We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Traditional Spanish getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
New sunbeds and view out over the Orange grove to the mountains
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
New sunbeds and view out over the Orange grove to the mountains
As the apartment has two terraces , two bathrooms and three public rooms there is plenty of space Lower terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
New sunbeds and view out over the Orange grove to the mountains
As the apartment has two terraces , two bathrooms and three public rooms there is plenty of space
Lower terrace
Plaza Baja, the church square, surrounded by tapas bars 900m from flat
Our lower shaded terrace with vines and jasmine
Neighbouring street
Upper terrace and views over orange grove to mountains
The master bedroom with its king sized double and fitted wardrobes
New fitted kitchen incudes induction hob,hood,oven and fridge freezer
Dining room and french windows out to lower terrace
Newly fitted out kitchen with induction hob
Main TV lounge
Our second music lounge with real fire for the winter months
Evening view from the lower terrace
'Coolest' twin room at the rear of the apartment
The second double bedroom
Lemon tree close up (courtesy of guest Samantha)
Bougainvillea close up (courtesy of guest Samantha)
The 'pink' bathroom
Views from apartment over the orange grove
Dining room
Our street
Plaza Baja only 900m from the apartment, full of tapas bars and a focal point in the evenings
The second 'white' bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Alhaurin el Grande, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Gillsen
Saltcoats, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Traditional Spanish getaway”
Reviewed 4 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I travelled with my two daughters 9 and 10, my son 18 and my mum 73. Apartment was lovely, very clean and spacious with everything you need. A bit too hot at times but it was mid August :) Apartment is in a beautiful town in the mountains about half an hour from Fuengirola.(for beach) Town is very safe and locals are friendly. Kids and big kid had fun playing in the paddling pool in the back terrace and every other day at the beach. We didn't have a car and it is easy to get around by bus but as my mum has limited mobility, I hired a wheelchair from Malaga (which was delivered and picked up from the apartment) and we had Juan the taxi driver, very prompt and available to us 24/7 (which was a comfort to my mum in her health condition). He made us feel welcome and was very helpful. There are 2 small supermarkets just around the corner (with all the essentials), along with a fantastic restaurant and it is a must to dine in the main town Fri/Sat night as the atmosphere is amazing. Peter (the owner) was very hospitable and helpful even during our stay, he was happy to answer any questions I had. It would be nice to visit when it's a little cooler to explore the other towns, but thank you Peter for letting us share your Spanish home and experience the real Spanish way of life, which I could adjust to very easily! ;)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Living like the locals
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2014
Hi Gillian
Sounds like you all had a nice time, as you know we would be delighted to see you all back any time. May and October are both really nice months out here. Flowers are out in May but it is not too hot. Keep an eye on our Face book page for all the latest news.
Thanks again Peter and Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G
1 review
“Excellent Apartment / Location”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We travelled with our two children (4 and 8) and another family with a 15 and a 17 year old. Quite an age range yet there is something for everyone in this beautiful region of Spain. Trips to Mijas, Ojen, Marbella and Puerto Banus plus the lovely beach at Cabopino (just off the cost road out of Marbella towards Fuengarola). We have stayed at the apartment several times and keep coming back! Beautifully clean, quiet and very well appointed with two full bathrooms, 3 reception spaces, two excellent terraces (the lower of which is lovely in the morning and evening and the upper one a real sun trap), washing machine and a big fridge! Alhaurin is everything you would want as a base for your holiday, it has lots of life yet manages to be sleepy away from the main drag. Lots of really good restaurants / bars and decent supermarkets etc. Lots of support from the owners and very friendly neighbours on hand also. If you are looking for somewhere that gives a true flavour of the real Spain, with access to great restaurants, pools, beaches and towns you can't go wrong here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location / Terraces
Liked least: Nothing - what's not to like?
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2014
Hi Chris and Claire
We are delighted you and your friends had a great stay and used Alhaurin for a base to see all the nice places you listed. As you mentioned, you are well and truly on our ever expanding "regulars" list and naturally we would love to see you back soon
Kind Regards Peter and Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samantha...
haywards
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Return guest worth new recruits!!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I stayed in this lovely apartment approx one year ago and fell in love with it and it's location. I was home for 3 weeks last year before booking the holiday I have just come home from there!!
Once again the owners were friendly helpful and extremely knowledgeable of the area. The apartment was immaculate and there was plenty of room for me and my 8 family members.the views are beautiful and the town itself is fabulous if you want a real taste of an andulucian town surrounded by mountains and full of friendly locals!! I simply won't stay anywhere else in Spain and this apartment ticks every single box for both me and now many friends and family members!!! 11/10 - thank you for Letting us stay in your lovely apartment again!! sam and the family

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2014
Thanks Sam
We are gathering quite a collection of "regulars"! As you well know, you and your family are welcome back anytime. A first visit to us, is of course meaningful, but in my eyes a returning guest shows what a nice time they had before and is even more rewarding!
Thanks again Peter and Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Jane...
West Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Spanish stay in a very spanish town.”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The apartment was exactly as Peter and Karen described it, very spacious with four double bedrooms a large lounge and dining room; both bathrooms have showers providing masses of piping hot water at high pressure (not always the case in Spain). The ground floor and upper terraces have fantastic far reaching views across the valley to the mountains in the distance. The lower terrace has plenty of shade where we could sit or eat, whilst the upper is ideal for us sun lovers.
The apartment is situated on the edge of Alhaurin el Grande, which is a typical Spanish town. It is set largely within an oval main street that encircles many fascinating and interconnecting narrow streets. The town has two main sectors a newer part and the older part which has numerous traditional Spanish styles buildings – churches, municipal buildings and private houses.
We love walking and although the town is on a hillside and contains some very steep roads and streets it is possible to walk extensively throughout the town. Much of the pleasure is that you will undoubtedly take wrong turns and as a consequence find some of the town’s lovely traditional Spanish buildings. Take it slow, walk on the shady side and use the handrails on the outside of the building in the steepest of the streets. Life can be made easier by hopping on and off the local municipal bus – weekdays only – that goes around the outer oval main street. There is a forest directly above the town and the valley below it, for those wanting longer walks.
The Spanish café culture abounds with lots of café/bars where you can join the locals enjoying a coffee or longer drink and pass the time by people watching. The town has many and varied restaurants where you can get anything from traditional Tapas to the high end dining. We love cooking and barbequing and the town has good quality butchers, fishmongers and patisseries plus many local small supermarkets. There is also a local market in the town on Thursdays.
Langoustines cooked on the BBQ on the upper terrace of the apartment whilst watching the sun set behind the mountains was a magic part of the holiday.
Getting around the area is easy, buses go to many of the local villages. Malaga and Fuengirola are both served by buses starting from Alhaurin el Grande and from either of these there are ongoing buses along the coast. The bus to Fuengirola is a must it takes about 45mins going right over the mountains – giving fantastic views – and for less than £1.50. We did the trip a second time just for the views.
The town’s people are very friendly, we both have very, very limited Spanish, a few locals speak English however many understand what you are saying and with smiles and pointing on both side we made ourselves understood.
Peter provides lots of information in the apartment and quickly replies to text message or any queries you may have, often with a few minutes.
A VERY SPANISH HOLIDAY IN A VERY SPANISH TOWN THAT WE BOTH THOROUGHLY ENJOYED, WE WOULD DEFINITELY GO BACK AGAIN.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2014
Thank you for the nice review, glad to see you enjoyed the apartment so much. The views were the deciding factor for us eleven years ago!
Hurry back! Peter and Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel J
1 review
“Lovely spacious apartment with beautiful view in traditional Spanish town”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

It was amazing! Bit cold for the start but nice and warm on the end of our stay. sample of "real Spain" away from big city. The villa was just 30 minutes from Malaga airport by our hire car. Nice size of rooms, kitchen, living area. Lovely tarace with beatiful view. The villa has everything you need and is nice and tidy. The town Alhaurin is beutiful and great base for traveling around to explore area.
The owner Peter and Karen are extremely nice and helpful. Also taxi man from Peter's advise speak English and is availeble when we need him even at 11 pm. Also very nice and kind.
Thank you very much for interducing us to the wonderful place like Alhaurin. It was fabulous. Definitely too short!!! we would definitely back there soon!
Kamilla and Dan

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2014
Hi Kamilla and Dan
Thank you for staying in our apartment. As you discovered, the town has a lot to offer and is a proper working Andalucian town. A taste of the "real Spain". Juan our local taxi driver is great, and frequently plays more than one role! we look forward to seeing you again
Kind Regards Peter and Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andy t
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
1 review
“the real spain.”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

second time at this apartment,

owners very helpful and keen to ensure that your holiday goes well, lots of local information and tips provided.

apartment very clean and spacious, good local restaurants close by , and the town itself is lovely.

very much a taste of the real spain, hope to return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: central location.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2013
Thank you for the nice review Andy.I gather you did a grand tour of the towns restaurants we recommended in our restaurant guide. Really glad you had a nice time. Please come and visit again, you would be welcome

Kind Regards Peter and Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samantha...
haywards
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5* Spanish experience in a spacious apartment with beautiful views”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I have been travelling to Alhaurin for over 10 years, but have never before shared this beautiful Spanish town with friends. Last week I did just that!! Alhaurin is a traditional Spanish town and is so picturesque. The apartment is the residential end of town but is only a 10 minute walk away from some fabulous bars and restaurants and typically Spanish little shops and Kiosks.
The apartment itself was very spacious, clean and homely. We had barely put our cases down and we were excitedly fighting between rooms ( we age ranged between 30 -45!! ) The outside space with this apartment is also exquisite!! Two terraces, the first surrounded by gorgeous potted plants and in the evening you can smell the jasmine, lavender and rosemary. There is plenty of room too - we had a bbq one afternoon and there was 13 of us comfortably spending the afternoon eating and drinking on the lower terrace!! The second for your sunbathers, both private and not overlooked.
I can't imagine spending my holiday time in Alhaurin anywhere else.
The property owners are friendly and extremely knowledgeable of the town and surrounding areas, there is nothing they won't do to ensure you have a wonderful stay!!
Due to this holiday, our 5 "all inclusive" guests are hooked on self catering in Alhaurin and my husband and I are considering buying here!! This property comes highly recommended by Sam and the Gang

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The first terrace, spending time out there
Liked least: Having to go home
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
Hi Samantha
I am glad you all had a nice time. Like you, I am biased, but I think Alhaurin is a fabulous town and a taste of the "real Spain". We would happily welcome you back again
Kind Regards Peter and Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing