a small fee, and if you are lucky you can even get a room overlooking the river Traun.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gab852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden-Baden, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

The room we had was definetely not 4 Star rather 3 star. The Bathroom had no door but opened to bed room but there is a separate toilet. Carpets look tired and need refurbishing. Food (half board) is varied and well presented. Excellent wines. Service is ok.
Breakfast buffet offers good choices and is replaced quickly.
Dogs are accepted in dining room at lunch and dinner but not at breakfast. We did not understand the logic of this policy. So we had to have breakfast in the adjoining 'gastraum' which doubles as staff canteen for the housekeeping clerks during their coffee break.
The highlight of the hotel is the newly refurbished spa and sauna. It is well equipped and clean.
A nice hotel, friendly owners and staff but rooms and lobby need updating.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

After reading the negative reports here, we were worried, but happy to say that our stay at this hotel was all positive! Service was good and with a smile!
Fantastic location next to the river in the centre of town; amazing spa and free internet connection in the rooms. Parking for a fee, but there is a street parking for free.
Breakfast was of very good standard and dinner at the restaurant was good and reasonable priced too.
Only "downside" was old fashion TV and furniture.
Warmly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hershie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bad Ischl
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldenes Schiff
Hotel Goldenes Schiff
#3 of 9 in Bad Ischl
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Seilern Vital Resort
0.3 mi away
Hotel Stadt Salzburg
Hotel Stadt Salzburg
#7 of 9 in Bad Ischl
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Resort Obertraun
Resort Obertraun
#2 of 4 in Obertraun
132 reviews
8.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl
10.2 mi away
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
#2 of 4 in Hallstatt
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldener Ochs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Ochs

Property: Hotel Goldener Ochs
Address: Grazer Strasse 4, Bad Ischl 4820, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > Bad Ischl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bad Ischl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Goldener Ochs 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Goldener Ochs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing