We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and fun day!”
Review of Life Italian Style

Life Italian Style
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Cannara
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Horseback riding & winery tours, cooking classes, cycling in the countryside, local farm tours and personal chef service. Jennifer, a professional chef for over 15 years leads fun excursions for travelers to Umbria, all from an eno-gastronomical point of view!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We rented a villa in Umbria with two other couples, and a highlight of our week was our day with Jennifer. She came to the villa completely prepared with all the ingredients and utensils, and spent five or six hours with us -- teaching, talking, tasting and sharing the wines she brought with her. Jennifer taught us to make several typical dishes and techniques, and we all sat down to a huge, delicious meal. Not only is Jennifer an accomplished chef and teacher, but she is a wonderful source of information about local foods and the reason for variations in different regions, and about life in general in Italia. We are inspired to replicate these dishes on our own. Jennifer gave us the confidence to try to make pasta from scratch . . .and to stuff and fry zucchini blossoms -- now that takes a talented woman!

Thank Nancy53_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennfier M, Owner at Life Italian Style, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thanks Nancy- you were a great group - hope to see you back in Umbria again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 102 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

This was visit number three with Jennifer and Federico! I was so pleased to be able to bring my parents to Terre Margaritelli for a tour of the vineyards and cantina and a delicious lunch. Once again, we sampled some delicious wines and Jennifer prepared a fantastic meal. It's always a pleasure to share the table with them. It's also such a beautiful setting, looking at the Umbrian landscape while sampling some of its best food and wine. I know that I will be back again!

Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennfier M, Owner at Life Italian Style, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thanks Peter - we always look forward to your annual visits!! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This was the only thing I booked ahead of time before going to Umbria for two weeks. My husband and I love wine and love horseback riding while traveling. Paying was so easy through Paypal; the total was 80 Euros per person. Jennifer drove us to the stables where we got on our horses for a quiet ride through the beautiful countryside and vineyards near Torgiano. Then her husband gave us a tour of the Terre Margaritelli winery that he manages while she prepared lunch. While snacking on pecorino cheese and salami, prosciutto, and pork loin, we tasted four of their wines. We were then served brushetta with tomato basil topping, an asparagus frittata, pasta with fava beans and parmesan, and tiramisu for dessert. All the food was fabulous. And it was fascinating hearing about Jennifer's adjustment to living in Italy. We placed an order for a dozen bottles of wine to be shipped to our home and were disappointed to learn later than we cannot receive them in Texas.

1  Thank terwms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennfier M, Owner at Life Italian Style, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thanks Teresa - it was great to meet you- we hope to see you again soon in Umbria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

What a fantastic introduction to Umbria! My husband and I, and a another couple, chose to do the horseback ride through the vineyard followed by a delicious lunch. We aren't experienced riders, but it was an easy ride with beautiful views! We lucked out and happened to be there on an Open Cantina day (Cantine Aperte) which included: a live DJ, wine tastings, and round of bocci ball. We loved our experience, and can't wait to go back to try the cooking classes or bike ride!

Thank RedDeWulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennfier M, Owner at Life Italian Style, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thanks Joey - it was great to meet you all - hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We ( two couples ) had been to Umbria before , and thought we knew the area . Were we wrong !
Besides the cooking lessons , Jennifer was a font of information of everything in the area . We would have missed St Francis' original chapel , with a larger cathedral built over it , if not for her .
We have done cooking classes in Italy before , but , this was by far the best . Being able to ask so many questions in English , and understanding the replies was invaluable . The winery tour afterwards , with her husband, was also very interesting . They are an extremly valuable resource of this area !

Thank JaneV93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennfier M, Owner at Life Italian Style, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thanks Jane - we look forward to seeing you all in Umbria again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Life Italian Style also viewed

Perugia, Province of Perugia
Montefalco, Province of Perugia
 
Montefalco, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Life Italian Style? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing