We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting alternative”
Review of La Conchiglia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Conchiglia
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fregene
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We just stayed one night at La Conchiglia. It was such an interesting experience staying in Fregene as apparently many Romans have their summer holiday houses there.The hotel, which appeared to have come from the time of La Dolce Vita but with recent improvements, was fun. The staff tried so hard to please, with great recommendations for one of the best meals we had in Italy at a nearby restaurant Il Patio on the beach which was full of Italians enjoying themselves. Our room was very comfortable with a small patio. The hotel is across the road from the beach...but swimming was not for me as the ocean there was still, green and slimy looking. The beach goers didn't seem to mind. Overall a good hotel in an interesting area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elenischoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights.

Pros:
- near all nice places available in Fregene
- amazing staff (helps with all your questions with smile)
- very interesting rooms design and very enjoyable shower (like a rain)
- to stay from Monday to Thursday (as from Friday to Sunday a lot of Rome people)
- free bicycles (conditions so so =) )
- auto spraying against mosquitoes on building

Cons:
- poor breakfast

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

I wasn't particularly impressed, especially given the €155 price. I think this hotel might have been grand at one point, but it was very dated.

We had a triple room, but only two of us had actual beds. One was just a chair which opened to a very uncomfortable cot. The A/C didn't really seem to be under our control, even though it had controls on the wall.

Despite claiming it was a "gastronomic" experience we never saw the restaurant open.

The best thing about the place was the shower and pleasant desk staff. I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvs2run27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This hotel provided a perfect retreat after the hustle and bustle of 4 days in Rome. We originally booked this as a "close to airport/last night stay" but ended up a perfect stay in itself. Lovely large, bright, clean room with balcony overlooking the sea.

The wonderful reception staff simply could not have been more friendly and helpful.From arranging transfers, (we came via Maccarese station - only 20 minutes from central Rome - then a quick ride with Giovanni for 10 euros to the hotel) local directions, late checkout then transfers to FCO.(10 euros each) we even borrowed a corkscrew for our stay that came in very handy!

We ate in the restaurant that night. Good, well-priced, food and wine - the chef even rustled up 3 seperate veggie main courses "off menu" for us. Wonderful desserts too. Breakfast buffet was good too.

The private beach there was lovely too.Quiet at this time of year which was no bad thing for a sunny stroll and a paddle. Made good use of the free bikes as well for a ride around the town and along the beach.

All in all, a wonderful relaxing stay and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripfaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Hotel La Conchiglia was a perfect quiet place right across from the beach. The hotel is a away from all the crowds of the city, but close to the centre of Fregene. In the outdoor courtyard with garden was green lush and beautiful. We asked for rooms in advance with balcony and sea view was lovely. The rooms were quite spacious, newly decorated and good beds. The beach was also clean and wide. We stayed at the hotel from 11 to 18 May, and the whole week was about 25 + degrees and sunny. It was easy and quick access by bus and train to Rome, especially when the staff was so helpful and flexible. The staff were really lovely with kind hospitality. The only downside was occasionally noisy renovation during the day, which was credited to when we left. Nevertheless the place was perfect for a total relax!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Spent 8 nights at the La Conchiglia in April 2013. This is located within 20 minutes from the FCO Airport. If you plan in advance with the hotel, there will be a shuttle to meet you (€ 20 approx).
The staff are extremely friendly and courteous.
Though this is some distance from the Rome city, you can arrange the shuttle to drop you at the Maccarese-Fregene Train Station and also you can arrange pickup from the station also.

The breakfast has a good spread of bread, jams, etc. I had Bruschetta at the restaurant for dinner.
They did not make any pizza. but there is a nice pizzeria and a restaurant just a 5 min walk from the hotel.
In case anyone wants, there is a "Simply" Super Market within about a 10 minute walk.

The rooms are very clean, cozy beds and blankets. The safe, hair dryer are standard. I loved the jumbo sized overhead shower a lot.. just like having a bath in the rain :)

I would definitelygo back.. the main reason for me are the above and the very warm friendliness of the staff.

Room Tip: Maybe the first floor rooms facing the sea are better since they get an amazing view of the golden s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chandima G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

The town is beautiful, the price is fair, the staff are very helpful. the restaurant on site is very good and has a wood fire. There is a shuttle to and from the airport. Call ahead. The room had a rainfall shower and a very modern design along with a heated bathroom floor. One of the nicest hotels i have stayed in. I have recommended it to friends for their Rome trips as a nice place to unwind and rest up. A previous reviewer complained about the hard bed. I prefer a harder bed so i was elated and slept quite well on it. My one complaint is the wireless signal was a tad weak.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Garreth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fregene
1.5 mi away
Hotel Corallo
Hotel Corallo
#2 of 2 in Fregene
69 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Rome Airport
5.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Golden Tulip Rome Airport
6.3 mi away
QC Termeroma Spa and Resort
7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Riviera
Best Western Hotel Riviera
#8 of 23 in Fiumicino
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Conchiglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Conchiglia

Address: Lungomare di Ponente 4, 00054 Fregene, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Fregene
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fregene
Price Range: £48 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Conchiglia 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Conchiglia” Hotel in Fregene is the perfect place for every kind of traveler thanks to its kind hospitality, gastronomic tradition and total relax. It is situated in the centre of the resort and at the water-front of Fregene so you can enjoy a beautiful sea view. It is only 15 minutes far by car from the international airport “Leonardo da Vinci” of Fiumicino and 20 minutes far from “Rome Exhibition”. You can easily reach The Eternal City ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Conchiglia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Conchiglia Fregene
La Conchiglia Italy/Fregene, Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing