We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is where the locals eat”

Restaurante Bar Sardina
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Restaurang Sardina Alhaurin el Grande Spain
Alhaurin el Grande, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This is where the locals eat”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I live in Alhaurin and can say that out of all the restaurants in the village this is our favourite . The menu is varied and includes lots of very good fish and meat choices. In the winter try the snails and in the summer the fried fish. Prices are good, on friday 4 of us (2 adults and two kids) ate well with drinks for around 40€. You can of course spend more....the T-bone steak from the north of spain and the pata negra jamon are amazing. It tends to fill up with visitors from around 8pm...although the locals rarely start arriving till about 10pm. As I say we were there last friday with a Danish family on the table to our right and the Mayor with his family on our left. A good honest family business.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PelicanSoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    49
    16
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great local atmosphere”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

One if our favourite restaurants in the area. We have been coming to Alhaurin for the past 4 years & always try to visit when we are here. A large menu with great Spanish specialities & tapas as well as something a bit different (the Carribean Pork & Grand Marnier Chicken are excellent & served with wild grain rice) Best of all we love the cobbled pavement setting in the heart of town, often with mainly Spanish families enjoying dining late into the warm evenings. (However it is equally nice inside at other times of the year.) Never disappointed yet.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sarniew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great value 14 Euro Menu”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We dropped into this restaurant after walking around town for a while and were impressed. The service was attentive but relaxed. One member of staff, with a dry sense of humour, speaks very good English. The standard of food was excellent, particularly for only 14 Euros. There was quite a wide choice. The prawn starters and the duck main course was a big hit with our party.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Owl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent food and no tourists!”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Super selection of tapas very reasonably priced- gambas pil pil was superb - friendly staff and good service. Even though only 17 kilometers or so from the coast you felt that you were in real Spain and not the concrete jungle.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tapas are excellent”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This is a traditional Spanish restaurant that has been updated in recent years. Very popular with the Spanish that is a good recommendation! We love the tapas here, slightly different and some are freshly cooked in the kitchen. Lovely atmosphere when you can sit out in the cobbled street at night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank h0j03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Bar Sardina also viewed

Alhaurin el Grande, Costa del Sol
Alhaurin el Grande, Costa del Sol
 
Alhaurin el Grande, Costa del Sol
Alhaurin el Grande, Costa del Sol
 
Alhaurin el Grande, Costa del Sol
Alhaurin el Grande, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Restaurante Bar Sardina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing