We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so glamourous 'glamping' in April”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Worldham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Feather Down Farm at Manor Farm
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not so glamourous 'glamping' in April”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

As the previous reviewer this was also our first time at a Featherdown farm. We visited during the Easter holiday arriving on a bright dry day but the remainder of the stay was sadly like we have become accustomed to throughout March/April making the sleep experience challenging.. Despite this we thoroughly enjoyed our surroundings. This experience is all about back to basics so we booked the 'with frills' package (wood burning hot tub and shower) would highly recommend this option as the extras including towels and beds already made is worth paying a little extra for. Tent was large and dry if not a little drafty during the unseasonable weather so if visiting in cooler months I would suggest taking sleeping bags or hot water bottles for extra warmth and to warm the beds. Our hosts Will and Anna were attentive and available to offer advice and assistance where needed. Although there is a small shop catering for all those little essentials like candles, bread, milk etc we found these a little over priced so made the 5 minute drive into Alton which boasts many of your well known shops to top up. Would we recommend? most definately.

Room Tip: Tents overlooking the field with views towards Alton
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilmissbossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

Our first time at a Featherdown farm and although the weather was cold and miserable, we spent an enjoyable couple of days relaxing with the kids. The tent is big and well-equipped and we can now confirm, very waterproof. The wood-fired oven/heater looks the part but does take a good hour to get going in the morning. Those looking for their instant caffeine hit in the morning are advised to bring a camping stove or a good book if they can't wait. There's lots to see and do around the farm and the surrounding area, with good food at the local pub should barbecues start to pall after a while. Will and Anna were friendly and approachable, with Will making the point that the set up is designed to make you slow down. Scavenging for wood to build your own fire (bring a small saw if you can) was just one of the few simple pleasures re-discovered. The honesty shop was well-stocked with a range of thoughtful items and the on site showers were excellent and warmed us up no end. It jarred a bit having to pay for essentials such as replacement candles, lighting oil and any extra wood you had to use over your daily allowance, but all in all this was a delightful few days in the Hampshire countryside rediscovering simple pleasures. The kids didn't mention Wi-Fi once.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jpbSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We keep going back it's so good. Will and Anna are great hosts, the location and tents are outstanding and the children just can't get enough of the animals. To put it into perspective, they do not want to leave once they arrive - they'd rather explore the farm, go on buggy trips to the farther fields and make camp fires. So far we've been 6 times and will keep going back. My only regret is that I didn't think of the concept first!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simon50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2010

myself and my family have recently returned from manor farm and are already booking again for october. Having 2 sons aged 6 and 3 this holiday was perfect for them they were able 2 feed the lambs and pigs get up in the morning put their wellies straight on and go looking for chickens eggs for breakfast, play in the hay bales they loved the freedom ! The tents were fantastic you got the feelingg of camping with the log fire etc but it was very plush inside the beds were extremly comfy and there was no need to take any duvets sleeping bags etc as the pillows and duvets they provide were lovely.
will and anna made us feel very welcome and at home really no need to leave the farm.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestSussexLeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucks
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Spent a weekend at the farm and it was one of the best weekend we've had. The farm is lovely, about 6 tents in total but you have a feeling you're on your own. Anna and Will who run the farm are very helpful, showing the ins and outs of how it all works. Tents are great - very large, and warm and beds are really cosy - no need for lots of layers! you have your own BBQ and fire pit for marshmallows outside the tent. Eggs can be collected fresh for the morning and the honesty shop has all you need for an enjoyable stay. Book it!

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank EmmaBake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

We have just returned from a Mon-Fri stay at Feather Down Farm at Manor Farm and agree with everything the previous reviewer said. Our two daughters, 6 and 3 loved being on a working farm and had daily opportunities to feed the lambs and hunt for eggs laid by the free range chickens.

Our fear of being woken at 4am every morning by the sunrise or with a cockerel sounding off were completely unfounded - with the window flaps down the entire tent and all the sleeping areas can be made very dark and we all slept well at night and late into the mornings despite the bird song, wind or rain as we stayed cosy and tucked up in bed. The comfy beds (proper mattresses, & ironed 100% cotton sheets and duvet covers) are such a pleasure compared to 'real' camping, as is having a flush toilet and cold running water in the tent itself. We had two nights and one day of bad weather but we didn't really notice as we stayed warm and dry inside, and went on outings during the day and didn't need to worry about leaving out belongings in our tent.

We hardly noticed the lack of electricity and nor was it a chore to collect wood & kindling from the woodstore, clean and light the stove in the mornings and evenings to prepare breakfast and dinner, we found ourselves relaxing into a slower way of life just as the Feather Down Farm website promises. As we were there during May half-term week there were also lots of other children in the same age range and our girls made new friends shortly after we arrived and had playmates in the morning and evenings leaving us in peace while we prepared our meals or washed up.

We also found the location wonderful, there are many activities to do nearby. It is about 45mins from Manor Farm to the New Forest where we visited the National Car Museum at Beaulieu and the Owl and Otter Sanctuary, and its a shorter journey to Portsmouth or Hayling Island or the beaches along the south coast.

We discovered that many of the other guests there were repeat customers and we look forward to repeating the experience ourselves, if not at this farm then definitely at another. We probably wouldn't go any earlier than the end of May however (It would be too chilly at night) but Spring is the best time to see all the baby animals. I'm not sure if there are rules about how close each Farm locates each tent to one another but at Manor Farm they were at least 50metres apart, with three tents in a row at the end of the paddock facing out over a most wonderful view which you can request when booking.

Real camping snobs will say a Feather Down Farm is overpriced and not 'proper' camping but we thought it was much more convenient and being on a farm adds an extra dimension to it too.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwinycLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2008

My husband and I stayed at Feather Down Farm at Manor Farm in Hampshire with our little boy who was 8 weeks old. We booked through www.featherdownfarms.co.uk which gives you a lot of information about what to expect.

Feather Down Farms are situated all around the UK and the holiday was a great compromise between full-on camping, which we weren't quite ready for with such a young baby, and a self catering cottage. Manor Farm is in Hampshire in beautiful countryside and Will and Anna who run the Farm are friendly (without being intrusive) and helpful hosts. We stayed from Monday to Friday - you can stay a whole week or just for a long weekend.

The accommodation consists of permanent tents - i.e. they have a proper floor and walls, real beds, a flushing loo and cold running water, but canvas walls, no electricity, no hot water and a wood burning stove to cook on. There is a shower block where you can have a hot shower. If you like trying new things and aren't too reliant on mod-cons you'll have a great time. Our tent had a room with a double bed, a room with bunk beds and a small 'cupboard' type room that children would love. The beds were comfortable with proper bed linen and when it got dark there were oil lights and candles to provide light. which gave a lovely atmosphere. We hired a BBQ for the week and used that most nights. One night Anna and Will cooked very good pizza in the bread oven which was fun.

There is an honesty shop where you could buy meat from the farm, eggs (although you can also collect eggs directly from the chickens), ice cream, beer etc. Anna has her own range of ready meals using produce from the farm and these are great to heat up on the wood burning stove. They also sell very nice cornflake cakes and banoffi pie!

We had a couple of days out, one down to the beach at West Wittering - a lovely sandy beach which I'd really recommend.

We had a really enjoyable holiday, it was perfectly manageable with a small baby (who slept for the longest time so far when we were there!) and allowed us to really relax and switch off. As someone whose husband has an addiction to his Blackberry and laptop it was great to get away from it all and spend some quality time as a family. A lot of the families staying had children who were a bit older (3 years upwards) and they seemed to really enjoy having the freedom to run around the fields where the tents are situated, collecting eggs and seeing the sheep and pigs. It was like going back in time and we will definitely go back to Manor Farm and try other Feather Down Farms.

  • Liked — Sense of adventure, like camping but a lot easier!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VickySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Worldham
0.0 mi away
Plush Tents Glamping
Plush Tents Glamping
#1 of 1 in East Ashling
183 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Three Horseshoes
The Three Horseshoes
#1 of 1 in East Worldham
134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cypress Log Cabins
Cypress Log Cabins
#1 of 14 in Fordingbridge
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feather Down Farm at Manor Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feather Down Farm at Manor Farm

Property: Feather Down Farm at Manor Farm
Address: West Worldham, Alton, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Alton > West Worldham
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in West Worldham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first ever Feather Down Farm in the UK and one of the closest to London, Manor Farm sits at the edge of the South Downs national park, a tranquil oasis for families for over five years. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Feather Down Farm At Manor Farm Hotel Alton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing