We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value winter break”
Review of Doxford Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doxford Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chathill
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
355 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Excellent value winter break”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

As we were on business in the area, we decided to try out Doxford Hall on a special Winter Break dinner, bed and breakfast deal and stayed for one night. You park your car in the car park but the attractive entrance you see as you arrive is not the main entrance. This is through an archway and we felt it was a dissapointment; it looked slightly shabby and unloved and didn't give a good first impression.

Check in was friendly although the reception area still lacked the wow factor we were hoping for. Our bedroom was The Mitford room which was spacious, spotless and elegantly furnished and we liked that the rooms were named after local castles with their details and paintings in the rooms. The bathroom was luxurious and modern with a spa bath but there was a problem for me with this as, obviously, it was deep and, with no handles and no grab rail, it was a problem to get out of. I could only get out by using the tap as a rail! The shower was over the bath so extra care had to be taken to get out of it without a rail to help. I feel this is an accident waiting to happen - at least you are provided with an anti-slip mat for the bath. We appreciated that the room had two comfortable chairs but you had to move them to another part of the room to watch TV. Doxford seems to be a popular wedding venue so we were surprised to see no full length mirror in the room nor iron and ironing board although you could request the latter. A clock in the room would have been nice also as we had appointments to keep; pleased we took our own.

Dinner by candlelight in the elegant restaurant was superb. The smoked haddock and leek risotto was creamy and delicious, the lamb was cooked pink which suited me fine and the homemade icecream was lovely but the brandysnap basked was too hard to cut with a spoon so I snapped bits off and ate it like that! Good homemade petit fours too. The calming choice of music and the log fire added to the ambience and we will certainly return for the food. We thought it was unusual that no-one asked us if the food was alright until they cleared the plates away and you only seem to get an iced wated top-up if you ask for it.

The breakfast menu was varied and there was an excellent variety of fruit but I would have thought an hotel of this calibre wouldn't put out plastic wrapped mini-cheeses; what's wrong with a small selection of sliced cheese as we have seen in other good class hotels?

We felt our break was excellent value for money given the quality of the food but would like to see more attention to detail on the hotel side.

Room Tip: It was mid-week in winter so there were no functions going on while we were there. Our room was qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flowerlady64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    820
    228
    98
    29
    12
See reviews for
181
727
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alnwick, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2012

From the outset it was easy to see how this glorious venue was awarded 'Best Small Hotel of the Year'. We stayed for our Wedding Anniversary and loved every minute. Our room was 'Grace Darling' a fantastic mix of period and modern features with a glorious view of the exceptionally well kept grounds and gardens. The hotel provides a splendid afternoon lounge service which we took advantage of whilst enjoying a glass of wine. The evening meal was exceptional. A superbly designed and presented a la carte menu served by the hotels friendly and professional staff in the gorgeous ‘George Runciman’ Restaurant. The evening concluded with some drinks in the cocktail bar. The staff ensuring that a lovely relaxed and social experience was had. It is clear that Northumberland has a jewel of a venue here and I am already planning to return in the very near future.

Big D

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We have just returned from a lovely three night break at Doxford Hall. The setting was beautiful, the staff were excellent and the food even better. The Spa was very tranquil and the staff were wonderful. The treatment we received throughout the hotel was first class. The only glitch was the noise from the function suite. This difficulty was resolved quickly and professionally. If you are looking for that "something special" I would whole heatedly recommend Doxford Hall. Whilst there a visit to Bamburgh Castle and Lindesfarne are a must.

Room Tip: Rooms in the old building are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

After a disastrous trip to Callander Scotland where the hotel we'd booked turned out to be a dump we swiftly got out of there after making our excuses. We then had to find somewhere to stay at short notice, and after ringing around several already full establishments, we found this place that not only had a room available for the night, but also gave a us a last minute deal of £169 for dinner bed and breakfast. Not knowing anything about the hotel we just hoped that was a good deal. It was! The room was spotless and classily decorated with a massive comfortable bed. The bathroom had a shower and whirlpool bath with Molton Brown toiletries. The staff were all very helpful and friendly, the food fantastic, and overall the place was just a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Just returned from spending three nights at this excellent hotel. Very high standard of service throughout - reception, spa, cocktail bar and especially the restaurant. A single AA rosette for food seriously underscores the standard of fine dining in the George Runciman Restaurant. The team in the kitchen clearly have ambitions for the hotel to be recognised as a destination for excellent cuisine to match the overall high standards at Doxford Hall. We stayed in a deluxe room and were impressed by the comfort of the room with a spacious bathroom and, yes, a high standard of house keeping. Minor quibbles - the coffee needs to be upgraded urgently and cold croissants spoil an otherwise excellent breakfast with healthy fresh fruit salads as well as well prepared cooked dishes. It seems this hotel has built up quite a reputation as a wedding venue. Don't let that put you off if you wish to come as a couple for a romantic break - be flexible with dates and visit midweek if you can. Northumberland is a beautiful county, never overcrowded and has some of the best beaches and castles in the country, most being within half an hour by car. Doxford Hall is certainly a hotel to match the beauty of Northumberland.

Room Tip: Seek the help of the booking staff when selecting the best room in your price bracket.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scawtontraveller75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We've just spent a lovely weekend at Doxford Hall Hotel & Spa celebrating the marriage of my niece on 28 January 2012.

As we live in Worcestershire we needed to stay overnight - a special room price is given to anyone attending a wedding there. The rooms are excellent with lovely period style furniture, very large double beds, tea-making facilities, a large bathroom complete with shower over the jacuzzi bath. All the bedrooms are named after local castles and each room has a painting of the said castle on the wall.

The entrance is via the original part of the Hall - the hotel has been added to the existing building and has been built to reflect the beauty of the original Hall. There are welcoming open fires in the public rooms and the heating was set to high in the bedroom which we had to turn down as it was too warm in there.

The building itself and the grounds are lovely for a wedding setting - the room in which the ceremony took place was beautiful - there were lots of places to take photographs in the gardens or inside the hotel - the staircase being a particularly good choice. The reception room had fabulous chandeliers hanging from the ceiling and ornate mirrors on the walls. The bride and groom were given thrones to sit on. The wedding breakfast was excellent.

All the staff were very friendly and most helpful. The bride had requested our room to be ready before the usual check-in time of 2pm because of our travelling distance and it was ready when we arrived at the hotel which meant we could unload the car before the wedding took place.

The cost of breakfast was included in the price of the room. Two large round tables had been reserved for the guests staying over from the wedding. Immediately we went into breakfast we were asked by a member of staff if we would like tea or coffee and toast and told that we could help ourselves to the buffet and that she would give us time to read the cooked breakfast menu before she returned to take our order. My husband I both chose fruit salad from the buffet, our son had rice krispies and we all ordered toast; my husband chose a full English breakfast - for this you could choose what you wanted on your plate; I chose pancakes. The food again was lovely.

The down-side for my husband who smokes a pipe - if you want to smoke you have to walk to a gazebo which does not have any heating in it which makes it a bit of a chilly place to smoke in the winter. This didn't bother me as I am a non-smoker. Our room was number 10 and in the early hours of the morning a generator could be heard humming away outside which did wake me up but the noise was not incessant. We later discovered from another of the wedding guests that this could also be heard in room 11.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone who would like to explore the beautiful Northumberland coast and countryside and I certainly would not mark it down just because of the chilly smoking area!

Room Tip: Try to avoid room numbers 10 and 11 as there is a generator or some such thing which starts up aroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geordielass56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Consistently good reviews were the reason that we booked Doxford Hall and here's another one. We stayed just one night whilst on a lightning visit to friends in Northumberland, but it wasn't enough. We returned the following week for three nights so we could enjoy the wonderful ambience, the relaxing spa, the friendliness of the staff, and the sheer luxuriousness of the public and private rooms. And that's without mentioning the location, close to glorious beaches, wildlife, and stunning visitor attractions. Accommodation is reasonably priced for such high quality; the restaurant was pricey, but our dinner there was of a very high standard indeed.
Full marks all round!

Room Tip: Classic (standard) rooms are as large and comfortable as some of the best executive suites I've...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelangel_2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chathill
2.9 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
16.4 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
6.8 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
2.9 mi away
Newton Hall
Newton Hall
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
11.8 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doxford Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doxford Hall Hotel

Property: Doxford Hall Hotel
Address: Chathill, Alnwick NE67 5DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Chathill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chathill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doxford Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a relaxing and luxurious holiday, short break or special event Doxford Hall is your perfect choice. Each of our 31 bedrooms have their own traditional charm and character and benefit from modern facilities bespoke furniture and many with views over the gardens. As a residential guest you can experience the indoor leisure facilities, swimming pool, spa baths, steam room and sauna. Open daily, the award winning George Runciman Restaurant is a genuine experience in fine dining. Doxford Hall is perfectly situated for guests to explore the stunning Northumberland coastline, countryside and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doxford Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doxford Hall Hotel Alnwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing