We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay in a small village”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palazzo delle Signorine
Ranked #8 of 10 Cannara B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay in a small village”
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

Staying here was a highlight of our accommodations in Italy. We were warmly welcomed by the owner's parents, who made communication possible even though they spoke no English. Jennifer, a chef, spent considerable time orienting us to the area, including recommendations to excellent restaurants. Angela, the owner, is gracious and kind. Her home is even more lovely than the photos show. Huge, beautifully decorated and appointed bedroom, modern and spacious bathroom, access to the kitchen and family room area, and healthy, delicious, filling breakfasts were provided. The family even shared food on a night when they were hosting guests. If you have a car and want a respite from being in touristy places, I highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaya127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
18
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hailey, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Forget Tuscany, Umbria is the real deal: gorgeous country, great food, picturesque hill towns, incredible wine and olive oil, and at a fraction of the price and with a fraction of the tourists. Palazzo delle Signore is situated in a town central to Assisi, Perugia, Deruta, Gubbio, and more. Our room was large with 200 year-old paintings on the ceiling, a modern bathroom and French (Italian?) doors opening to the town square below. Angela and Jennifer spoiled us with a breakfast spread you would pay at least 25€ in addition to your room elsewhere and there was always a homemade treat: ricotta crepes, strudel, macedonia with cappuccinos made to order. Talk about service-whatever your heart desires these two can make it happen: bike tours, wine tasting tours, cooking classes, picnic lunch... We will be back! Make sure you get directions, it is not easy to find otherwise

Room Tip: The "Epica" room is beautiful and spacious. There is some sporadic street noise, but it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roseniris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Palazzo delle Signorine is located very conveniently off the Highway SS75 near Assisi, Perugia, Montefalco and Bevagna(?) in Cannara.
Hotel is located in the center of this small village. We used direction given by hotel at reservation to find the hotel instead of relying on the GPS. Direction was very informative and had no problem finding the hotel. . Hotel had not it’s parking lot but parking in small plaza front of hotel was more than adequate enough to share with the neighbors.
B&B has big bedrooms, public room, dinning room and open kitchen. The room we stayed was very spacious bedroom + private living room,like a suit room in hotel. The bathroom was clean and modernly update. The internet access was offer at no charge. Break fasts were surprises, morning pastries, fruits, eggs, juices, and American coffee, yes dripped coffee. The B&B is run with great warm heart. All in the walking distance near the B&B has great restaurant called Perbacco, Laundry/ dry cleaner, groceries and more. It felt like home away from home. We will definitely go back just to stay at Palazzo delle Signorine even it means to going out of way to get there!! CIAO MAESTRO FRANCO!

Room Tip: big room and small room with same rate when we stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TTSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I stayed in the apartment for a month. Fantastic, Large bedroom, bathroom, lounge/dinning, kitchen/eating room. Such attention to detail and so expertly renovated with no expense spared on luxury fittings and furnishings. In this place the guest comes first,spoilt with welcome goodies. Nothing is too much trouble for this friendly Italian family. Comfortably surrounded in overstuffed sofas, chairs. Large flat screen T.V. Endless internet. Hot central heating, space galore it was hard to go out. The apt. is spotless and feels spanking new from its renovation, but all the historic features remain, having the best of two worlds. 40 years of travelling - This is my favourite accommodation. The monthly rate is way too cheap for what the Palazzo delivers. Well done Angela. Cannara is fabulous too.

Room Tip: The apartment is private and quiet, overlooking the Palazzo courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela_Paucchi, Proprietario at Palazzo delle Signorine, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Google Translation
Grazie Honu per i tuoi bellissimi pensieri. Sei una persona veramente deliziosa e un ospite speciale. Per questo motivo tutto è stato molto facile per noi. Siamo felici di avere contribuito a rendere migliore il tuo soggiorno. e per me un vero piacere averti conosciuta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We love this wonderful family-run b&b! I was travelling with my husband and another couple and we wanted to be in a little town, but nothing to touristy. Cannara is perfect - the townspeople are extremely helpful (even though little english is spoken in the town - but that is what we wanted!) and friendly, and the town itself is flat with everything in walking distance - there is even a museum. The b&b itself was stunning - we each had palatial bedrooms with clean private bathrooms. A great breakfast spread greeted us each morning which was more than enough to keep us going until lunchtime. One night, we even had a local chef come to cook for us as there is a well-appointed kitchen and gorgeous dining room. Also, perfect location - 10 minutes from Bevagna, Spello, 15 from Assisi, and 20 from Montefalco and Perugia - the BEST!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

What a surprise it was to find ourselves staying in the small town of Canarra in an 18th century Palace!!! Our rooms were enormous and on the ceilings were incredible Renaissance paintings. Breakfasts were laid out for us each morning in a modern, immaculate kitchen--breakfasts so large we had to explain we don't eat that much. Jennifer, who helps out with English-speaking guests, was a delight, orienting us, suggesting a trip to Bevagna, and to Norcia, and offering us a marvelous cooking class in a nearby town. In town there is 1 main restaurant, so we ate there 3 nights in a row. Do go to this restaurant, Perbacco; get to know Ernesto and you'll keep returning, too. Palazzo delle Signorine is close to Assisi, Spoleto, Norcia, Perugia.... I can't say enough about our stay, and at such a reasonable price! (Free parking, too)

Room Tip: There are three rooms, I believe. Ours had a sitting room...it is the one with the beautifully pain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonomaCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We were lucky enough to find the newly opened (April 2012) Palazzo delle Signorine in the conveniently-located small town of Cannera (close to Assisi, Spello, Perugia). And what a find it was. We slept in a large room with a newly appointed bathroom (balsamic vinegar shampoo). We had our own living room, not that we needed it as the other rooms were available to us. We slept (great sheets) under 500 year old paintings. The breakfasts were great with freshly squeezed blood orange juice. PDS is owned by a warm Italian family (Angela decorated the rooms with simple elegance) who has partnered with an American chef living in Cannera who knows the best restaurants in the area. We were able to visit all the Umbrian towns easily. Easy drive in and out of town with free parking. The price is quite reasonable.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful and the town is quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannara hotels
0.1 mi away
B&B Antica Dimora Delle Acque
0.3 mi away
Hortensis Hotel
Hortensis Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cannara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
2.3 mi away
Le Rondini di Francesco di Assisi - Agriturismo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Nonna Rana Holidays Apartments
2.3 mi away
Agriturismo Il Cicaleto
Agriturismo Il Cicaleto
#2 of 8 in Cannara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
3.3 mi away
Albergo Il Rientro
Albergo Il Rientro
#7 of 10 in Cannara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo delle Signorine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo delle Signorine

Property: Palazzo delle Signorine
Address: Piazza Cortevecchia 12, 06033 Cannara, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Cannara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Cannara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palazzo delle Signorine is an elegant aristocratic house from the mid 1700s located in the charming medieval town of Cannara, famous for it’s annual onion festival. It was originally owned by two sisters, noblewomen, who never married and lived a reserved and mysterious life within the walls of the villa. Completely restructured by the current owners, today the Palazzo offers elegance and comfort in a warm and cordial atmosphere. The structure consists of three bedrooms, each with private bath and an independent apartment, as well as spacious common areas both inside and out. Immersed in the heart of the tranquil Umbrian countryside, Palazzo delle Signorine is minutes from the most beautiful villages of the area such as Assisi, Spello, Montefalco and Bevagna and within an hour’s drive of Perugia, Norcia and Orvieto – the perfect sojourn for your Umbrian holiday! Palazzo delle Signorine is comprised of three spacious bedrooms, each with private bath, and one apartment for vacation rentals only. Within the villa there is also ample communal space: a large eat-in kitchen where we frequently hold cooking classes and other events, as well as a separate dining room with working fireplace, and a sun room which overlooks the internal courtyard. There is even a small chapel, once used by the nobles of the town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Palazzo delle Signorine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing