We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book (everything) in advance”
Review of Doxford Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doxford Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chathill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We have just returned from the Doxford Hall Hotel and Spa. It is a great hotel and we agree with all of the previous reviews but... If there is one thing you want to do at a spa hotel it's book some treatment at the spa but - guess what - no availibility for the duration of our stay.

So... book (everything) in advance.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ichy-feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,241 - 1,247 of 1,316 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2011

We stayed for one night and all i can say is this hotel was stunning. The Hotel rooms are beautiful with spa baths and beautiful decor. The hotel is decorated to a high standard and in keeping with the character of the place. The restaurant was stunning with a real romantic feel and the food was superb including the breakfast too. The staff were really helpful and made you feel welcome and comfortable'. The spa is really nice and the hotel grounds were amazing with a fab maze. We will definatley be going again and soon. If you are looking for a romantic break you cant go wrong with this and is well worth a treat.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginger3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

The location and quality of the hotel, food, service and staff just doesn't come any better anywhere.

A superb hotel with friendly and helpful staff in a spectacular setting.

Couldn't find fault with anything and will definately be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grumbleweed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Amazing Doxford Hall - this is our 2nd trip and we LOVE IT!! Amazing food in the Restaurant - great value on a Sunday night rate for DBB. Even since the renovations the quality is the same if not better. All new and spotlessly clean!
Gorgeous grounds - good location to visit Northumberland or the coast.
Friendly staff - first class!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emsie220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

We had a one night stay at Doxford Hall booked through laterooms.com. The room was gorgeous, very opulent fixtures, fittings and bedding. Bathroom had a jacuzzi bath and a shower to die for. We used the spa which was lovely as it was a quiet Sunday afternoon in February. I can imagine that it would soon fill up in high season and that there would be a race for the seating areas! We ate in the George Runciman restaurant - the food was amazing and a special treat for the money. Breakfast was included which was plentiful and great choice of hot and cold foods. There is loads to see around the countryside e.g. Alnwick and Bamburgh which are lovely. We will certainly return, the staff were very friendly and extremely attentive.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RWGEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

I have stayed at the Doxford Hall several times over the last couple of years, starting shortly after its complete refurbishment. This hotel has got better each time. Like a phoenix rising from the ashes, it has completely re-invented itself from its previous incarnations, and is now a luxurious, welcoming hotel. The rooms are beautiful with lovely linens, and the bathrooms with jacuzzi baths are very special. The food is excellent and the staff always attentive and accommodating. Our mother and daughter break was a great success with lazy days in the spa, or a trip to the nearby coast for walks, and fabulous meals in the evening.

Stayed: February 2011
Thank Daisy005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Gorgeous rooms, really clean hotel and spa area. Good deal on internet, £99 bed and breakfast, breakfast VERY nice. Nothing around there, need to drive out in the evenings, the coast around the area ..particularly Bamburgh v nice. Absolutely would recommend for a "getaway".

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay11Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chathill
2.9 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
7.8 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
545 reviews
17.2 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
414 reviews
6.7 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
231 reviews
6.8 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doxford Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doxford Hall Hotel

Address: Chathill, Alnwick NE67 5DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Chathill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chathill
Price Range: £97 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doxford Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a relaxing and luxurious holiday, short break or special event Doxford Hall is your perfect choice. Each of our 31 bedrooms have their own traditional charm and character and benefit from modern facilities bespoke furniture and many with views over the gardens. As a residential guest you can experience the indoor leisure facilities, swimming pool, spa baths, steam room and sauna. Open daily, the award winning George Runciman Restaurant is a genuine experience in fine dining. Doxford Hall is perfectly situated for guests to explore the stunning Northumberland coastline, countryside and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Doxford Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doxford Hall Hotel Alnwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing