We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing Place”
Review of Red Cliff Lodge

Red Cliff Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Miltown Malbay, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“amazing Place”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

had a lovely family meal here we we all really enjoyed our tasty meals. services was top class and wanted for nothing for the whole evening. got a great welcome from the minute we entered which continued right through the meal. a most for anyone interested in good fresh locally produced food in the area

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wilson9ie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    16
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
lahinch
2 reviews
“Refined Dining”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Kitchen at the Red Cliff Lodge knows how to prepare and execute the wonderfully fresh produce in its dishes. The cooking was accomplished. Service was very professional and warm and the restaurant has a lovely bijou boutique feel about it.
Starters of Scallops and a wonderful goats cheese in Katafi were devoured in minutes
The Elephant Hill Sauvignon Blanc was a revelation and matched the Salmon and Monkfish dishes superbly. Pudding was equally scrumptious
The occasion was a birthday treat but this is a restaurant that should not just be saved for special occasions. We will be back .... if only to avail of John's wonderful guest transportation service

    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mavaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullagh, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely excellent”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I was here for the first time last year and also a week ago and the place is a revelation! Classy, welcoming, a very pleasant atmosphere. Nice lay-out with plenty of tables, but enough room between them. A chef who goes out of his way to fulfill my request for a dairy-free desert as I am dairy intolerant. The end-result was tip-top, compliments to the chef. Any queries were dealt with promptly. And if you want a small dance-floor...no problem, they'll fix one!
Overall, a fine place for a special occasion and also for walk-in.
I must say I don't know about outdoor seating, delivery and late-night orders.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Irene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naas, Ireland
Level Contributor
212 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Feb 14 valentine break”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Absolutely outstanding. Booked for one night in February 2014, received email confirmation from owner, perfect. Arrived to be greeted with fantastic view of Spanish point beach, the sea angry and the sun setting..just beautiful. The suite was and is top class, spacious, elegantly decorated with the added little touches of milk, yogurt and orange juice in the fridge, coffee capsules for the machine just waiting to be enjoyed at my leisure. Greeted by owner who guided me on the local options for food. Overall a very relaxing stay in a beautiful suite beside the sea in Spanish Point , great value for money and definitely see me returning again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank decdeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent private all season's getaway.”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

The red cliff lodges offers a superb balance between a luxury and privacy. I say this because each room, or to be more accurate, luxury lodge suites with their own front doors are situated around a courtyard across from the main restaurant. Unfortunately we didn't have a chance due to commitments to eat in the restaurant during our two night stay, so I can only review the accommodation. The restaurant did look very impressive and seems to be very well though of, I am sure other reviews will confirm the very positive first impressions.

The staff, we only met two (See what I mean about privacy!) we're great and exactly what what you expect running this four star show. The suites are spacious with sitting area, breakfast table and a novel alcove kitchenette with a hob, toaster, microwave, kettle and fridge which is stocked each day with a nice continental breakfast, this can be a nice feature because if your out all day touring and miss the general 10pm restaurant closing in these parts it gives you the option to employ a limited form of self catering to sustain. The bathroom is well stocked and decent, and my only gripe is the shower could be much better in keeping with the rest of the excellence. Not all lodges have sea views, because of the layout, don't be deterred, because there is a stunning beach is just across the road, a morning swim or walk is a additional option just a minute from the suites.

All in all,this is a wonderful private (romantic) getaway run to exacting standards, well located to discover the stunning beauty of Co Clare. Recommend!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 2cmyadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Cliff Lodge also viewed

Miltown Malbay, County Clare
Spanish Point, County Clare
 
Miltown Malbay, County Clare
 

Been to Red Cliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing