We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice”
Review of La Conchiglia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
La Conchiglia
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fregene
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Nice”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We would stay here again. We thought the rooms were nicely done. They were having problems with the internet and phone on our side of the hotel, staff quickly moved us to a room in the lobby building. We loved the staff, breakfast each morning was excellent. We ate at the hotel every night, not many choices in the area, the food was good not excellent for the price. But it was nice, wait staff friendly and patient. You can't bet the fresh from the overn croissants. Must call hotel in advance to arrange for hotel transfer (20 Euros), or you can grab a taxi at the airport. It is approx 25 min ride to airport. (38 Euros). The city bus also goes to the airport, but you have to walk 3 blocks to catch the bus, which runs not exactly on schedule. The city bus was great for going into Rome (30 min. ride) and then catching the train, but I would not take the chance on missing a flight. Beach across the street was great. Bikes available for use it was nice biking through the neighborhood.

Room Tip: No swimming pool, beach right at the front door across the street. No fitness center, bikes availabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyMike65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    81
    64
    14
    7
See reviews for
61
85
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had an extra night after our cruise so we were booked into this hotel as it was not far from
the airport.
What a come down. Thank goodness it was only for one night. We had room 51, next to reception.
The room smelled of stale smoke. The air conditioning barley worked. It was shabby and in need of refurbishment.The towel rail and toilet roll holder were hanging off the wall. The floor around the bidet was damp and lifting. There was mold in the shower and we saw 3 cockroaches in the bathroom. The patio was scruffy and in need of a clean, as were the table and 2 chairs outside. The only mirror was in the bathroom and the lighting was not good enough for it. The bed was firm.
Breakfast was poor, inferior quality cereals and only 2 juices, pineapple or pink something.
The gardens were neglected, though the lawns were cut. There were weeds in the paths, The outside walls needed painting.
Based on our room and surroundings I would not give this hotel 2 stars.
The staff were friendly.
The beaches across the road were all closed and run down with plenty of dog poo to dodge.The one beach restaurant that was open only seemed to have the staff eating there.
However there were plenty of eating places a couple of hundred yards walk away in the village.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margie489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We wanted to relax on the sea and at the same time in Rome, so chose this hotel. Although he is 3 *, but very home-style sweet and cozy. The room was clean, bedding and towels changed daily. The balcony was a prominent sea. Breakfast was good, and ordered dinner - excellent. The beach across the road for an umbrella and sun beds (we had three), we paid 10 euros a day.The bus stops at Rome & Fiumicino and to the train station of Maccarese at the center Fregene, and the center 5 minutes walk ...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrVladimir1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I am giving La Conchiglia, a 5* due to the service, though the building would be a 3*, however they are being refurbished in bits, this was the star of several Fellini Films shot I have been told, being the property of one of his Rimini childhood friends,with an Art Deco Feeling. I have booked a 2 night stay in order to be near Fiumicino and spend some time on the beach and destress. The town is a quiet rustic one. Some amazing mansions around but lacking walking pavements along the seaside. Everybody bikes around or drive. This a great town to chill. It has one great high street and a terrific seaside selection of restaurants. The hotel will borrow you a bike if you are keen to explore, there is also a fab green park nearby, with aromas of pine, eucalyptus and mimosa. I have originally booked a room with a garden, but when I arrived I have been given the choice to have a look around and choose my own room. Since one of the pros was free Wi-Fi , when I made my choice they were very open about the fact that maybe in the back -were the balcony rooms are, there wasn’t going to be great connection. So they moved me to the new phase( always ask for the ground floor rooms, they come with a little patio). The shower is a massive square head that makes you feel that you have been caught in heavy rain, the room size was vast, and it had one of the best beds I have slept on for a while, (ask for Room 51 next to reception and overlooking the car park). Breakfast varied enough for a 3 star hotel, a little bit of everything, pastries, cold cuts, yogurths, several cereal options, just do not expect a cooked breakfast. The hotel has very reputable restaurant and the seafood is very good (evenings only). Every single person working at the hotel is amazing, always putting you first. They give you a pass for free access to the Lido -a private beach club the street that has seen better times, and I do disagree with those who didn’t dare to get into the water, in the mornings between 9-11 it is like a warm still swimming pool with clear waters and you can really disconnect from everything , after mid day it becomes more agitated and it brings in some seaweed and conchs but it is fine. It is not Cerdegna , but if you have been to Barcelona city beaches, for instance, the water is cleaner and equally warm. Also if going to Fiumicino, ask them to book a ‘Navetta’ , their own driver service it will cost you 15 Euros vs. 35 of the Taxi. Another thing you need to know about Fregene: Do NOT go by train,which might seem quite tempting as it is 30 mins from Termini or 15 minutes from San Pietro there is very little public transport around and when it is it might not take you to Lungomare. My friend discovered a Bus service to and From Roma Cornelia-great connection on the Metropolitana and Buses. I am planning to come back next year. It was just what I need after a bucholic week in Rome and great way to finish my holiday. September 2013-in case you read this after 2013, will be in the low 30 C throughout, so you might make the most of it and enjoy some quiet time by the sea before returning home.

Room Tip: Ask for the ground floor rooms, specifically room 51. Next to reception it has a little garden overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anaclara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We just stayed one night at La Conchiglia. It was such an interesting experience staying in Fregene as apparently many Romans have their summer holiday houses there.The hotel, which appeared to have come from the time of La Dolce Vita but with recent improvements, was fun. The staff tried so hard to please, with great recommendations for one of the best meals we had in Italy at a nearby restaurant Il Patio on the beach which was full of Italians enjoying themselves. Our room was very comfortable with a small patio. The hotel is across the road from the beach...but swimming was not for me as the ocean there was still, green and slimy looking. The beach goers didn't seem to mind. Overall a good hotel in an interesting area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elenischoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights.

Pros:
- near all nice places available in Fregene
- amazing staff (helps with all your questions with smile)
- very interesting rooms design and very enjoyable shower (like a rain)
- to stay from Monday to Thursday (as from Friday to Sunday a lot of Rome people)
- free bicycles (conditions so so =) )
- auto spraying against mosquitoes on building

Cons:
- poor breakfast

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

I wasn't particularly impressed, especially given the €155 price. I think this hotel might have been grand at one point, but it was very dated.

We had a triple room, but only two of us had actual beds. One was just a chair which opened to a very uncomfortable cot. The A/C didn't really seem to be under our control, even though it had controls on the wall.

Despite claiming it was a "gastronomic" experience we never saw the restaurant open.

The best thing about the place was the shower and pleasant desk staff. I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvs2run27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fregene
Hotel Tiber Fiumicino
#1 of 23 in Fiumicino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Hotel Corallo
#2 of 2 in Fregene
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Ostiense
Barcelo Aran Blu
Barcelo Aran Blu
#404 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Hotel Riviera
#9 of 23 in Fiumicino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Conchiglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Conchiglia

Property: La Conchiglia
Address: Lungomare di Ponente 4, 00054 Fregene, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Fregene
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fregene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Conchiglia 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Conchiglia” Hotel in Fregene is the perfect place for every kind of traveler thanks to its kind hospitality, gastronomic tradition and total relax.
It is situated in the centre of the resort and at the water-front of Fregene so you can enjoy a beautiful sea view.
It is only 15 minutes far by car from the international airport “Leonardo da Vinci” of Fiumicino and 20 minutes far from “Rome Exhibition”. You can easily reach The Eternal City ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Conchiglia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Conchiglia Fregene
La Conchiglia Italy/Fregene, Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing