We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful facility, too bad about the service”
Review of El Mirador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Mirador Hotel
Reviewed 19 July 2014

we are just about to check one week stay. Beds are nice, about half the staff are friendly, management not at all. we asked to have broken lights rebulbed and the shower/tub valve fixed so we could use the shower: neither got seen to. one day breakfast included fresh squeezed orange juice, the rest of the time it was tinned and acidy - and what was served with it was on a par with the juice. one night we ordered two dishes delivered to the room: what arrived was warmed up from tins.
There is a lovely swimming pool. we used it friday afternoon, and were told to leave before three because there was a private party.
A few minutes we were told to leave because the management were having a private gathering there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank peebrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

Spent two nights here in July. Rooms ok for the price but staff Are the rudest most arrogant people I have ever met!
They closed the pool for the whole of our stay with excuses that changed on an hourly basis depending on who you spoke to. We were told we couldn't use the public areas as there was a wedding and the guests would not want to see us!!!
The female receptionist was literally screaming at us to move from the terrace as the wedding party arrived although all the kitchen staff were standing in the same are to watch the bride arrive.
We couldn't wait to leave and when we got the bill they tried to charge us again for the room that we had already laid for. When we pointed this out we had to wait for 30 minutes for a new bill. Ridiculous!!
The staff in this hotel do not represent the friendliness of the Spanish people that we met on our trip in the bars and restaurants of this lovely town

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fleetgirlsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

first time in this area of spain,I choose what I thought was a good hotel from the reviews. My honest opion of the hotel,The grounds and surrounding views are spectacular, the hotel appears to be set up for weddings etc. We arrived at approx. 2 pm. the main entrance was locked, rang the bell and was eventually let in. Check in was ok. Room 6, very basic, no coathangers, old tired scratched furniture, no minifridge. patio doors in urgent need of refurbishment. shower faulty on arrival as was the bath and shower diverter switch, still the same at departure. Breakfast ,the worst I have ever had or seen in my entire life, it was embarrassing.The least this place could provide for the prices that they charge is give a decent breakfast. Wifi available but at a charge.Limited times for pool use, 11 till 6. Overall very disappointed,On checking out the receptionist didn't enquire about our stay, maybe she knows something?

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigkevLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Let me start by saying that we love authentic Spanish hotels and were swayed by the previous reviews. However since they were written things have changed at El Mirador....
We booked a trip from 19-26 Aug 13 through lastminute.com.
Lastminute state: Rooms have Private Balconies, Complimentary Wifi, Restaurant, Outdoor Pool. Continental Breakfast.
The hotels own literature which they have on reception enthuses about its Alhambra terrace, chill out, restaurant cocktails and the gardens, fountains and spectacular sunsets etc etc.

Now here's the reality..
The restaurant wasn't open at lunch or dinner, only bar snacks were available. Continental breakfast was only croissants, toast and fruit,one choice of fruit juice, one choice of cereal, no meats or cheese !!
---
Private balcony was one long balcony with access to 10 rooms, all of who had to squeeze by us if we sat on our 'private balcony' and we only had 2 chairs when there were 3 of us!
The room had a fridge, it went off one day ruining what we had in it, the reception said its not their fault as the fridge isn't advertised as part of the deal ? There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room either!
There was a wasps nest in a broken spotlight right outside the room.
---
The Alhambra Terrace & Pool, what a beautiful place, stunning views, gardens, bar, 4 poster loungers, BUT, there were no mattresses for the day beds, the were locked away behind screens, there were only 12 standard loungers for what was advertised as an area for 72 people.
The fountains were never on, the water was stagnant and dirty in them and this caused a lot of flies to be around as you're trying to relax.
The terrace/pool was only open from 1100-1800 and the bar was never open. I questioned this with reception as they advertise, cocktails, chill-out etc from 2000, their answer was that they now only keep it open for weddings?? Yet they still openly use it as a selling point to attract visitors?
---
We had to get away from there everyday, the buses are great or its a 20 minute walk into Alhaurin. We would never recommend El Mirador unless you are passing for one night or planning a wedding.
Such a shame as it was beautiful and could be a luxurious escape :(

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redmel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2009

Lovely hotel with very friendly and polite staff. Stayed for 3 days, comfortable rooms, good food, beautiful gardens and views...what more do you need?
Only 5 mins drive from town if you want to experience some night life and only 20kms from airport and coast.
Will return very soon.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GI1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2008

Booked in on recommendation for an overnight stay and we were very impressed by this charming hotel located on the outskirts of Alhaurin el Grande.
Set in beautiful gardens, with terraces and views all round the countryside, the Mirador has all the facilities you would need, including a large restaurant. 5 minutes by car is a huge selection of different restaurants and bars in the centre of this peaceful yet bustling Spanish town.
We loved it and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank UKBernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank visitante852016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alhaurin el Grande
Hotel Alhaurin Golf Resort
#1 of 4 in Alhaurin el Grande
182 reviews
TRH Mijas
#4 of 27 in Mijas
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Cortijo Chico
#1 of 2 in Alhaurin de la Torre
207 reviews
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 89 in Malaga
560 reviews
Hotel Malaga Nostrum
#45 of 89 in Malaga
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mirador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mirador Hotel

Address: Carretera de Malaga, 29120 Alhaurin el Grande, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Alhaurin el Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Alhaurin el Grande
Price Range: £46 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Mirador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Mirador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing