We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“change of decor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Armada Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Armada Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Spanish Point
Certificate of Excellence
co. wexford ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“change of decor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

although there is a change of décor as you enter the armada hotel there absolutely no change in the lovely welcome you receive on arrival, the same warm and friendly atmosphere still exists with all of the staff its like coming home .we look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: choose a room with a sea view, it is most impressive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stellahayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArmadaClare, Owner at Armada Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you very much for the kind words.

we have just refurbished the lobby as you have mentioned, lots of great craftmanship usings unique materials like the Sugan Pannels for a West Clare Feel, and the Reclaimed Oak floor, and we have some more changed to come including a Spanish Armada display including an identical model, which we have a local historian researching and working on, and will reflect the areas ties with the San Marcos Galleon which was wrecked off the coast here in 1588, so hopefully it will be even more interesting when you return!

As you have said, a refurb means very little, if you havent a warm welcome, we are delighted to have guests choose us as a place to stay, with so many options available to them around the country, and hope that we never take that for granted or dont show it in our welcome, so thank you for your comments.

Hope to see you soon again.

Regards,

John J Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    317
    130
    58
    48
See reviews for
254
560
24
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I booked a week for my parent's ruby wedding anniversary. Having stayed there before myself, I knew they would love the hotel. I emailed ahead of their stay, and the customer service team are the best I've come across in months, maybe years. They pulled out all the stops and made it a very memorable stay for my parents.

Tip: Pay for the sea view. You cannot possibly stay in a location like this and face inland.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_FF_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed here with a group of old car enthusiasts (10 cars and 20 of us) for a week and were thrilled by the experience. As organisers of the trip, we had been careful to communicate with the hotel beforehand and ensure that we were all clear as to what we were looking for in the way of rooms, parking etc. and we were not disappointed. There was a little problem with the room allocation for the first guest to arrive but it was quickly sorted out and everyone got a lovely room, most with sea views to die for, all mod cons, including a jacuzzi bath, large TV and yummy cake on arrival.The staff everywhere in the hotel were absolutely delightful - all with a smile and an friendly quip, advice as to where to go to see the best of the area, nothing too much trouble. The restaurant was good and the food excellent, especially those leek and pork sausages for breakfast! The little bar was fun and the live music wonderful. The other bar in the hotel looking to the sea was a little dark and dismal, nothing to make you want to sit in there for a drink and bar snack. It would really lift the whole place if this area had a good makeover.
But overall ,we think the hotel is worth a return visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in 122 overlooking the sea - wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asker, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

An amazing experience. I stayed in a family room with two small children (18 months & 3 years). The room was huge, ample room for the children the play in. Lovely decor, nice bathroom & fantastic views. The staff were exceptional. They couldn't have help me enough. I had some strange requests for room service (for the kids). From the moment we walked into the moment we left, we experienced a genuine welcome from everyone there. The refurbished lobby looks fantastic too :-) The food was excellent. A very pleasant stay (and reasonably priced), I would recommend this hotel anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyHeelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a wonderful single night stay here recently during our world tour of Clare. The location of the hotel is top class as it gazes out on the wild Atlantic Ocean. The girl at reception was extremely helpful and welcoming. The traditional music in the bar had the place hopping and everybody was in great form, in no small part due to the lovely weather that day. The Irish breakfast the following morning was excellent and included everything you could possibly desire to eat for breakfast. In particular, it was great to have lean Irish bacon (back rashers to us Irish) in our great fry up. It was probably a little bit cheeky to have a supplement on such a common item as omelet but the choice was so wide that we were unaffected. All the staff throughout the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful.

This is a wonderful venue from which to explore Co Clare as it is within easy driving range of all the sights to be seen and enjoyed in this beautiful county from Kinvara and Ballyvaughan in the north to Loop Head lighthouse and Kilrush in the south. The Cliffs of Moher are not to be missed. We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chouskikou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caragh, Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Arrived 7pm ish with a bus load last Sunday. The receptionist was extremely helpful in checking in . When it comes to the room they where clean spacious really nice laid out . The toilet was spotless. Came down for dinner. There was an after's of a wedding on and in restaurant was full. Our food came out beautifully and in great amounts . Well done chef . Also the 2 waiter's where great.Richard and ...... (sorry im bad with names . Next morning came down and was met with a polite night porter who even offered to carry the luggage on to the bus while he was cleaning. Breakfast again food was brilliant.its was a buffet. Beautiful it was . And to top it off came out and met with another helpfull receptionist. ..what a great hotel with great staff .
Richard the bus driver

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard747_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

I returned Friday from a mid-week 2 night break (bed and breakfast and one evening meal) with my sister and mother. After check-in, due to availability and the fact that we were celebrating our Mum's birthday, we were upgraded to a beautiful sea-view room. The room was only fabulous, bright and spacious, lovely en-suite with Jacuzzi bath, robes and slippers, but best of all was the breathtaking view out of all the windows, it was just beautiful. Our Mum said she could sit by the window all day looking out at the waves coming in on the lovely sandy beach and the surfers having their fun!! As I walked down the corridor of the hotel, I had the good fortune of meeting the accommodation manager, Marian, who was ever so friendly and went totally out of her way to make our stay in the Armada Hotel a most memorable one, and indeed a very special one for our Mum. I found all the staff to be very pleasant and accommodating, including the ladies at reception, Darren in the bar, and the dining room staff. The choice of food for breakfast in the morning was great and I thoroughly enjoyed in particular the hotels homemade granola, and berry compote. The bar was cosy with a lovely atmosphere, and if you forget your book you can always visit their library which had a great variety of books. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Armada hotel and we look forward to returning again sometime.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spanish Point
0.6 mi away
Bellbridge House Hotel
Bellbridge House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spanish Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
8.8 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
18.9 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#3 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
7.4 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armada Hotel

Property: Armada Hotel
Address: Spanish Point, Miltown Malby, Spanish Point, Ireland (Formerly Burke's Armada)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Spanish Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Spanish Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Armada Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Armada Hotel where you will enjoy the sights, sounds and tastes of West Clare on the edge of the Atlantic ocean. You will be spoiled for choice with our dining options where the emphasis is on using wild, seasonal and local produce in the Pearl Restaurant, Ocean Bar and the traditional Johnny Burke's Bar. The Ocean Bar is the perfect retreat for a leisurely coffee or carvery lunch with bar food served 7 days a week. Johnny Burke's bar is a great place to meet the locals and enjoy an Irish Craft beer pared with some good wholesome food and you never know who might drop in for a live traditional music session ! And of course, West Clare is all about getting out and about and within a short driving distance you can find the iconic Cliffs of Moher, Aran Islands, the Burren and lovely coastal drives. The Armada is a great base for those who like an activity based holiday with surfing, kayaking, cycling and walking all available locally and the world renowned Lahinch and Doonbeg Golf courses are close by too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Armada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armada Hotel Milltown Malbay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing