We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very Spanish stay in a very spanish town.”
other travellers have booked this property
New sunbeds and view out over the Orange grove to the mountains
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
New sunbeds and view out over the Orange grove to the mountains
As the apartment has two terraces , two bathrooms and three public rooms there is plenty of space Lower terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
New sunbeds and view out over the Orange grove to the mountains
As the apartment has two terraces , two bathrooms and three public rooms there is plenty of space
Lower terrace
Plaza Baja, the church square, surrounded by tapas bars 900m from flat
Our lower shaded terrace with vines and jasmine
Neighbouring street
Upper terrace and views over orange grove to mountains
The master bedroom with its king sized double and fitted wardrobes
New fitted kitchen incudes induction hob,hood,oven and fridge freezer
Dining room and french windows out to lower terrace
Newly fitted out kitchen with induction hob
Main TV lounge
Our second music lounge with real fire for the winter months
Evening view from the lower terrace
'Coolest' twin room at the rear of the apartment
The second double bedroom
Lemon tree close up (courtesy of guest Samantha)
Bougainvillea close up (courtesy of guest Samantha)
The 'pink' bathroom
Views from apartment over the orange grove
Dining room
Our street
Plaza Baja only 900m from the apartment, full of tapas bars and a focal point in the evenings
The second 'white' bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Alhaurin el Grande, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Tony_Jane...
West Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Spanish stay in a very spanish town.”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The apartment was exactly as Peter and Karen described it, very spacious with four double bedrooms a large lounge and dining room; both bathrooms have showers providing masses of piping hot water at high pressure (not always the case in Spain). The ground floor and upper terraces have fantastic far reaching views across the valley to the mountains in the distance. The lower terrace has plenty of shade where we could sit or eat, whilst the upper is ideal for us sun lovers.
The apartment is situated on the edge of Alhaurin el Grande, which is a typical Spanish town. It is set largely within an oval main street that encircles many fascinating and interconnecting narrow streets. The town has two main sectors a newer part and the older part which has numerous traditional Spanish styles buildings – churches, municipal buildings and private houses.
We love walking and although the town is on a hillside and contains some very steep roads and streets it is possible to walk extensively throughout the town. Much of the pleasure is that you will undoubtedly take wrong turns and as a consequence find some of the town’s lovely traditional Spanish buildings. Take it slow, walk on the shady side and use the handrails on the outside of the building in the steepest of the streets. Life can be made easier by hopping on and off the local municipal bus – weekdays only – that goes around the outer oval main street. There is a forest directly above the town and the valley below it, for those wanting longer walks.
The Spanish café culture abounds with lots of café/bars where you can join the locals enjoying a coffee or longer drink and pass the time by people watching. The town has many and varied restaurants where you can get anything from traditional Tapas to the high end dining. We love cooking and barbequing and the town has good quality butchers, fishmongers and patisseries plus many local small supermarkets. There is also a local market in the town on Thursdays.
Langoustines cooked on the BBQ on the upper terrace of the apartment whilst watching the sun set behind the mountains was a magic part of the holiday.
Getting around the area is easy, buses go to many of the local villages. Malaga and Fuengirola are both served by buses starting from Alhaurin el Grande and from either of these there are ongoing buses along the coast. The bus to Fuengirola is a must it takes about 45mins going right over the mountains – giving fantastic views – and for less than £1.50. We did the trip a second time just for the views.
The town’s people are very friendly, we both have very, very limited Spanish, a few locals speak English however many understand what you are saying and with smiles and pointing on both side we made ourselves understood.
Peter provides lots of information in the apartment and quickly replies to text message or any queries you may have, often with a few minutes.
A VERY SPANISH HOLIDAY IN A VERY SPANISH TOWN THAT WE BOTH THOROUGHLY ENJOYED, WE WOULD DEFINITELY GO BACK AGAIN.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2014
Thank you for the nice review, glad to see you enjoyed the apartment so much. The views were the deciding factor for us eleven years ago!
Hurry back! Peter and Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J
1 review
“Lovely spacious apartment with beautiful view in traditional Spanish town”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

It was amazing! Bit cold for the start but nice and warm on the end of our stay. sample of "real Spain" away from big city. The villa was just 30 minutes from Malaga airport by our hire car. Nice size of rooms, kitchen, living area. Lovely tarace with beatiful view. The villa has everything you need and is nice and tidy. The town Alhaurin is beutiful and great base for traveling around to explore area.
The owner Peter and Karen are extremely nice and helpful. Also taxi man from Peter's advise speak English and is availeble when we need him even at 11 pm. Also very nice and kind.
Thank you very much for interducing us to the wonderful place like Alhaurin. It was fabulous. Definitely too short!!! we would definitely back there soon!
Kamilla and Dan

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2014
Hi Kamilla and Dan
Thank you for staying in our apartment. As you discovered, the town has a lot to offer and is a proper working Andalucian town. A taste of the "real Spain". Juan our local taxi driver is great, and frequently plays more than one role! we look forward to seeing you again
Kind Regards Peter and Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andy t
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
1 review
“the real spain.”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

second time at this apartment,

owners very helpful and keen to ensure that your holiday goes well, lots of local information and tips provided.

apartment very clean and spacious, good local restaurants close by , and the town itself is lovely.

very much a taste of the real spain, hope to return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: central location.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2013
Thank you for the nice review Andy.I gather you did a grand tour of the towns restaurants we recommended in our restaurant guide. Really glad you had a nice time. Please come and visit again, you would be welcome

Kind Regards Peter and Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samantha...
haywards
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5* Spanish experience in a spacious apartment with beautiful views”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I have been travelling to Alhaurin for over 10 years, but have never before shared this beautiful Spanish town with friends. Last week I did just that!! Alhaurin is a traditional Spanish town and is so picturesque. The apartment is the residential end of town but is only a 10 minute walk away from some fabulous bars and restaurants and typically Spanish little shops and Kiosks.
The apartment itself was very spacious, clean and homely. We had barely put our cases down and we were excitedly fighting between rooms ( we age ranged between 30 -45!! ) The outside space with this apartment is also exquisite!! Two terraces, the first surrounded by gorgeous potted plants and in the evening you can smell the jasmine, lavender and rosemary. There is plenty of room too - we had a bbq one afternoon and there was 13 of us comfortably spending the afternoon eating and drinking on the lower terrace!! The second for your sunbathers, both private and not overlooked.
I can't imagine spending my holiday time in Alhaurin anywhere else.
The property owners are friendly and extremely knowledgeable of the town and surrounding areas, there is nothing they won't do to ensure you have a wonderful stay!!
Due to this holiday, our 5 "all inclusive" guests are hooked on self catering in Alhaurin and my husband and I are considering buying here!! This property comes highly recommended by Sam and the Gang

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The first terrace, spending time out there
Liked least: Having to go home
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
Hi Samantha
I am glad you all had a nice time. Like you, I am biased, but I think Alhaurin is a fabulous town and a taste of the "real Spain". We would happily welcome you back again
Kind Regards Peter and Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltcoats, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and amenities
Liked least: Not enough time to sample it all
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The area
Liked least: going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
West Kilbride, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2013 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Golf courses and proximity to restaurants
Liked least: Short duration of stay
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing