We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family fun”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Worldham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Feather Down Farm at Manor Farm
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed here during half-term May bank holiday. We stayed 3 nights and weather was mixed, but it really didn't spoil our break. We have never done a camping holiday before, so decided to book the 'frills tent'. from the moment we arrived Anna and Will were great, really welcoming giving lots of advice, great with the kids. The 'tent' was fantastic - we had loads of space for the 4 of us and the kids loved the 'cupboard bed'. Only thing I would say is when you got into bed at night they were cold, but you warmed up really quickly thanks to the thick duvets.
Life on the farm was back to basics, football, collecting wood for the bonfire, wheelbarrow rides, collecting eggs, but we all loved it. The farm tour was fantastic and great to really understand what they do on a day to day basis. I would suggest that people take enough food for the whole stay, including salad, vegetables etc. We didn't really have enough with us and although there is the honesty shop they don't stock fresh food, apart from milk and eggs. We found a small shop in a village but the selection was limited. I would also suggest taking extra candles - both normal and tea lights. Being in an environment where everything is fuelled by wood means you have to slow down. However if you aren't the type of person that can wait 2 hours for a cup of tea in the morning then I suggest taking a camping stove. The hot tub was great but did take a long time to warm up, but once it did we all loved it. Same with the shower. It isn't a cheap holiday but we all loved it and our kids have asked to go back next year so it really made an impression. I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: If travelling in a group ask to stay next to each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatalieBaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

We have just returned from manor farm and will be making our summer return booking asap!!!
We booked the frills tent for x3 nights (a family of 3 - x2 adults and x1 5 1/2 year old boy).
From start to finish we had a blast.
The weather was dry which was a bonus but nights are chilly so pack wisely and warmly.
Will and anna are perfect hosts and the pizza dinner for all guests on our last evening finished off the trip perfectly.
Anna was sure to put us next to a family with similar aged boys which was great as they had freedom to play when they liked and even managed to get some time in the hot tub which we were so happy we booked as an extra.
Tips:
The stove takes at least 45 mins to get working therefore, if like us you like a cuppa first thing, take a mini stove along to cover any times your wood burner isn't hot (it's your job to keep it topped up with wood and alight)
Take sleeping bags to take the edge of those chilly nights and mornings although the duvets are fab if you are restricted on luggage.
Take at least x4 camping lights for evenings inside the camp - easier than candles although we did have candles for cosy feel.
Pack slippers, warm pj's and dressing gowns and don't forget swimwear for hot tub.
Alton town is a 5 min drive away and you can grab your essentials:
Blk sacks
Loo roll
Extra candles
Handy wipes
Kitchen roll
Milk
Coffee / tea / sugar
Washing up liquid.
We had a welcome pack inc a few essentials but you may need extras.
We had towels inc in our frills package but bring extra if poss for the hot tub times.
The farm tour is awesome (don't skip it) we left in true awe of lucy and her love / knowledge of animals and the farm.
Our son had tears as we left - such a wonderful family bonding camping experience which we cannot wait to repeat!
Hope this helps anyone who is considering this trip - enjoy x

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tudseyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Just spent 4 fabulous nights at the farm, what a great time we had. A really enjoyable experience. We had a frills tent, and the hot tub was great! Anna and Will are great hosts, and made us feel really welcome immediately. It's a lovely location, and the perfect setting for a family break. Having other families on site too is a real bonus - perfect for children to make friends and go exploring, good for the parents too to have the odd glass of wine around the camp fire! Good fun cooking on the stove and without the usual electricals - if you fancy some home comforts though the Three Horseshoes pub is within walking distance and does excellent food.

Room Tip: Go for the frills tents
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taylorgt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Excellent Excellent Excellent - what more can I say!

What a brilliant time we had. This is our third stay on a featherdown farm and this was the best. We had a Frills tent and the hot tub and the shower were great - took a while to get going but that was fine - holidays like these are all about relaxing and taking your time. The tent was the same as before but with the added bonus of a sofa and a veranda. The veranda being a great extra as it was covered and so dry on the damp mornings.
The views and privacy were great - no passing traffic in front of your tent so really felt that you were away from it all.
The kids loved the farm and especially liked tempermental Alfie!
Anna and Will could not have been more helpful - we had car trouble whilst there and there was a never ending offer of help. They came round morning and night to check everything was ok and always had time for a chat. Nothing was ever too much bother.

The farm tour was great as well - great to hear about the workings of the farm.

The local information provided in the tent - walks and such like was great and very informative.
Because of aforementioned car trouble we were on the farm for 3 days with no transport and we did not get bored. Forced relaxation which was great.

The shop was great for those always forgotten essentials - yes a wee bit more expensive than the supermarket but it is a small shop so what do you expect. It was not drastic.

I would say go and do your shoping at the nearest supermaket (Sainsbury in Alton) and perishables such as meat can be kept in the fridge in the shop. That wasy you dont need to buy that much from the shop if that is the way you want to do it it. We ordered the BBQ pack and it was superb. The meat was top quality - even the children commented on how nice it was.

I don't understand the negative previous comment - perhaps they had different expections of their holiday but everything we experienced was as detailed in the brochure and more. This is camping so you need to bring layers and a hat for in bed at night if like me you suffer from a cold head. But once the stove is going and everything is closed down for the night the tent is cosy and warm.

We will definitly be back to this farm in the future.

Room Tip: If you can go with a Frills - adds extra to the experience and ask for one overlooking Alton
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Emperor's New Clothes springs to mind - a ridiculous price for what it turned out to be, and the 'luxurious' promises made in the brochure didn't really materialise. There was no 'experience', we barely saw the farmers apart from a quick hello in the morning and afternoon. It was basically camping, with a loo and a stove, but priced as a holiday cottage or even a country hotel. Good fun for a while, but in the end we went home early. We were damp and freezing, the children were cold and tired out, and too much penny pinching by the farmers spoilt the experience, meaning we had had enough after 2 nights. Not great customer service, and the shop was well over priced. Don't buy the extra stew pot - incredibly expensive for 2 potatoes and a bag of beef. The farm tour was good though, and the children loved the animals.

Room Tip: The tents overlooking the field have a lovely view. But if there are gales, they are very exposed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gawblimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This was our first ever working farm holiday, it was everything we hoped it would be and more. Set in wonderful countryside but not too far away from local amenities Manor farm is the perfect setting for a family holiday. We took our four children aged 7,6,6 and 4 and had no reason to leave the site for the 3 nights we spent there. The tent was great and had everything you could ever need provided, all utensils, very comfortable beds, cooking facilities etc and it was lovely and clean. The farm itself provided the children with an experience i am sure they wont forget, with bottle fed lambs, collecting chickens eggs for breakfast, riding on board a farm vehicle to explore the farm and many other hands on experiences. Will and Anna who run Manor farm where always around and ensured that everything was catered for including the delivery of fresh bread and home made cakes. The farm has a honesty shop containing lots of handy essentials and even a few luxury items such as ready prepared meals, ice-cream and local produce, all at a reasonable price. We will definitely return to Manor farm.

Room Tip: chicken run, the name of our tent was fab location opposite the sheep paddock and safe for children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

So where do I start ? Well after having a great time at Manor Farm last year despite the rain we as a family of 3 decided to have another go this year. I must point out at this point that both times we have booked the "with frills" package.

Manor Farm was the first of the Featherdown Farms in the UK and I really hope that the other farms have a clone of Will, Anna and the family and staff.

When you go on holiday you really want to enjoy the experience of knowing your welcome, that certainly comes across with this farm.

Its also nice to see a few very welcome additions this year, the "sofa" the veranda and the improvements to the shower are really very welcome.

One other addition is a saw that Crocodile Dundee would be proud of, this is really useful if your cutting logs for your very own bonfire.

Please do try the incredible food on offer, the sausages, lamb, burgers and the amazing stew pot are all mouth watering, why on earth we can't have this food in our local supermarket is beyond me.

So would I use Manor Farm again?, you bet I would, I would be back tomorrow if I could, would I use another Featherdown farm, I sure would but they would need to go along way to beat the experience you get at Manor Farm.

Am I happy with my holiday? 100%, Thankyou.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Worldham
0.0 mi away
Two Hoots Campsite
Two Hoots Campsite
#1 of 3 in Alresford
171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cypress Log Cabins
Cypress Log Cabins
#1 of 14 in Fordingbridge
283 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sandy Balls Holiday Village
Sandy Balls Holiday Village
#2 of 14 in Fordingbridge
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feather Down Farm at Manor Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feather Down Farm at Manor Farm

Address: West Worldham, Alton, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Alton > West Worldham
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in West Worldham
Price Range: £204 - £715 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first ever Feather Down Farm in the UK and one of the closest to London, Manor Farm sits at the edge of the South Downs national park, a tranquil oasis for families for over five years. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Feather Down Farm At Manor Farm Hotel Alton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing