We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Wedding Location”
Review of Armada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Armada Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Spanish Point
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel and Wedding Location”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Two comfortable nites at hotel. Wedding recept in Atlantic Suite well done, superb food & good wait staff. "Irish" barbecue in Pearl Suite terrific . Fmly friendly. Pub warm friendly atmosphere with music.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank scjqslis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    341
    137
    63
    53
See reviews for
289
627
25
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Had two lovely nights . got upgrade to fantastic room. Pure heaven.Food excellent.Staff very helpful and courteous at reception and dining room. Will definitely be back.Thanks to all.Lovely and quiet .Ideal for families

Room Tip: Had sea view room.Stunning.Very busy that weekend, no noise,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlow
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

i stayed here for 3 nights , room was nice standard no wow factor ,but people we knew had worse rooms so 154 is ok , the reception staff were a bit of a let down , they rushed us , it was not busy, they never told us about the cliffs of moher discount so we had to pay full price. every other member of staff were perfect. the doolins pub was lovly . the best thing about this hotel was the food , every thing was perfect i never ate as much . it is a lovly hotel perfect for a wedding ..... would be lovely to have a pool or leisure centre as it is in the middle of no where with only a small town ,. not too much for kids to do but nice for couples

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mooner-pie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

This was our first stay in Clare and our first hotel stay with two small children (22 months & 2 months). On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist and were made feel very welcome. Room had 2 travel cots as requested and since it was midweek we had the added bonus of being upgraded which was a real treat given the aforementioned extra cots. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and in the bar on the second - both menus offered something for all tastes and the staff were extremely friendly. Breakfast offered a good selection of both hot and cold and again the restaurant team were more than welcoming. This hotels true asset has to be there team - something that can be hard to find in today's climate. I should also mention the views from our room overlooking the sea were truly stunning. Only minor complaint - phone signal is terrible and there is only wifi available in bars and reception - but this might be more a reflection of my love of my iPhone! Maybe a break from that added to the relaxation?

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Orla_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The hotel was very good with a large and very clean suite room. The decor was lacking as it is very modern and bland. Our view was several cars at eye-level right outside the windows. The pub on the front was excellent and highly recommended for a drink and great service. However the restaurant was mixed quality, empty and lousy service. We had breakfast and dinner included in our rate, but several things were additional charges at dinner, including a very poor steak (avoid the steak completely). The location is perfect for the Cliffs of Moher. I recommend it, just expect it to be clean but bland.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the view of the parking lot. I t may be worth upgrading to a room with a view, which o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveTexas70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayo Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Hotel is situated at the edge of the Atlantic with superb views of the sea and the hills. Check in was very efficient and the receptionist was welcoming and friendly. We were given an upgrade and the the room was superb with views out to the sea. The bed was very comfortable and the ensuite was well equipped. As we were there off season the hotel was quiet so the atmosphere in the bar was not great but the staff there were friendly. We had our evening meals in the bar and the food was good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Had the pleasure of staying in this fantastic hotel for a wedding on the 5th of October. Everything about this hotel is top class. Met with Marion who gave us a fantastic welcome and we were lucky enough to experience a night in one of their beautiful suites. The food staff and rooms were all top class, would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a getaway, especially with its location in such a beautiful area and on the beach. Also would have to say the breakfast buffet was as good as I have seen in any hotel I have stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaizy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spanish Point
0.6 mi away
Bellbridge House Hotel
Bellbridge House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spanish Point
578 reviews
8.8 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
1,016 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
363 reviews
6.8 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
84 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armada Hotel

Property: Armada Hotel
Address: Spanish Point, Miltown Malby, Spanish Point, Ireland (Formerly Burke's Armada)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Spanish Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Spanish Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Armada Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Armada Hotel where you will enjoy the sights, sounds and tastes of West Clare on the edge of the Atlantic ocean. You will be spoiled for choice with our dining options where the emphasis is on using wild, seasonal and local produce in the Pearl Restaurant, Ocean Bar and the traditional Johnny Burke's Bar. The Ocean Bar is the perfect retreat for a leisurely coffee or carvery lunch with bar food served 7 days a week. Johnny Burke's bar is a great place to meet the locals and enjoy an Irish Craft beer pared with some good wholesome food and you never know who might drop in for a live traditional music session ! And of course, West Clare is all about getting out and about and within a short driving distance you can find the iconic Cliffs of Moher, Aran Islands, the Burren and lovely coastal drives. The Armada is a great base for those who like an activity based holiday with surfing, kayaking, cycling and walking all available locally and the world renowned Lahinch and Doonbeg Golf courses are close by too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Armada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armada Hotel Milltown Malbay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing